APC Finally Speaks On Buhari’s Controversial Certificates

Date: 03-01-2015 7:56 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 3-01-2015 07:56 AM (9 years ago)

The All Progressives Congress (APC), on Friday, rose in defence of its presidential candidate, former Head of State, General Muhammadu Buhari, over the controversy trailing his academic qualifications.

Buhari’s academic qualifications to run for president in the February 14 election became an issue following the disclosure that he deposed to an affidavit informing the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) that his credentials were with the military secretary.

The National Publicity Secretary of the party, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, according to Nigerian Tribune said the controversy was an assault on the institution of the military.

He added that the insinuation that Buhari was without the requisite academic qualifications before rising to become a general in the army was an insult to the officers that had served the nation.

Mohammed wondered on the kind of politics that would make anyone to think that Buhari would rise to the apogee of his career before becoming the head of state, by being shielded by the system over the academic qualification that was needed for the special military trainings and qualifications he got.

According to him, “how can anyone say someone of General Buhari’s calibre didn’t have secondary school certificate after his career in the military? What kind of politics are we playing? What kind of signal are we sending? Whereas in the developed world, there are certain courses in the military such as staff college or command that are on the privilege of bachelor or masters. Now, if you are now making provocative comments about someone of the status of General Buhari over an issue that one way or the other would soon be sorted out, you are casting aspersions on the entire military and those who had given service to this nation. It shows the kind of politics some people are playing. This is unfortunate and sad.”

Also on Friday, the Nigerian Army authorities explained that they do not keep original certificates of officers and men of the armed forces, adding that their personal files contained only photocopies of credentials.

Buhari’s academic qualifications to run for president in the February 14 election became an issue following the disclosure that he deposed to an affidavit informing the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) that his credentials were with the military secretary.

Meanwhile, a retired general who claimed to be a contemporary of Buhari told Saturday Nigerian Tribune on Friday, that some of the military courses they did abroad did not require the participants possession of a secondary school certificate.

While demanding anonymity, he explained that the noise being raised over Buhari’s certificate was needless because the constitution allows for an equivalent of school certificate which many of the courses they did abroad would qualify for.

Endorsing Buhari for president, he asked Nigerians to look at his track-record and not a flimsy issue of secondary school certificate in electing him.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 3-01-2015 07:56 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- oloche1984 at 3-01-2015 08:52 AM (9 years ago)
if Nigerians must vote for Buhari because of his past records, he should tell Nigeria the whole truth about his secondary school certificate. In every organization, original credentials is only reguired during interview and not for the organization to keep. The simple thing is; if you have the certificate, present it but if you don't have, tell us, there can still be other way round.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 08:52 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- oloche1984 at 3-01-2015 08:52 AM (9 years ago)
if Nigerians must vote for Buhari because of his past records, he should tell Nigeria the whole truth about his secondary school certificate. In every organization, original credentials is only reguired during interview and not for the organization to keep. The simple thing is; if you have the certificate, present it but if you don't have, tell us, there can still be other way round.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 08:52 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 3-01-2015 10:32 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 3-01-2015 10:32 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 3-01-2015 10:48 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 3-01-2015 10:48 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- march7 at 3-01-2015 11:09 AM (9 years ago)
Wanda y al dis whole grama n drama. Al we jus wnt s show us d certificate or any prove of it n stop al dis joke. Wat a disgrace party
Posted: at 3-01-2015 11:09 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- EmekaBlue at 3-01-2015 11:50 AM (9 years ago)
R we willing to go forward or backwards in Nigeria sef..Buhari is backwards abeg! APC i hav no problem with u guyz or either am i enjoying GEJ administration much but u guyz shud hav provided a better candidate not this dead power seeker monkey
Posted: at 3-01-2015 11:50 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- thierry1 at 3-01-2015 12:04 PM (9 years ago)
That's not a problem just allow waec to set secondary school final year exam for Buhari , then if he passed the exam nigerians can consider him and give their vote....... If not we can not allow an tipical illletrate to rule us in this country for that are parts of the problems Nigeria facing today..... This all illletrate past leader's are the problem Nigeria facing today, they all brought Nigeria backward.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 12:04 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- thierry1 at 3-01-2015 12:10 PM (9 years ago)
Look at what Jonathan did for Nigerians in just 4years but still Nigerians do not appreciate him, may God forgive our us of our ignorance...... Jonathan was able to do all this due to the education background he has....... Forget all this illletrate Aboki who are just hungry for power...... They destroyed this country for their lack of education background including that of Obasanjo....... God will pay you all your changes
Posted: at 3-01-2015 12:10 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- echeeche at 3-01-2015 12:22 PM (9 years ago)
The militry are not saying the truth
Posted: at 3-01-2015 12:22 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- justjay at 3-01-2015 02:29 PM (9 years ago)
@emekablue u must be enjoying GEJ administration.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 02:29 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- justjay at 3-01-2015 02:31 PM (9 years ago)
its high time Nigerians stop dis whole religion thing and elect whats best for Nigeria and Nigerians.
Posted: at 3-01-2015 02:31 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- justjay at 3-01-2015 02:34 PM (9 years ago)
@theirry1 GEJ hasn't done anything for 4yrs other dan buying a car for ur father. Go check d record and stop showing urself here. Am a Christian like u and i'd rather die than vote for GEJ
Posted: at 3-01-2015 02:34 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- benosky4 at 3-01-2015 03:03 PM (9 years ago)
so all the previous times he has contested he has never presented dis controversial cert?.
there a lot more to dis story.
I think somebody is playing pranks

Posted: at 3-01-2015 03:03 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 3-01-2015 03:36 PM (9 years ago)
nawa for 9ja ooh
Posted: at 3-01-2015 03:36 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- chealseafc at 4-01-2015 05:29 AM (9 years ago)
thats the northerners for, always occupying positions they never qualified for. Cheating and drawing the whole country backward to suit theirselves.
Posted: at 4-01-2015 05:29 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 16-08-2015 09:45 PM (8 years ago)
PDP wit mouth
Posted: at 16-08-2015 09:45 PM (8 years ago) | Hero