Governor Fayose, Rev Fr. Mbaka To Face NHCR Sanctions

Date: 22-01-2015 6:02 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 22-01-2015 06:02 AM (9 years ago)

The Chairman of the National Human Rights Commission(NHRC),Professor Chidi Odinkalu has disclosed that the rights commission reviewed the controversial advert placed in major national newspapers in the country by Governor Ayo Fayose of Ekiti State with a verdict that the material amounted to “hate speech.”

According to Odinkalu, though the commission may not immediately arrest and prosecute Fayose because of the immunity he currently enjoys as a sitting governor, NHRC might recommend him for appropriate sanctions once he leaves office.

Professor Chidi Odinkalu, who addressed journalists at at a stakeholders’ roundtable organised by the NHRC for civil society groups, mainstream and social media partners in Abuja, yesterday, decried the death wish publication by the advertiser, saying it offended public decency and violated all known norms of decorum.Odinkalu said the governor, who is a member of the National Council of States, which makes decisions for the security of the country, should have exhibited caution and statesmanship in sending out the message.

The NHRC chairman noted that the governor went too far in his controversial message not minding that even the children of the former Northern leaders he showed to have died in office might feel bad while the same party also expected them to cast their votes for them in the forthcoming elections.

In a related development, the commission also took up issue with the Parish Priest of Adoration Ground, Rev Father Ejike Mbaka, for using his pulpit to canvass support for and against President Goodluck Jonathan and Gen. Muhammadu Buhari. Odinkalu said Mbaka breached the Electoral Act by first prophesying to the First Lady, Dame Patience Jonathan, last November that Jonathan would win the 2015 election and later predicting during his New Year day preaching that Jonathan should resign and leave the stage for Buhari for not doing enough.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 22-01-2015 06:02 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- erhubeauty at 22-01-2015 06:32 AM (9 years ago)
Very good
Posted: at 22-01-2015 06:32 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ken1230 at 22-01-2015 06:38 AM (9 years ago)
Story for the gods. Why not arrest Fayose and you are talking about Fr.Mbaka?
Posted: at 22-01-2015 06:38 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 22-01-2015 08:05 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 22-01-2015 08:05 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dereknosh at 22-01-2015 08:47 AM (9 years ago)
Human right commissio! What happened to freedom of speech ?The reverend father has a right to change his views towards anybody without apology
Posted: at 22-01-2015 08:47 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- femjay at 22-01-2015 09:15 AM (9 years ago)
Abeg !
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:15 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 22-01-2015 09:31 AM (9 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:31 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 22-01-2015 09:33 AM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 22-01-2015 09:33 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Danas1 at 22-01-2015 11:59 AM (9 years ago)
Story for the gods n barking of a lazy dog call NHRC..
Posted: at 22-01-2015 11:59 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 22-01-2015 03:17 PM (9 years ago)
Dis one na talk? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 22-01-2015 03:17 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Lateef67 at 22-01-2015 08:56 PM (9 years ago)
Haha fayose u dont have work
Posted: at 22-01-2015 08:56 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- egwuevans17 at 23-01-2015 01:28 AM (9 years ago)
Go to Adoration ground and tell Rev Fr Mbaka this yourself, I thing i know for sure is you will not finish it before you will be consumed by fire. EVERY MAN HAVE OPINION TO HIS SPEACH. MBAKA GAVE HIS OPINION AS A NIGERIAN, HE HAD RIGHT TO HIS OPINION SO DO I. phyuk your stupid allegation, Their is freedom of expression in Nigeria. THOUGH I DONE'T SUPPORT BUHARI, JONA ALL THE WAY TO 2019.
Posted: at 23-01-2015 01:28 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- egwuevans17 at 23-01-2015 01:30 AM (9 years ago)
A LOT OF MISSPELLING HERE, I AM NOT SURE THIS ARE WHAT I TYPED. I THINK A LOT HAD TO BE DONE ABOUT THE MANAGEMENT...   
Posted: at 23-01-2015 01:30 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- kachisky at 6-03-2015 03:39 PM (9 years ago)
Touch him nd see the rot of God up u nd your generations well ur already in trouble u know
Posted: at 6-03-2015 03:39 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- PoliticxGuru at 15-08-2015 08:48 PM (8 years ago)
face sanction for reason
Posted: at 15-08-2015 08:48 PM (8 years ago) | Hero