Ex-Super Eagles Star, Femi Opabunmi Goes Broke and Now Blind Remains In Need Of Support

Date: 21-06-2015 10:39 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 21-06-2015 10:39 PM (8 years ago)

The reason why my headline reads "still in dire need of help" is because he's been in this sad situation for long and he's not really received much support. Learnt about his plight few minutes ago via the twitter post of top TV sports presenter/pundit, Godwin Enakhena.

"Ex Nigeria  star is jobless, lost an eye, kids out of school, can't feed family. Spent savings on operation"‎. He wrote.

‎For those who don't know him. Femi Opabunmi  played  for Nigeria at the 2001 FIFA U-17 World Championship, Trindad and Tobago and also played at 2002 World Cup in Korea/Japan.
He was the 3rd youngest player to ever play in the World Cup finals after Norman Whiteside and Samuel Eto'o.‎

Read Excerpts from his interview (culled from omojuwa.com) few years back before he lost an eye.‎

"In December 2006, I was training one day when suddenly I felt a sharp pain in my eyes. I could not see the ball again. My vision became blurred and I decided to see an optician. The woman told me that in a few days, I could be blind if I did not have surgery, I went for it and the surgeon said it was a success."

" The bill was so much that I was forced to contact a few of my friends. Osaze Odemwingie and Seyi Olofinjana responded by sending some money to me. Others did not even reply my mails or called to know how I was feeling."

"I was expecting to see again but there was no improvement. I visited the doctor and other hospitals in Paris without a solution. They told me that my problem was a complex case that I was too young for such a painful experience".

Returning home…

"I went to Ojulowo Eye Clinic in Ibadan but I had no money to pay the bill. When Onigbinde heard about my return to Nigeria, he called me and helped me. He paid my bill at Ojulowo but the problem was only solved halfway".

‎So sad he and his kids are going through this.

Posted: at 21-06-2015 10:39 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- climax_man at 21-06-2015 10:50 PM (8 years ago)
So sad..
Posted: at 21-06-2015 10:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OOSSYY at 21-06-2015 10:53 PM (8 years ago)
ALL THESE BROKE, BROKE AND BROKE FOR EX FOOTBALLERS DON TOO MUCH, NA WETIN
Posted: at 21-06-2015 10:53 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- royalsam450 at 21-06-2015 11:14 PM (8 years ago)
I pray God will help u
Posted: at 21-06-2015 11:14 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- papadip at 21-06-2015 11:44 PM (8 years ago)
What a pity….
I hope you’ll get some assistance.
Posted: at 21-06-2015 11:44 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oways at 22-06-2015 12:05 AM (8 years ago)
Bad news..where is NFF?
Posted: at 22-06-2015 12:05 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dollar22 at 22-06-2015 12:29 AM (8 years ago)
Soo sad
Posted: at 22-06-2015 12:29 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dannylourdes at 22-06-2015 12:37 AM (8 years ago)
God will see you  through
Posted: at 22-06-2015 12:37 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- mathzno at 22-06-2015 02:47 AM (8 years ago)
NFF please do the needful by registering your players under a health pension scheme. It is not only money for hand ball for field and score goals that matters.
Please look after your players. Players too negotiate condition of service while playing for your country, it is not only match bonus una go dey drag up and down
Posted: at 22-06-2015 02:47 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DRraze at 22-06-2015 03:46 AM (8 years ago)
so sad, but Nigerian government sha
Posted: at 22-06-2015 03:46 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 22-06-2015 05:32 AM (8 years ago)
Eyaaaaah so sory...u need more prayer
Posted: at 22-06-2015 05:32 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ritabrenice at 22-06-2015 07:05 AM (8 years ago)
God help u
Posted: at 22-06-2015 07:05 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ritabrenice at 22-06-2015 07:06 AM (8 years ago)
God help u
Posted: at 22-06-2015 07:06 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ennyolalekan at 22-06-2015 07:33 AM (8 years ago)
How I wish
Posted: at 22-06-2015 07:33 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kikprof at 22-06-2015 07:40 AM (8 years ago)
If I check through, this story might be fake and untrue...pls, try authenticating your news before posting...thanks
Posted: at 22-06-2015 07:40 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- ignis99 at 22-06-2015 08:00 AM (8 years ago)
so sad
Posted: at 22-06-2015 08:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 22-06-2015 09:53 AM (8 years ago)
VERY SAD
LET OTHERS HELP HIM NAH, I WISH I CAN HELP HIM
KEEP BELIEVING GOD FOR MIRACLE
Posted: at 22-06-2015 09:53 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OlasubomiD at 22-06-2015 10:29 AM (8 years ago)
It's well , I pray God help him and lay his hands on him.Amen.....
Posted: at 22-06-2015 10:29 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 22-06-2015 11:05 AM (8 years ago)
NAWA
Posted: at 22-06-2015 11:05 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- echeeche at 22-06-2015 02:36 PM (8 years ago)
Not good to hear at all
Posted: at 22-06-2015 02:36 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

3. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

4. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

5. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

6. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

7. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

8. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

9. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

12. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

13. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

14. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor