Wale Adenuga Challenge Emeka Ike's Claim Of Creating Nollywood

Date: 11-06-2015 4:55 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 11-06-2015 04:55 PM (8 years ago)

Emeka Ike recently claimed that he was one of the founders of Nollywood. His claim is however being challenged by veteran producer Wale Adenuga who believes that Emeka Ike should check his facts again before making any such claims: “When somebody claims he founded Nollywood, Oga Bello and of course I cannot be part of that. You were alive in 1983 when I produced my first film when Emeka Ike and his Nollywood people were still in school. They started their own film-making in 1992 and they are claiming that 1992 was the beginning of film-making in Nigeria.
Would you then call me a member of Nollywood? Bello made Omo-Orukan in 1980s. Will Bello now come under Nollywood formed by somebody who began his career in 1992? Emeka Ike started in 1992 and in one of his interviews I read, he said he founded Nollywood. So, would I belong to such industry founded by Emeka Ike who was born when I was making films? Or will Ogunde of blessed memory consider Emeka Ike as his own pioneer
?
Young boys and girls have pocketed Nollywood and sent veteran actors into forced retirement. These old actors are now living in abject poverty due to inactivity. Some of them facing avoidable deaths. But you see, there is nothing bad in adopting Nollywood as name for Nigeria film industry, what I expected was that when you are telling the story of that Nollywood, it behooves on you to say it started in 1950s, giving credence to those who started it before you.

I can’t be part of a Nollywood started by Emeka Ike because I was making films before he was born. I can’t consider him as my pioneer. That is why Yoruba and Hausa are not part of it. Go and ask Muazu in the North who has been making films since God knows when, will Emeka Ike be his pioneer? They defined Nollywood as product of 1992. It suggests that those who have been making films before 1992 are not part of Nollywood. That to me is a dangerous claim.”

Posted: at 11-06-2015 04:55 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 11-06-2015 05:13 PM (8 years ago)
The next thing will be the Americans coming over and accusing both men of putting the letter "N" in place of "H"and degrading Hollywood.

Both men should get a life. Go and make blockbuster movies and WIN international film awards!
Posted: at 11-06-2015 05:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 11-06-2015 05:14 PM (8 years ago)
U DONT UNDERSTAND, MAYBE HE IS TALKING ABOUT THE NAME ''NOLLYWOOD''
Posted: at 11-06-2015 05:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- miamivice at 11-06-2015 05:45 PM (8 years ago)
Emeka lives in a cloud coo coo land.
Posted: at 11-06-2015 05:45 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- livingstonee at 11-06-2015 05:57 PM (8 years ago)
angesco (4064) On Gistmaniac (f) | 38 mins ago

freethinker (1330) On Gistmaniac (m) | 37 minsago

miamivice (314) On Upcoming (m) | 7 mins ago

[1]

[1]

Wale Adenuga Challenge Emeka Ike's Claim Of Creating Nollywood

Тест на уровень английского Уникальная методика обучения. 43 года опыта в 28 странах мира.

Emeka Ike recently claimed that he was one of the founders of Nollywood. His claim is however being challenged by veteran producer Wale Adenuga who believes that Emeka Ike should check his facts again before making any such claims: “When somebody claims he founded Nollywood, Oga Bello and of course I cannot be part of that. You were alive in 1983 when I produced my first film when Emeka Ike and his Nollywood people were still in school. They started their own film-making in 1992 and they are claiming that 1992 was the beginning of film-making in Nigeria. Would you then call me a member of Nollywood? Bello made Omo-Orukan in 1980s. Will Bello now come under Nollywood formed by somebody who began his career in 1992? Emeka Ike started in 1992 and in one of his interviews I read, he said he founded Nollywood. So, would I belong to such industry founded by Emeka Ike who was born when I was making films? Or will Ogunde of blessed memory consider Emeka Ike as his own pioneer? Young boys and girls have pocketed Nollywood and sent veteran actors into forced retirement. These old actors are now living in abject poverty due to inactivity. Some of them facing avoidable deaths. But you see, there is nothing bad in adopting Nollywood as name for Nigeria film industry, what I expected was that when you are telling the story of that Nollywood, it behooves on you to say it started in 1950s, giving credence to those who started it before you.

