I Feel Fulfilled Giving Back To Society — Empress Njamah

Date: 28-03-2015 11:57 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 28-03-2015 11:57 PM (9 years ago)
Controversial Nollywood diva Empress Njamah, has joined the list of celebrities who do not think of themselves only but have found reasons to give back to society.

The screen diva has in recent times indulged in humanitarian activities in the nation’s capital, Abuja, staging not less than eight philanthropic activities annually to put smiles on the faces of the down-trodden.

In this interview, she opens up on how she spent last Valentine with the less privileged, her foundation and philanthropic lifestyle.

How old is Empress Njamah Foundation and what has kept it going?

The Foundation is nine years old and I must say its the “God” factor that has kept it going not me.

How did it come about?

It was inspired by the overwhelming spate of child neglect. I was moved to do something, to at least start that would give these children that tiny ray of hope and I still intend to do more with the help of the Almighty.

How many times do you hang out with the less privileged in a year?

It is not easy staging all the party but I can only thank God for being faithful. Every year, the House of Empress Foundation organises nothing less than eight parties.

I stage a party during Valentine to express my love to them, I stage another at Easter, on Democracy and Independence Days, Christmas and of course I do celebrate my birthday with them. I stage all these parties not because I just want to throw money around but to make them know they are loved and therefore should not feel bad about themselves.

Tell us about your last Valentine party…

On February 14th, as a way of expressing my love, I paid a courtesy visit to Garki Hospital where I distributed gift bags amongst the children and other patients in the wards. I also visited some of the homes run by House Of Empress Foundation: “Hope for Survival” and “Christ Foundation Orphanage” to mention but few.

What has been the challenge so far?

Well, I must say it’s been really turbulent but God is faithful and will always be. At the same time, I do not see challenges; I only see opportunities to make things better.

Easter is around the corner, what are your plans for the less privileged this time?

The same thing I have done all these years. I will not only provide for their basic and educational needs but will also organise a program where I’ll invite music artistes and some of my colleagues in the movie industry to come have fun with the kids. It will be a full day of fun as there will also be lots of food and drinks.

How do you raise funds for your humanitarian activities?

It’s been easy though. Like I said earlier, The “God” factor helps me miraculously weather the storms. It’s part of how I pay my tithe. I have never been funded by a single soul, government or friend; it has been my sweat all the way and the House of Empress has been supportive too.

How do you feel each time you party with these children?

I feel fulfilled as a person because growing as a child in church, I was taught to always help those in need because my giving could bring about that ray of hope that may have been dashed, thereby bringing God’s blessings. I celebrate them all the time not just on my birthday; the foundation celebrates with the kids every month. I’m always happy to be with them becasue they feel me with loads of joy and happiness which words can’t explain.

What are the major side attractions you give to these children?

Dish out gifts to them and continuously inducing that positive mentality into them. We have a lot of things we also do that makes them happy. We have what we call The Workshop which introduces them to interesting things and keeps them busy. These include art and craft/matting/moulding/drawings and more, and I pay people who come to train them.

The girls learn catering and so many other things. Sometimes, I pick the best performing among them and give them a treat like seeing movies/outing/dinners and many more.

Tell us more about “House of Empress”?

Just like a house with many rooms, HOE is a firm with many departments, from the clothesline to the multi-purpose unisex saloon to the events planning section and also interior decoration section. We are unisex and everything is under one umbrella.

What inspired it?

Like I said, the God factor. Everything happens for a reason. I rarely wear what’s in fashion but I people have always relied on me for fashion ideas. I soon began to love to dress people. Here I am doing it and till date I dress up people for events and many more.

Posted: at 28-03-2015 11:57 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- erhubeauty at 29-03-2015 02:05 AM (9 years ago)
Empress sofri dey lie sey nobody dey help U. Ministers and Ambassadors wey don give u money na enough help. How many films u don act recently wey dey give u all this kine money.
 kudos to u that u remember the less privileges but no dey lie
Posted: at 29-03-2015 02:05 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- kebella at 29-03-2015 04:20 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: erhubeauty on 29-03-2015 02:05 AM
Empress sofri dey lie sey nobody dey help U. Ministers and Ambassadors wey don give u money na enough help. How many films u don act recently wey dey give u all this kine money.
 kudos to u that u remember the less privileges but no dey lie
hmmm

Posted: at 29-03-2015 04:20 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 29-03-2015 08:35 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 29-03-2015 08:35 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abubu86 at 29-03-2015 12:19 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 29-03-2015 12:19 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 29-03-2015 01:58 PM (9 years ago)
nice
Posted: at 29-03-2015 01:58 PM (9 years ago) | Hero