"Let Our Young Men Marry" -Ex-military Gov Of Anambra Pleads With Igbo Parents To Reduce Bride Price

Date: 30-04-2015 7:54 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 30-04-2015 07:54 AM (8 years ago)

Former Military governor of old Anambra State, Col. Robert Akonobi (rtd), has pleaded with Igbo parents to reduce the bride price of their daughters so that ‘’our young boys can marry them.”

Speaking at the industrial city of Nnewi, Anambra State during the traditional wedding ceremony of the daughter of a business mogul, Chief Louis Onwugbenu, Onyinye and her husband, Bosah
Chukwuogo, weekend, Col. Akonobi said:
‘’To me, this topic (bride price) has been dealt with in the past by Ndigbo, who came out with a reduced bride price, to enable our young boys marry our young girls.”
Akonobi also cautioned that men should study their proposed wives closely and longer before engaging into marriage because “once you marry, no one else can put it asunder.”

Nnewi was agog as dignitaries from all works of life trooped to the residence of Chief Onwugbenu for the memorable event. The dignitaries who were from both the military, political and manufacturing circles, including Col Akonobi, Hon. Clement Nwankwu, former member of the House of Representatives; Chairmen and Chief Executive Officers of Gabros International Limited and Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing Limited, Chief Gabriel and Innocent Chukwuma respectively, among others.

The issue of high bride price was discussed extensively at the occasion. Hon. Nwankwu, in his own speech, prayed that Chief Onwugbenu and his wife would live long to enjoy the fruits of their children, especially those who married from outside their areas.

Also, speaking, Mrs. Onwugbenu expressed gratitude that her daughter’s hand was given out in marriage and prayed that her in-laws who came all the way from Awka to marry her daughter, would go back home safely. Father of the bride, Onwugbenu, in his own speech, said he had already blessed his daughter and her husband to go and make a good home.

On the bride price controversy in Igbo land, Onwugbenu declared:
“We do not charge money as bride price for someone to marry my daughter. To me, what is important is that my daughter should live in peace with her husband. Let her husband’s family members accept her as part and parcel of their family.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 30-04-2015 07:54 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Wysetots at 30-04-2015 07:58 AM (8 years ago)
Boys need Bride price subsidy .
Posted: at 30-04-2015 07:58 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dollypiper at 30-04-2015 08:38 AM (8 years ago)
Lol....this one na serious matter.
Posted: at 30-04-2015 08:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zednaijaman at 30-04-2015 08:41 AM (8 years ago)
I tire o, most guys can maintain a chick, the problem na to buy her come house.
Posted: at 30-04-2015 08:41 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 30-04-2015 09:54 AM (8 years ago)
I Don already tell my igbo girlfriend say if her parents eventually sell her to me, I go sell her to Slave trade make I recover my money and use the profits go marry Fulani Lady
Posted: at 30-04-2015 09:54 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- bobchuks at 30-04-2015 10:08 AM (8 years ago)
Interesting news
Posted: at 30-04-2015 10:08 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- why4why at 30-04-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago)
@Politicxguru, abeg no go use laugh kill person....ooooo, you get mouth, no be small.....hahahahbahabab
Posted: at 30-04-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- sleekguy247 at 30-04-2015 11:50 AM (8 years ago)
Guys, as funny as the news may seem , it is very Important and necessary to be taken into consideration. If you look at "most" of our females Sisters in the East, who go into marriage , because of wealth, which is often encouraged by family members, Fathers, Uncle etc. This has had a drastic effect on the young Generation and social community at large. Over the years also ,many have turned into getting involved with so many atrocities of enrichment in order to be recognized in the society , these and many are things we are still witnessing today. It is not overemphasized, that the Family is the Backbone of any society, that wants to develop and hence most be taken seriously.
Posted: at 30-04-2015 11:50 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- diezo at 30-04-2015 12:48 PM (8 years ago)
dis issue is getting really disturbing, it's not only d igbos including other tribes when u want to marry a woman or even attempt dating he go come be like say na employment d women don get
Posted: at 30-04-2015 12:48 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Emab08 at 30-04-2015 01:12 PM (8 years ago)
One of the reason I couldn't marry IGBO Girl.....
Posted: at 30-04-2015 01:12 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- echeeche at 30-04-2015 01:32 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 30-04-2015 01:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Aniagain at 30-04-2015 02:57 PM (8 years ago)
I didnt know marriage in Anambra is that expensive, I think I need to contact Adamu to give me original maganin burantashi so I can use in pounding Nkechi since this relationship isnt getting anyway, I av decided to finish all d ingredients in her before handing her over to person wia get money

Posted: at 30-04-2015 02:57 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malamy at 30-04-2015 09:11 PM (8 years ago)
WE USE GOD BEG UNA!
Posted: at 30-04-2015 09:11 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 30-04-2015 09:29 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 30-04-2015 09:29 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- elchymo at 19-08-2015 05:05 PM (8 years ago)
I wonder oo. It's just too much
Posted: at 19-08-2015 05:05 PM (8 years ago) | Hero