Why We Suggested Shift In Dates Of Elections – Military

Date: 05-03-2015 6:30 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 5-03-2015 06:30 AM (9 years ago)

The military, yesterday, explained why it suggested that the election dates be shifted, clarifying that its advice had no political undertone.

According to the military, the reason for its suggestion for a shift was to enable it take delivery of the long awaited weapons with which to tackle terrorists in the North eastern part of the country.

“I do not want to bring politics into it, whoever wants to bring politics into what we are doing, it’s left for him. I want whoever is saying that to know that war machines are not picked up from the shelf, if it were, we would have got them,” Chief of Defence Staff, Air Chief Marshal Alex Badeh said while receiving drugs and other items worth over N70 million donated by the Association of Pharmaceutical Importers of Nigeria (APIN), to assist the Nigerian Armed Forces in the war against Boko Haram insurgency.

“When you make orders, it takes time to produce and it takes time also to train on them. So, we did not place the orders today, we had placed orders before now and when they started coming, we asked for more time to combat the insurgents before the elections. I can guarantee you that there is no politics in the demand for shift in date, it is just because we were receiving the equipment.”

Badeh urged Nigerians to support the military, as this would ensure victory against the sect.

“Part of the overall strategy of tackling insecurity is to build synergy with the civil populace, especially for support and vigilance in reporting the activities of suspicious elements and the movements of insurgents.

“This is borne out of our strong conviction that the war against insurgents is not a war for the armed forces alone. As I have always said, when the military is at war, it is not the military alone that is at war, rather it is the entire nation.

“Accordingly, all instrument of national power, ranging from diplomatic, informational, military to economic are employed to ensure that threats to national security are contained and defeated.”

The CDS commended APIN and other companies who earlier made similar donations to the military. He said such gesture was a clear demonstration of concern and support for the military in the ongoing war against terrorists, despite antics of some unpatriotic persons.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 5-03-2015 06:30 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ibeawuchisamuel at 5-03-2015 06:41 AM (9 years ago)
Good vision
Posted: at 5-03-2015 06:41 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 5-03-2015 07:14 AM (9 years ago)
Nice
Posted: at 5-03-2015 07:14 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- shalomvic at 5-03-2015 07:15 AM (9 years ago)
Thk u Sir..
Posted: at 5-03-2015 07:15 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- lexyclasy at 5-03-2015 07:23 AM (9 years ago)
HOPE APC CRITICS CATCH THE HEADLINES
Posted: at 5-03-2015 07:23 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- oloche1984 at 5-03-2015 08:26 AM (9 years ago)
we should know better that there are elements within the confirm of Nigeria politics who will go to any mile to sabotage efforts of a performing leader that refuse to be open to their evil agenda of enriching only themself. why should we accept the cheap publicity by this same people who will do everything to sabotage the effort of this administration, Jega and APC insisted for the election to hold April 14 when he Jega and the APC knew so many eligible voters would have been disenfranchised, Tinubu the National leader of APC almost own everything in Lagos but he is not corrupt, when the military advise on critical issue of security it is Jonathan, even when APC member's fowl lay eggs and refuse to hatch, it is Jonathan, why wouldn't some people blame him for signing into law Freedom of Information Bill. As a Nigerian Youth, my vote is and will always be for Jonathan in this election, not Tinubu in Buhari's face, not Buhari or Atiku, why not Youth like Adams Oshiomhole or Fashola. i have decided Jonathan all the way!
Posted: at 5-03-2015 08:26 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 5-03-2015 08:58 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 5-03-2015 08:58 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- echeeche at 5-03-2015 09:47 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 5-03-2015 09:47 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 5-03-2015 09:55 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 5-03-2015 09:55 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 5-03-2015 10:47 AM (9 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 5-03-2015 10:47 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- jaykybrain at 5-03-2015 11:02 AM (9 years ago)
Ok ooo
Posted: at 5-03-2015 11:02 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- odegbalegu at 5-03-2015 01:42 PM (9 years ago)
I support the Nigerian military with my prayers. May God Almighty fight your battle and give you victory over the enemy of our nation. IJN Amen.
Posted: at 5-03-2015 01:42 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 5-03-2015 03:31 PM (9 years ago)
if not for boko people,..who knew that the Nigerian army was using dane guns and left over Biafran ogbunigwe as their weapons.
Posted: at 5-03-2015 03:31 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- emmanuelokek at 5-03-2015 09:43 PM (9 years ago)
weldone
Posted: at 5-03-2015 09:43 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- makedemtalk at 5-03-2015 10:20 PM (9 years ago)
Armies don't use paracetamol or alabukun during war,they use narcotics....yeye,they can also import 12 container of condom for you to fight female boko haram....
Posted: at 5-03-2015 10:20 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- CyrilVic at 6-03-2015 12:35 AM (9 years ago)
#GEJwines_it, GEJ is working, if Nigerian Ammunition up to date were bought by Shagari why would Buhari dethroned him? This is not time to build prison it's time to build schools. Corruption can only go by uprooting it not by cutting it down. long live Nigerian Army long live GEJ.
Posted: at 6-03-2015 12:35 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- chubby72 at 6-03-2015 03:59 AM (9 years ago)
Please Mr.Badeh respect yourself , if other,s are blind I am not
So it took six years to order and deliver weapons
So what do you  do in the barracks, play draft  Huh?
So all the army barracks in our great country do not have enough weapons to fight ever since Huh? Huh?
Ask Asari if you don't know how to get weapons Cry
Posted: at 6-03-2015 03:59 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Gold777 at 6-03-2015 05:56 AM (9 years ago)
Tinubu in Buhari face.. #sayNotoapc
Posted: at 6-03-2015 05:56 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- mensch at 6-03-2015 06:52 AM (9 years ago)
i support our militry.
it is not easy to fight wars
Posted: at 6-03-2015 06:52 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nicksam at 6-03-2015 08:53 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 6-03-2015 08:53 AM (9 years ago) | Hero