I can’t be part of a Nollywood started by Emeka Ike because I was making films before he was born. I can’t consider him as my pioneer. That is why Yoruba and Hausa are not part of it. Go and ask Muazu in the North who has been making films since God knows when, will Emeka Ike be his pioneer? They defined Nollywood as product of 1992. It suggests that those who have been making films before 1992 are not part of Nollywood. That to me is a dangerous claim.”

Reportto moderator Logged 11 Jun 15, 04:55 PM

The next thing will be the Americans coming over and accusing both men of putting the letter "N" in place of "H"and degrading Hollywood.

Both men should get a life. Go and make blockbuster movies and WIN international film awards!    Well said!
Posted: at 11-06-2015 05:57 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 11-06-2015 06:19 PM (8 years ago)
Nawao oh for unah
Posted: at 11-06-2015 06:19 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- fearlesspaul at 11-06-2015 07:11 PM (8 years ago)
Emeka was talking about real movies mr wale. Do u classify papa ajasco as a real movie? Emeka was right. Checkmate didnt even meet da nollywood standard.
Posted: at 11-06-2015 07:11 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 11-06-2015 07:42 PM (8 years ago)
oooooooooh
Posted: at 11-06-2015 07:42 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- toniwiseman at 11-06-2015 08:26 PM (8 years ago)
WALE ADENUGA OR WHAT U CALL URSELF , U ARE A LIAR, HAUSAS AND YORUBAS ARE PART OF NOLLYWOOD
Posted: at 11-06-2015 08:26 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- ladyjayrita at 11-06-2015 08:26 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm this is nt for me, is for nollywood
Posted: at 11-06-2015 08:26 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- OOSSYY at 11-06-2015 08:33 PM (8 years ago)
ADENUGA, U ARE TALKING TRASH, DO U WANNA TELL US THAT THOSE THINGS U SAID U PRODUCED IN THE 70s AND 80s WERE ALL PART OF NOLLYWOOD MOVIES. U MUST BE A JEALOUS FELLOW
Posted: at 11-06-2015 08:33 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 11-06-2015 09:22 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmm
Posted: at 11-06-2015 09:22 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- utomilan at 11-06-2015 09:30 PM (8 years ago)
brace yourselves ,,, @politicxguru is on his way to comment ..wasted generation
Posted: at 11-06-2015 09:30 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- lakman at 11-06-2015 09:47 PM (8 years ago)
Emeka ike, did not claim he was the first to make movie in Nigeria, nolly wood is a brand and I'm sure it did not start in 1950s. Adenine or adefool ga I can see you can no long hold your envy
Posted: at 11-06-2015 09:47 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- anyihero at 11-06-2015 10:02 PM (8 years ago)
My dear what is the connection btw  bello film and nollywood?. abeg. A few people started something in 1992 and they were deligence to dis time that they have nollywood . they shud be appreciated. we hav had lots of film producers/maker since then and even now who re not part of nollywood and are barely known. pls lets learn to appreciate people for bein builders and not using words dat potent disregard or scorn. it is obvious dat som folks or group contributed to success of nollywood but it doesnt mean dat dey initiated or built nollywood. it is not abt just making film. it is abt starting a tin and seeing it grow to de point dat u give it a name dat is now on bigggggi institution. nollywood. give honour to who honour is due. hw ever it is a collective effort but for Gods sake someone or few started it and got  here today
Posted: at 11-06-2015 10:02 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- babafero at 11-06-2015 11:15 PM (8 years ago)
Thats always the problem of Nigeria... Who is greatest among everything? We should imitate the whites sometimes.
Posted: at 11-06-2015 11:15 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 11-06-2015 11:53 PM (8 years ago)
wasted generation
Posted: at 11-06-2015 11:53 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- makedemtalk at 12-06-2015 12:45 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: anyihero on 11-06-2015 10:02 PM
My dear what is the connection btw  bello film and nollywood?. abeg. A few people started something in 1992 and they were deligence to dis time that they have nollywood . they shud be appreciated. we hav had lots of film producers/maker since then and even now who re not part of nollywood and are barely known. pls lets learn to appreciate people for bein builders and not using words dat potent disregard or scorn. it is obvious dat som folks or group contributed to success of nollywood but it doesnt mean dat dey initiated or built nollywood. it is not abt just making film. it is abt starting a tin and seeing it grow to de point dat u give it a name dat is now on bigggggi institution. nollywood. give honour to who honour is due. hw ever it is a collective effort but for Gods sake someone or few started it and got  here today
STOP SAYING TRASH DUDE!!!HOLLYWOOD IS AND BOLLYWOOD ARE ONE OF THE GREATEST FILM ORGANIZATION....THEIR FILMS ARE MADE WITH REAL STARS,AND THEY ALSO IMPROVE FROM TIME TO TIME,THEY SPEND A LOT OF MONEY IN MAKING THEIR FILMS,NOT THE NOLLYWOOD SYSTEM,IN ONE DAY A FILM IS READY,LOL....AND YOU CALL THAT A REAL ORGANIZATION??NAA HUNGRY ORGANIZATION......BUT MIND YOU,FILMING DID NOT START IN 1992,SO IF SOME DUDE CAME AND NAME IT NOLLYWOOD,JUST TO MAKE IT SOUND LIKE HOLLYWOOD,IT SHOWS THEY ARE FREAKY MAD...COS HOLLYWOOD IS A CITY IN SAN,F CALIFORNIA,WHY CAN'T THEY CALL IT ABAWOOD,IBADANWOOD OR SULEJAWOOD.....BUT WE LOVE TO COPY THE AMERICANS STYLE,WHICH CAN'T WORK IN OUR SOCIETY......

AND WHAT DO WE HAVE TO CELEBRATE IN THIS STUPID NOLLYWOOD OF A THING?Huh?
-NO IMPROVEMENT.
-NO GOOD SCRIPT.
-WE HAVE LOW STANDARD PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION GENERALLY.
-NOLLYWOOD ACTRESS CAN'T BREAK THROUGH HOLLYWOOD....
-NOLLYWOOD FILMS HAVE NEVER BEEN LISTED FOR AWARDS IN HOLLYWOOD...
SO SOME DUDE ARE NOW TELLING US THAT THEY INITIATE FAILURE INDUSTRY CALLED NOLLYWOOD....ABEG MAKE DEM GO SLEEP....
NOLLYWOOD IS KNOWN BY NIGERIANS THAT CHOOSE TO KNOW IT,AND OTHER POOR AFRICAN COUNTRIES....
IF YOU GO TO ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD,YOU WILL REALIZE THAT AFTER HOLLYWOOD FILMS,THEY EITHER SHOW THEIR LOCAL FILMS,BOLLYWOOD FILMS OR CHINESE FILMS.....SO WHY ARE SOME DUDE CONVINCE THAT NOLLYWOOD IS WORLD CLASS INDUSTRY EVEN WHEN IT'S UNKNOWN TO THE DICTIONARY.....
THEY SHOULD EITHER REMAIN POVERTYWOOD A.K.A PLEASE TRY MY SISTER,OR TRY TO BE PROFESSIONAL.....COS IN NIGERIA,WE PRAISE OURSELVES FOR NOTHING....WE LACK ORGANIZATION,PROFESSIONALISM AS WELL IN EVERYTHING,SPORT,FILMS,FASHION OR NAME IT WE NEED TO BE ORGANIZE....
Posted: at 12-06-2015 12:45 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- uplogsa at 12-06-2015 06:22 PM (8 years ago)
Wasted generation indeed!
Posted: at 12-06-2015 06:22 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 16-08-2015 11:57 PM (8 years ago)
Na dia wahala be dat
Posted: at 16-08-2015 11:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero