Nollywood fuels Kenyans’ anger

Date: 25-11-2009 8:24 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 25-11-2009 08:24 AM (14 years ago)
Nigerian films may be one of the best things to have come out of the country, but last weekend it contributed in no small measure into fuelling the anger targeted at Nigerian fans that had thronged the Moi International Sports Centre to watch the Super Eagles take on the Harambee Stars in the final Group B South Africa 2010 qualifier.

Once it was clear that the Nigerians would be leaving the venue with the World Cup ticket courtesy of a late Obafemi Martins strike to give the visitors a 3-2 lead, angry Kenyan fans started to hull expletives at the Nigerians in addition to plastic water bottles.

One very enraged Kenyan came up to where this reporter was sitting with other Nigerian fans and screamed: “Nigerians cheaters, Nigeria is corrupting football! We all know what you (Nigerians) can do; we watch your movies (Nollywood), we know that you have bribed the referee!” shouted the arm waving Kenyan apparently clearly piqued at what he and his fellow nationals perceived to be the referee’s (Eddy Maillet from Seychelles) bias against the Harambee Stars.

The very angry Kenyan had to be restrained from possibly physically attacking Nigeria’s High Commissioner, Dr Chijioke Wilcox Wigwe, after the game.

The fan came very close to the High Commissioner, who was waiting by his diplomatic car in front of the VIP entrance, hurling abuses and had to be physically restrained from touching the Nigerian official, who was saved by policemen detailed to protect the diplomat.

Incidentally all through the verbal abuse and tense stand off, Ambassador Wigwe kept his cool and never flinched.

After about 45 minutes of often tense stand off between a sizeable number of angry Kenyan fans, the High Commissioner, Nigerian supporters, Super Eagles players and their officials were able to leave the sprawling complex, albeit under police escort.

So much for Nollywood and the ‘colonisation’ of Africa!.

Posted: at 25-11-2009 08:24 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- izzuddeen at 25-11-2009 02:31 PM (14 years ago)
this is the reason why i think Nollywood need to find a better way of showing Nigeria to the world.they tend to incorporate magic,crime and the likes in almost every film of theirs so much so that people now identify us with it.people often ask me whether i can also do magic.Nollywood need to be positioned similar to Bollywood,if you happen to be a fan of Bollywood,they are always trying to sell out their country to the audience through their songs and movies,they always talk about India and their heritage,thereby creating a sense of pride and patriotism.Nigeria is blessed,we are talented in the entertainment industry,i think Ms.Dora Akunyili need to look into this matter because the easiest way to reach out to people is through our music and movies which are loved by the majority of africans..
Posted: at 25-11-2009 02:31 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- zolazola at 25-11-2009 03:59 PM (14 years ago)
yeah i agree nollywood have to change from unpleasants acts about nigeria and give nigeria a positive image
Posted: at 25-11-2009 03:59 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- afrikaAM at 25-11-2009 09:15 PM (14 years ago)
Nollywood Rock out. Kenya where?

www.afrika.am | Nollywood online
Posted: at 25-11-2009 09:15 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- elusakin at 25-11-2009 10:53 PM (14 years ago)
Go and see Prison Break and 24. Do the stories of these series mean that the US Politics is the dirtiest in the world? Kenyans are only trying to shift blames on "nothing". It's normal for people to lose.
Posted: at 25-11-2009 10:53 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ceejay58 at 26-11-2009 12:10 AM (14 years ago)
hhhmmmmm
Posted: at 26-11-2009 12:10 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- black_samurai at 26-11-2009 12:38 AM (14 years ago)
No need crying over spilled milk. Nigerians are lazy and are only creative in crime related stuffs.

Posted: at 26-11-2009 12:38 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Gidiss at 26-11-2009 01:17 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: black_samurai on 26-11-2009 12:38 AM
No need crying over spilled milk. Nigerians are lazy and are only creative in crime related stuffs.

who the phyuk are u?
Posted: at 26-11-2009 01:17 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Gidiss at 26-11-2009 01:18 AM (14 years ago)

he seems gay even
Posted: at 26-11-2009 01:18 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- dirtykid at 26-11-2009 01:55 AM (14 years ago)

Point of correction samurai.. not every nigerian are lazy... if u decide to sit ur ass and creat crimes, thats ur choice... but never say Nigerians are lazy. u dont know nothing abt qualities of a good nigerian.

Posted: at 26-11-2009 01:55 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- kyegh at 26-11-2009 07:39 AM (14 years ago)
Re-branding will only work if every Nigerian thinks positively and in their own little ways make positve  contributions and this include the Nigerian Bully-wood industry
Posted: at 26-11-2009 07:39 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Sheenor at 26-11-2009 09:15 AM (14 years ago)
come nigerians are not lazy oh!

Posted: at 26-11-2009 09:15 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Agatex at 26-11-2009 11:14 AM (14 years ago)

INCLUDING YOU.....WHAT NONSENSE ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?
Posted: at 26-11-2009 11:14 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Agatex at 26-11-2009 11:18 AM (14 years ago)
Come to think of it nollywood are not the only people showing negative movies, hollywood too dont you people watch films?
Posted: at 26-11-2009 11:18 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- obiero at 26-11-2009 11:24 AM (14 years ago)
Lies. You are lying
Posted: at 26-11-2009 11:24 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- obiero at 26-11-2009 11:26 AM (14 years ago)
I am writing from Nairobi and nothing that you have mentioned above happened!
Posted: at 26-11-2009 11:26 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Doshe at 26-11-2009 11:26 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Gidiss on 26-11-2009 01:18 AM

he seems gay even

hahahahaha how do u knw a gay?
Posted: at 26-11-2009 11:26 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zolazola at 26-11-2009 11:45 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: obiero on 26-11-2009 11:26 AM
I am writing from Nairobi and nothing that you have mentioned above happened!
are u a kenyan in naija pals or it just pure solidarity? Angry
Posted: at 26-11-2009 11:45 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ibobobelvis at 26-11-2009 06:25 PM (14 years ago)
hmm story

Posted: at 26-11-2009 06:25 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bali4real at 26-11-2009 09:46 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: izzuddeen on 25-11-2009 02:31 PM
this is the reason why i think Nollywood need to find a better way of showing Nigeria to the world.they tend to incorporate magic,crime and the likes in almost every film of theirs so much so that people now identify us with it.people often ask me whether i can also do magic.Nollywood need to be positioned similar to Bollywood,if you happen to be a fan of Bollywood,they are always trying to sell out their country to the audience through their songs and movies,they always talk about India and their heritage,thereby creating a sense of pride and patriotism.Nigeria is blessed,we are talented in the entertainment industry,i think Ms.Dora Akunyili need to look into this matter because the easiest way to reach out to people is through our music and movies which are loved by the majority of africans..
nice coment bro! Cool
Posted: at 26-11-2009 09:46 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac