Nigerian woman murdered wealthy British husband because of money

Date: 05-11-2009 7:08 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 5-11-2009 07:08 AM (14 years ago)
Naija women no only like money, they dey very greedy and senseless with it, see this one now:

A Gambian court has now confirmed it: A British millionaire William West was beaten to death with a cooking pestle by his young Nigerian wife Kate Artori as they stayed at his beachfront home in Gambia.

The body of the 76-year-old retired computer entrepreneur, was found near the four-bedroom holiday property he bought soon after meeting Artori, in 2000.

He had been bludgeoned to death with the heavy pestle, doused in petrol and his charred body dumped in a bin bag close to the beach.

Artori was convicted of Mr West’s murder by the Gambian court yesterday, London’s Telegraph has reported.

The 29-year-old initially admitted the killing in 2006 but later retracted her statement, saying that she had been tortured into her confession.

A High Court judge in Banjul, Gambia’s capital, convicted her of murder and sentenced her to life imprisonment, after a three-year trial.

Superintendent Sulayman Secka, spokesman for the Gambian Police Force, said: “We are relieved that justice has been done after what was such a gruesome murder by a wife against her husband, who did nothing but good for her.”

Artori, who claimed to be a farmer’s daughter from Nigeria, was just 20 when she married the then 70-year-old retired millionaire from Hastings, West Sussex, in a private register office ceremony in Edinburgh.

The pair had met in a bar on the beach in Gambia in 2000, where Mr West had gone with a friend for a holiday a year after his first wife, Doris, died from pneumonia.

Artori moved into the £750,000 home in Hastings her new husband had shared with his first wife.

An inquest into the death in Hastings heard that despite concerns from Mr West’s friends, the pair’s marriage initially seemed happy.

He bought the large beachside home in the Gambian resort of Sanyang for the regular visits he and his second wife began to make to the country.

In 2005, Mr West amended his will to leave that house to wife. But by the sixth year of his marriage, Mr West had told friends that he planned to travel to Gambia for a final trip and tell Artori that he wanted a divorce.

During that visit, in July 2006, he disappeared. Mrs Artori West returned to Britain and told friends that her husband went missing during a day-trip to neighbouring Senegal.

She returned to Gambia and was immediately detained by police. She then changed her story and directed detectives to the remains of her husband’s body, but claimed that five Nigerian men she knew were responsible for his death.

During the 2007 inquest, Sussex Police and East Sussex Coroner Alan Craze said that large amounts of her story failed to “stack up” and recorded a verdict of unlawful killing.

Artori had meanwhile been charged with her husband’s murder in a Gambian court.

While she was on remand, she confessed to the killing, saying that she hit Mr. West several times with a heavy pestle used in African cooking, then covered his body in petrol and set him alight.

The case has dragged on because Artori later retracted the confession and said police had tortured her while she was in prison.

“As the court has decided today, there is no basis for that claim,” said Superintendent Secka.

Artori will serve her sentence at the notorious Mile 2 prison outside Banjul. Her lawyer said last night that she would appeal her conviction.

Posted: at 5-11-2009 07:08 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kenyawest at 5-11-2009 07:44 AM (14 years ago)
This story is quite confusing.  She was only twenty when he married  her.  Nobody is really listening to her story that she was tortured to confess.
Posted: at 5-11-2009 07:44 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sexy20s at 5-11-2009 09:14 AM (14 years ago)
PASSING...........
Posted: at 5-11-2009 09:14 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- wizdum at 5-11-2009 09:16 AM (14 years ago)
MAYBE DAT WOMAN HAS NOT HEARD OF AKUNYILIS REBRANDING NIGERIA or THE GAMBIAN GOVT IS JST TRYING TO DAMAGE NIGERIAS IMAGE?WHO KNOWS?U NEVER CAN TELL.

Posted: at 5-11-2009 09:16 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mcstan at 5-11-2009 09:30 AM (14 years ago)
how sure are these gambians dat d woman in question is a Nigerian?
Posted: at 5-11-2009 09:30 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sexy20s at 5-11-2009 09:34 AM (14 years ago)
Still passing and reading your posts
Posted: at 5-11-2009 09:34 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- blcoolfemol at 5-11-2009 10:25 AM (14 years ago)
This is extremlly awful. meeen its such an eyesaw.all in d name of money.make d God Almighty saves us from nowaday young ladies. Lips Sealed
Posted: at 5-11-2009 10:25 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- kemoprosper at 5-11-2009 10:54 AM (14 years ago)
there's more to dat story, i dnt blve d lady in question is a Nigerian, and if she's a Nigerian let her dance to d music.
Posted: at 5-11-2009 10:54 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- nametalkam at 5-11-2009 10:59 AM (14 years ago)
The heart of men women are evil, who can know?

