Iyabo Told Me I Was Going To Die In Office - Obasanjo Reveals

Date: 11-07-2015 12:29 am (8 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 11-07-2015 12:29 AM (8 years ago)

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo has revealed that his eldest daughter, Iyabo, told him he was going to die in office. The former President also said his daughter said if that should happen, she would not weep for him.

The former President said he, nevertheless, replied his daughter that such would not mean anything to him since he would not be there to appreciate it.

Obasanjo, who said this in his controversial book, My Watch, said that was Iyabo’s submission when he informed her and three of his other children about his desire to contest the 1999 Presidential election.

The meeting with the four children, which he said came after he had consulted almost all those that mattered before joining the presidential race, was held in New York.

He said it was ironic that Iyabo became a senator during his tenure.

Meanwhile, before being elected a senator, Iyabo was appointed a commissioner by Otunba Gbenga Daniel, while he was serving as governor of Ogun State.

Obasanjo said, “My mind was almost made up (to vie for the position of President) but I had to consult with my children. I got four of them together in New York.

“I told them I was going to decide whether to go into politics or not. Iyabo was the most antagonistic.

“She burst out loudly, ‘I know you will join and you will die there and if you die, I will not weep.’

“I told her ‘if I die and you weep, it is for yourself and others, not for me as I will not know you are weeping.’

“It is ironic that within 10 years, Iyabo became a Senator and I completed two terms of eight years without a scratch.”

The former President added that out of the four children in attendance when he spoke with them, it was only Segun who he said, had a few words of encouragement.

The son, according to Obasanjo, said, “Daddy, you have always said that we must serve God and humanity and if this is the way you have chosen to serve God and humanity, I will pray for you.”

With those words from his son coupled with the words of encouragement he said he got from those he had spoken with earlier, the Owu-born retired general said “the die was almost cast.”

In the book, Obasanjo also mentioned the names of his 21 children. He was however silent on the number of his wives or the mothers of the children.

Five of the children are holders of PhD in different fields.

The children are Iyabo (PhD), who is the eldest; Busola, Segun(PhD), Gbenga(PhD), Deboye, Muyiwa, Funke, Bola (PhD) and Seun (PhD).

Also listed were Dare, Kofo, Dayo, Biyi, Bisoye, Damilola, Jonwo, Bunmi, Funso, Dayo, Toyosi and Bukola.

The listing and mentioning of the names of his children was the first time the two-time President of Nigeria, would publicly talk about his children.

Punch

Posted: at 11-07-2015 12:29 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- royalty2008 at 11-07-2015 01:32 AM (8 years ago)
Irresponsible and shameless Father
Your daughter is against you, your son is against you, why not change your evil ways?
You tried to sleep with your son's wife, are you not ashame of yourself?
Obj pls there is GOD, change your evil ways now before it's too late
Posted: at 11-07-2015 01:32 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Obaneski at 11-07-2015 04:01 AM (8 years ago)
Drinking jedi.
Posted: at 11-07-2015 04:01 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- robertedo3 at 11-07-2015 04:10 AM (8 years ago)
Who are u to  judge  anyone ? Be careful of what you say  so  u dnt incure the wrath of God
Posted: at 11-07-2015 04:10 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ololababs at 11-07-2015 06:24 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Pete  Force on 11-07-2015 01:32 AM
Irresponsible and shameless Father
Your daughter is against you, your son is against you, why not change your evil ways?
You tried to sleep with your son's wife, are you not ashame of yourself?
Obj pls there is GOD, change your evil ways now before it's too late

Do u have any evidence??? People just open their mouth n talk. Awon omo jati jati.
Posted: at 11-07-2015 06:24 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- moralemike07 at 11-07-2015 06:25 AM (8 years ago)
And you didn't die. Life goes on!
Posted: at 11-07-2015 06:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- enyiekere at 11-07-2015 06:33 AM (8 years ago)
repent now, Jesus is coming back very very soon. Do away with d acultic materials also as u repent.
Posted: at 11-07-2015 06:33 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- uchex at 11-07-2015 06:59 AM (8 years ago)
No sense
Posted: at 11-07-2015 06:59 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 11-07-2015 07:01 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 11-07-2015 07:01 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 11-07-2015 07:25 AM (8 years ago)
oooooooh
Posted: at 11-07-2015 07:25 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Nicksam at 11-07-2015 07:43 AM (8 years ago)
JEJEJEJEJE SHE FORGOT THAT YOU BELONG SOMEWHERE
Posted: at 11-07-2015 07:43 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 11-07-2015 08:45 AM (8 years ago)
Give God the praise
Posted: at 11-07-2015 08:45 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- 50scent at 11-07-2015 09:34 AM (8 years ago)
This is ridiculous , the coffee wey l dey drink commot for my nose as I read this content !!!

Posted: at 11-07-2015 09:34 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- royalty2008 at 11-07-2015 10:36 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Ololababs on 11-07-2015 06:24 AM
Do u have any evidence??? People just open their mouth n talk. Awon omo jati jati.
omo oshi, asuta, ole buluku
Posted: at 11-07-2015 10:36 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- royalsam450 at 11-07-2015 11:50 AM (8 years ago)
Yoruba it is good to defend your tribe but not to defend this man u all know he is evil even the problem nigeria especially the yoruba people are faceing today this evil man cause it gbenga adeboye alabefe have say it ologundudu e.t.c have allso say it befor so u dont need to cover fire
Posted: at 11-07-2015 11:50 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Troublemenot at 11-07-2015 01:23 PM (8 years ago)
You should have die truly and spare us that 16 billion dollar you took from world bank for electricity that we don't see the head nor tale
Posted: at 11-07-2015 01:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 11-07-2015 02:03 PM (8 years ago)
B4 nko????all man go die na,,,,na just d timing different,,,
Posted: at 11-07-2015 02:03 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 12-07-2015 11:42 AM (8 years ago)
I just love this Man like crazy
Posted: at 12-07-2015 11:42 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ignis99 at 12-07-2015 11:51 AM (8 years ago)
talk talk
Posted: at 12-07-2015 11:51 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 14-08-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago)
So y didn't you die? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 14-08-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago) | Hero