#ChangeisHere: You Can't Play For Super Eagles If You Do Not Play In First Division In Any Country"

Date: 16-07-2015 7:21 am (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 16-07-2015 07:21 AM (8 years ago)

Nigeria on Wednesday appointed Sunday Oliseh as coach on a three-year contract and he has fired a warning he will only consider players who feature in the top leagues overseas and at home.

Oliseh’s predecessor Stephen Keshi was known to call up players from the lower leagues overseas.
But the new Eagles supremo said this must change.

“If you are not playing  in first division in anywhere in the world and in Nigeria, you cannot play for the Super Eagles henceforth,” Oliseh warned at a media presentation in Abuja on Wednesday.
“However players coming from the under-aged teams are the only exception to this rule.”
Oliseh said it is an honour to lead the Eagles now as a coach, but he alone cannot turn around the footballing fortunes of the country.
“It’s a great honour to be a coach of this nation,” he said.

“First of all, I am not coming as a Messiah. I am not coming as a man who can single handedly turn Nigeria to Germany.

“I am coming in to do my best and give if possible 150% all the time.

“The state we are now in Nigeria I think we are all not happy with. Gone are the days we have individual players who can single handedly win a match for you. But we have the potentials and that is our belief and the players must know that it’s an honour to be invited to the national team.”

About Oliseh:
Sunday Ogorchukwu Oliseh was born 14 September 1974 in Abavo, Delta State.

Oliseh played 54 international matches and scored two goals for Nigeria
He played at the Football World Cups of 1994 and 1998.

Oliseh also participated in the Olympic gold medal winning team of 1996.
He is mostly remembered for scoring the winning goal in the group stage match against Spain in the 1998 World Cup, as Nigeria prevailed 3–2. A throw-in deep in the Spanish half was headed clear by a defender – Oliseh ran and fired an explosive shot from 25 yards and took Spanish goalkeeper Andoni Zubizarreta completely by surprise

Despite captaining Nigeria during the 2002 African Cup of Nations, Oliseh was omitted from the World Cup squad later that year for disciplinary reasons
Oliseh retired from international football in June 2002.

In March 2004, Oliseh was sacked by Borussia Dortmund after punching team-mate Vahid Hashemian while on loan at VfL Bochum.
In January 2006, at the age of 31, Oliseh retired from professional football after playing a half season for Belgian top club K.R.C. Genk.

Posted: at 16-07-2015 07:21 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- adeniyisau at 16-07-2015 07:42 AM (8 years ago)
mayweather coach
Posted: at 16-07-2015 07:42 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- angesco at 16-07-2015 07:54 AM (8 years ago)
I do not care for football but is that really fair?  What of those at HOME who play good football but not in the first division due to the QUOTA system?

I thought we should be SCOUTING for players within the country who are doing well irrespective of age.

As for depending on those who playtop league football outside the country, Nigeria is known for depending on everything FORIEGN MADE! 
Posted: at 16-07-2015 07:54 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 16-07-2015 08:10 AM (8 years ago)
good point there my able coach
Posted: at 16-07-2015 08:10 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- edpete at 16-07-2015 09:00 AM (8 years ago)
Good luck Oliseh my man
Posted: at 16-07-2015 09:00 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Emmay33 at 16-07-2015 09:33 AM (8 years ago)
the best are not yet fetch out, successful are always appointed but while?
Posted: at 16-07-2015 09:33 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Emmay33 at 16-07-2015 09:34 AM (8 years ago)
the best are not yet fetch out, y successful are always appointed but while?
Posted: at 16-07-2015 09:34 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ritabrenice at 16-07-2015 10:17 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 16-07-2015 10:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- debuchi at 16-07-2015 10:47 AM (8 years ago)
OK Mr coach,
Nigeria's are watching, wish u good luck
Posted: at 16-07-2015 10:47 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- victorstic1 at 16-07-2015 12:29 PM (8 years ago)
EVEN OLISEH NO GET GOOD RECORD HE WANTS TO IMPOSE YEYE RULES NONSENSE
Posted: at 16-07-2015 12:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Patgreen003 at 16-07-2015 03:00 PM (8 years ago)
Zero Resume
Posted: at 16-07-2015 03:00 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- echeeche at 16-07-2015 05:12 PM (8 years ago)
We are waiting
Posted: at 16-07-2015 05:12 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 16-07-2015 06:41 PM (8 years ago)
Not a good start….. Select the good players regardless of their status.
.....I bet .....he is going to reverse that strategy

Posted: at 16-07-2015 06:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- makedemtalk at 16-07-2015 07:59 PM (8 years ago)
We are waiting ooooh no F up sha...Gud luck
Posted: at 16-07-2015 07:59 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- utomilan at 16-07-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 16-07-2015 07:54 AM
I do not care for football but is that really fair?  What of those at HOME who play good football but not in the first division due to the QUOTA system?

I thought we should be SCOUTING for players within the country who are doing well irrespective of age.

As for depending on those who playtop league football outside the country, Nigeria is known for depending on everything FORIEGN MADE! 
you have to be in first division in any league in the world .Nigeria or outside before you can play for super eagles... super eagles dont hunt for talent ,,,your club will find you and if you perform well you play with SUPER eagles is not called  new talent eagles but SUPER ..check out other countries like Spain Germany and Brazil ...please there should be competition
Posted: at 16-07-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 16-07-2015 09:01 PM (8 years ago)
oooooooh
Posted: at 16-07-2015 09:01 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mensch at 16-07-2015 09:17 PM (8 years ago)
Oliseh was my team met with the  bridge boys in 1990 before he left for
 europe.
he was a very good player cause he supplied me with the finishing touches passes.

i wish him all the best.
Posted: at 16-07-2015 09:17 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 14-08-2015 05:51 AM (8 years ago)
Dats good. Dis will bring quality football to the team
Posted: at 14-08-2015 05:51 AM (8 years ago) | Hero