Nigerian Man, Omo Alokwe Set To Ride Bike From UK To Lagos

Date: 18-05-2015 2:27 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 18-05-2015 02:27 PM (8 years ago)

Omo Alokwe, a keen motorcyclist is set to ride from Land’s End to Lagos Nigeria, in November to raise funds for a humanitarian aid organisation, Medicine Sans Frontiers (MSF).

The Nigerian born Business Change Analyst is taking on the challenge on his own and aims to raise £20,000 for MSF.

He will start from Land’s End and ride to Dover where he will travel on the Eurotunnel to France and then onto Morroco and through Senegal, Mali and Togo before reaching Nigeria.

In Nigeria, Mr Alokwe aims to break the world record for the longest motorcyle ride in a single country. Over 16 weeks, he will aim to cover 30,000 miles through the country, where he grew up.

“I’ve always liked travelling and I wanted to do something different and really challenge myself,” said Mr Alokwe. “I’ve been riding motorbikes for 18 years.

Mr Alokwe said he has chosen to support MSF as it is not “politically or religiously-affiliated” and “just deals with human crises”.

“I’ve always admired the work of MSF for their selflessness. Anywhere there’s any problems in the world, they are there. They are one of the best organisations working in Africa.

“I’ve always wanted to do something like this so I thought I should come out of my comfort zone.”

To help with his fundraising efforts, Mr Alokwe is running a charity golf day at Surrey National Golf Club on August 22.

In a recent interview with Us, Alokwe explained more...

“Hello, I’m Omo Alokwe from London; a Business Change Analyst, golfer with a very dodgy swing, and a keen motorcyclist for close to 20 years.

This November, I plan to make the journey from Land’s End (England’s southernmost tip) to Lagos (Nigeria’s westernmost tip), including riding round all the nooks and crannies of Nigeria, thus breaking the World Record for the Longest Journey by Motorcycle in a Single Country – currently 22,065.47 miles, set in China by Zhang Ying Fa.

"The adventure will cover 2 continents and 12 countries (England, France, Spain, Morocco, Western Sahara, Senegal, Mauritania, Mali, Burkina Faso, Togo, Benin and Nigeria). Travelling to Lagos, then riding in and around Nigeria before riding home, I’m looking at doing around 40,000 miles in 16 weeks.

The longest ride I have done to date was just under 1700 miles in four days, and in the company of a friend. This ride is nearly 25 times longer and I’ll be riding on my own. The mileage is quite frankly daunting, but I’m very excited at the same time. This will be a proper test of endurance for me, and I am so looking forward to it.

“It’s going to be exhilarating thanks to the different cultures, extremes of temperature, and of course the terrain that I will encounter on the trip (snow-capped Pyrenees, Sahara desert and tropical rain forests). My kit and motorcycle should be able to cope, and I’m currently researching the best options, as well as preparing myself both physically and mentally for the challenge. I’ve been going over maps, talking to other long distance bikers and attending bike shows in preparation for this epic journey.

“I’ll be using this opportunity to increase awareness and raise funds for Medicine San Frontiers (MSF), aiding the humanitarian work they do in more than 60 countries around the world, and their continuing efforts to curb the Ebola virus in West Africa.
 I will visit MSF sites along the route on the way to Nigeria,"
he said.

I wish Mr Omo the best and hope he makes it cos this one na international 'trekking'

Posted: at 18-05-2015 02:27 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- churchsundy at 18-05-2015 02:53 PM (8 years ago)
CONGRATULATION BROS IN ADVANCE.. I KNOW YOU WILL MAKE IT LOOKING AT YOUR FACE I KNOW SAY YOU DON RIDE OKADA WELL WELL FOR NIGER -IKEJA TO OSHODI UNDER BRIDGE...  BEFORE YOU GO ABROAD
Posted: at 18-05-2015 02:53 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- satsaver at 18-05-2015 03:04 PM (8 years ago)
Yea till then.
Posted: at 18-05-2015 03:04 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- factfinding at 18-05-2015 03:19 PM (8 years ago)
I am waiting.
Posted: at 18-05-2015 03:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 18-05-2015 03:27 PM (8 years ago)
See you in Nigeria.............
Posted: at 18-05-2015 03:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 18-05-2015 03:32 PM (8 years ago)
All the best
Posted: at 18-05-2015 03:32 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livinus5 at 18-05-2015 04:12 PM (8 years ago)
Let Omotola come out to say that her trash about this one again,if she feels is poverty this time again pushing him to move from England to Nigeria.
Posted: at 18-05-2015 04:12 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 18-05-2015 04:28 PM (8 years ago)
Y'all are sick in the head.
Posted: at 18-05-2015 04:28 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 18-05-2015 05:01 PM (8 years ago)
Lol....na all okoda drivers in nigeria will do the same...from nigeria to u.s..no more visa

Posted: at 18-05-2015 05:01 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 18-05-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago)
Hahahaha dis guy wan show boys road to travel to UK wit out visa.
Posted: at 18-05-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- realbamdex at 18-05-2015 11:06 PM (8 years ago)
Seriously speaking, dis guy have shown us the best way to travel to uk without getting any visa..thank u bro!.England, France, Spain, Morocco, Western Sahara, Senegal, Mauritania, Mali, Burkina Faso, Togo, Benin and Nigeria).
Posted: at 18-05-2015 11:06 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 19-05-2015 12:08 AM (8 years ago)
00000000h
Posted: at 19-05-2015 12:08 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- echeeche at 19-05-2015 01:54 PM (8 years ago)
Foolishness
Posted: at 19-05-2015 01:54 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ololababs at 19-05-2015 04:18 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: 你他媽的 on 18-05-2015 02:53 PM
CONGRATULATION BROS IN ADVANCE.. I KNOW YOU WILL MAKE IT LOOKING AT YOUR FACE I KNOW SAY YOU DON RIDE OKADA WELL WELL FOR NIGER -IKEJA TO OSHODI UNDER BRIDGE...  BEFORE YOU GO ABROAD

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin lol
Posted: at 19-05-2015 04:18 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 18-08-2015 02:30 PM (8 years ago)
Good luck
Posted: at 18-08-2015 02:30 PM (8 years ago) | Hero