Posted: at 5-11-2009 10:59 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- basket at 5-11-2009 11:09 AM (14 years ago)
make the world end sef... i don tire to dey hear all this kind tory sef...
which kind world we dey leave nowwdays?
 i don talk my own finish!!!!
Posted: at 5-11-2009 11:09 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- around_d_corner at 5-11-2009 11:20 AM (14 years ago)
i no fit shout ........................ coz naija people run tinz, tinz don't run dem...........
Posted: at 5-11-2009 11:20 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- blings_is_back at 5-11-2009 11:35 AM (14 years ago)
one day u will dance to your own music
Quote from: kemoprosper on  5-11-2009 10:54 AM

one day u will dance to your own music too
Posted: at 5-11-2009 11:35 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- around_d_corner at 5-11-2009 11:42 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: blings_is_back on  5-11-2009 11:35 AM
one day u will dance to your own music
Quote from: kemoprosper on  5-11-2009 10:54 AM

one day u will dance to your own music too

who?.....
Posted: at 5-11-2009 11:42 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- NKEMJOU at 5-11-2009 01:14 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Mcstan on  5-11-2009 09:30 AM
serzly yh? d lady isn't nigerian, she's gambian. i read it on the daily times newspaper yest, its amazing how quick nigerians are 2 try 2 tarnish deir image but get really upset when some1 esle form another country does it...mtcheww
Posted: at 5-11-2009 01:14 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ksurrina at 5-11-2009 01:17 PM (14 years ago)
Why is it that persons want to deny that this woman is Nigerian lol. I noticed that whenever time something bad is being reported persons tends to distance his/herself and disowned the nationality of the wrong doer. The man want a divorce and the lady wasn't willing to give it up knowing that the life she was living was not going to be anymore. Evilness is in every person heart and so we just as to acknowledge and move on. It is sad that she did this but will it put a damper on others seeking to marry a lady from Nigeria no. Everyone is unique and so chances will continue take it is for the individual to prove their uniqueness.

Posted: at 5-11-2009 01:17 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ksurrina at 5-11-2009 01:21 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: NKEMJOU on  5-11-2009 01:14 PM
Quote from: Mcstan on  5-11-2009 09:30 AM
serzly yh? d lady isn't nigerian, she's gambian. i read it on the daily times newspaper yest, its amazing how quick nigerians are 2 try 2 tarnish deir image but get really upset when some1 esle form another country does it...mtcheww

lol google it. It is all over the internet that she is Nigerian. Grin

Posted: at 5-11-2009 01:21 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- olame4 at 5-11-2009 01:37 PM (14 years ago)
are get work plz
Posted: at 5-11-2009 01:37 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Raybigboy at 5-11-2009 01:50 PM (14 years ago)
no comment u hereby evicted from naijapals this poster
Posted: at 5-11-2009 01:50 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- SexyJuly at 5-11-2009 02:40 PM (14 years ago)
Jogging....
Posted: at 5-11-2009 02:40 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cyodd at 5-11-2009 03:09 PM (14 years ago)
With Nigerians, Anything can happen, do not doubt but i still do not want to believe.
Posted: at 5-11-2009 03:09 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. DHQ Finally Releases Photos And Names Of Soldiers Killed In Delta Attack

2. Teenage Boy Nabbed For Raping 11-Year-Old Schoolmate In Rivers

3. She Paid For My 1st Song, Believed in me When Others Mocked me- Kizz Daniel Opens Up About Wife

4. VIDEO: Nigerian Man Drags Wife to Court Over Genotype of Their Son Who is SS

5. The House Of Rep Member Is In Opposition Party - Soludo States Why He Didn't Construct Road

6. Nigerian Man Breaks Down in Tears After Using His Mother’s N8m to Play Sporty Bet, Loses All

7. VIDEO: Peter Obi Spotted At Central Mosque To Break Fast For Ramadan

8. BBNaija's Angel Slams Trolls Following Speculation Of A Breakup With Soma

9. "I’ve Forgiven Davido For ‘Disrespecting’ Me" - Samklef

10. 'This Entertainment Industry Is So Dark Cos People In It Are So Envious, Evil' - Actress Uche

11. I’ll Not Leave My Husband For Having Child Outside Our Marriage Says Blessing CEO

12. "I’m Afrobeats Leader Worldwide" – Davido Brags

13. Singer Spyro Sends Strong Message To Men About Beautiful Women

14. Fear, Tension As Bandits Kidnap 87, Loot Shops In Fresh Kaduna Attack

1. Nollywood Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Seeks Help From His Sick Bed

2. Royal Joy As Ooni Of Ife Welcomes Twins With His Third Wife, Olori Tobi Philips-Ogunwusi

3. President Tinubu Appoints First Female Director-General Of NEMA, Zubaida Umar

4. Motorist Calls Out Actor Somadina Adinma For Being A Celebrity And Trekking In Public

5. Following Recent Divorce Saga, Nigerians Dig Up Abusive Past Of Modupe Alakija

6. Customs Intercepts Ammunition Worth Over Half A Billion Naira Concealed In Sacks Of Garri

7. See Full Lists Of Venues Of Lagos 25% Discounted Food Markets ‘Ounje Eko’

8. Can of Worms! Obasanjo’s Biological Father An Igbo Man From Onitsha – Rtd Col Majekodunmi

9. Drink Your Tears, Cry Blood, I’m Married” – Queen Throws Shades As She Flaunts Her Ring (VID)

10. "How Tinubu And His Colleagues Failed Nigeria In 1999" - Pa Ayo Adebanjo