The Earth Is Entering New Extinction Phase & Humans Could Be Among The First Casualties – US Study

Date: 20-06-2015 8:33 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 20-06-2015 08:33 PM (8 years ago)

The Earth has entered a new period of extinction, a study by three US universities has concluded, and humans could be among the first casualties. The report, led by the universities of Stanford, Princeton and Berkeley, said vertebrates were disappearing at a rate 114 times faster than normal. BBC has more:

The findings echo those in a report published by Duke University last year. One of the new study‘s authors said: “We are now entering the sixth great mass extinction event.”
The last such event was 65 million years ago, when dinosaurs were wiped out, in all likelihood by a large meteor hitting Earth. “If it is allowed to continue, life would take many millions of years to recover and our species itself would likely disappear early on,” said the lead author, Gerardo Ceballos.

The scientists looked at historic rates of extinction for vertebrates – animals with backbones – by assessing fossil records. They found that the current extinction rate was more than 100 times higher than in periods when Earth was not going through a mass extinction event. Since 1900, the report says, more than 400 more vertebrates had disappeared.
Such a loss would normally be seen over a period of up to 10,000 years, the scientists say. The study – published in the Science Advances journal – cites causes such as climate change, pollution and deforestation.

Given the knock-on effect of ecosystems being destroyed, the report says benefits such as pollination by bees could be lost within three human generations.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 20-06-2015 08:33 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 20-06-2015 08:38 PM (8 years ago)
This is not fair. Africans are yet to enjoy ANYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 20-06-2015 08:38 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 20-06-2015 08:47 PM (8 years ago)
God created earth.....and man, Man has destroyed Man and earth.

*Shaking My Head* 
Posted: at 20-06-2015 08:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Foxtroft at 20-06-2015 08:53 PM (8 years ago)
This is fallacy. The Bible specifically mentioned that God will not destroy the earth by any apocalyptic event. The son of man will appear and those that love God will rapture and after this there will be judgment. Enough of this bull crappie scientific findings
Posted: at 20-06-2015 08:53 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- SOGaiya at 20-06-2015 08:55 PM (8 years ago)
okay waiting for mre result n study
Posted: at 20-06-2015 08:55 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 20-06-2015 09:08 PM (8 years ago)
otor dede,uwun dede e gborionkpa.i dey hear dey wait
Posted: at 20-06-2015 09:08 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- janyozusa at 20-06-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago)
Story for the Gods madam give me one heineken.
Posted: at 20-06-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- malamy at 20-06-2015 09:25 PM (8 years ago)
really
Posted: at 20-06-2015 09:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- climax_man at 20-06-2015 09:58 PM (8 years ago)
Nawa ooo,end time thngs
Posted: at 20-06-2015 09:58 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mobbysmartins at 20-06-2015 10:27 PM (8 years ago)
Mr Poster,please do not take things verbatim,you copied this from BBC and I want to put it to you that BBC is not an authority in World matters,so please stop doing copy and paste.You are a human being,if someone says a thing,you should check the premise before you reach a conclusion
The scientists said before that the Earth was flat,that if you traveled far,you can fall off the edges of the Earth. Now during what the Europeans call the Renaissance period,a certain scientist called Galileo said the Earth is not flat but round. The Roman Catholic Church first banished him and later killed him. Now it has been proven that the Earth is spherical (spherical can be interchanged with circle,round)
Why am I taking so much of my valuable time to respond to you like this,because I want to talk to you my brother,my sister and every other person in this forum.......I do not want you to believe me,I do not even want you to understand me......I JUST WANT YOU TO USE YOUR BRAIN AND THINK
But all along the Bible already told us that God made the Earth and hanged it on nothing...........I mean nothing
The Universities of Stanford, Princeton and Berkeley are nothing but a creation of man not God. Charles Darwin (agent of the underworld) brought his ridiculous evolution theory to ridicule God,but we all know God cannot be ridiculed,we all know Charles Darwin's theory is just nonsense,if not we will have half fish half man,or half sheep half goat or half man half elephant in the process of evolution
God gave man four laws on how to handle the Earth,God said 1.SUBDUE the Earth, 2. DOMINATE the Earth,3.MULTIPLY on the Earth and most importantly 4.REPLENISH the Earth
Poster I tell you that replenish the Earth means that this our Earth will last forever,if some vertebrates are disappearing as was said in BBC where you copied that nonsense from,it simply means we are dominating,
You know Mr Poster,how were we able to domesticate several wild animals,how are we able to raise chicken,pigs,cattle etc just for food.How were we able to raise Dogs(of course you should know there is nothing like Dog,a Dog is just a Wolf that have been domesticated),Cheataa,Tigers,Lions etc as the case may be for hunting
The answer is we were only able to do it because we are simply DOMINATING which God told us to do from the beginning
This Earth is going to last FOREVER,because the maker of this Earth is a FOREVER BEING,Kingdoms may rise and fall,but this Earth and man whom the maker of this Earth made in his image,will be here FOREVER.Thank you Brother.
Posted: at 20-06-2015 10:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ritabrenice at 20-06-2015 10:32 PM (8 years ago)
God help us
Posted: at 20-06-2015 10:32 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Amywax at 20-06-2015 11:36 PM (8 years ago)
We were told the earth will cease to exist in 2012. But we are in 2015. Tell those scientists to seek extraordinary wisdom from God. God who created heaven and earth knows it all.
Posted: at 20-06-2015 11:36 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- xjiggy at 21-06-2015 12:01 AM (8 years ago)
Of the four laws, man refused to follow the last one. We have  SUBDUED the Earth, we DOMINATE it, We are MULTIPLYING but we refuse to REPLENISH it. Plant a tree today to avoid losing all the forests then some of the vertebrates disappearing will have a HABITAT
Posted: at 21-06-2015 12:01 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 21-06-2015 05:45 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 21-06-2015 05:45 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ken1230 at 21-06-2015 06:03 AM (8 years ago)
Make fear dey catch you people there until you ban gay and lesbians and state that marriage is for man and woman.
Posted: at 21-06-2015 06:03 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 21-06-2015 08:10 AM (8 years ago)
wasted generation
Posted: at 21-06-2015 08:10 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- tom22 at 21-06-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
i dont believe it at all,i believe in what the word of God say
Posted: at 21-06-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- royalsam450 at 21-06-2015 01:27 PM (8 years ago)
See change
Posted: at 21-06-2015 01:27 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 21-06-2015 03:03 PM (8 years ago)
Just embrace God
Posted: at 21-06-2015 03:03 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 16-08-2015 12:59 PM (8 years ago)
Rubbish
Posted: at 16-08-2015 12:59 PM (8 years ago) | Hero