Ministers Won’t Award Contracts Again, Says President Buhari

Date: 26-07-2015 9:42 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 26-07-2015 09:42 PM (8 years ago)

As part of the ongoing reform of several strata of the Nigeria, President Muhammadu Buhari has disclosed that ministers won’t be having the luxury of awarding contracts or getting corrupt in how contracts are awarded.

Speaking with journalists in Washington DC during his four-day visit to the United States, Buhari said ministers would no longer have power to award contracts.
In his words, ‘I have already acted to remove political control over awarding of contracts away from ministers, who use them to get political favours and kickbacks,’

In furtherance, the president disclosed that the introduction of a new system of plea bargaining to encourage looters of the government money and oil thieves to return the people’s stolen commonwealth. »

‘I will introduce a new system of plea bargain, that will allow those who have stolen a$$ets and funds to return them – but if they do not take that opportunity we will pursue them through the courts.’

Noting that corruption is one of the top issues facing Nigeria, Buhari disclosed further that his government is taking several steps to end the menace.
‘Corruption is one of the top three issues facing Nigeria, along with insecurity and unemployment. We must act to kill corruption or corruption will kill Nigeria. I am determined to lead that fight.

‘My government is already taking several steps to cut out the cancer of corruption that has been eating away at the state for so long.
‘We are reorganizing the existing plethora of anti-corruption bodies into single powerful agency that will have the focus, power and budget to clamp down on corruption at the federal and state levels,’ the president told journalists.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 26-07-2015 09:42 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 26-07-2015 09:54 PM (8 years ago)
ooooooooooh
Posted: at 26-07-2015 09:54 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- freethinker at 26-07-2015 10:24 PM (8 years ago)
''THE WORLD WERE SHOCKED AS THEY WATCH PRESIDENT BUHARI UNFOLD TO THE WORLD HIS DECISION TO ADMINISTER THE COUNTRY ON BASIS OF THE VOTING PATTERN IN THE LAST GENERAL ELECTIONS RATHER THAN ON EQUITY AS STIPULATED BY CONSTITUTION AND HIS OATHS OF OFFICE AS THE PRESIDENT OF NIGERIA''
Posted: at 26-07-2015 10:24 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Foxtroft at 27-07-2015 01:33 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: freethinker on 26-07-2015 10:24 PM
''THE WORLD WERE SHOCKED AS THEY WATCH PRESIDENT BUHARI UNFOLD TO THE WORLD HIS DECISION TO ADMINISTER THE COUNTRY ON BASIS OF THE VOTING PATTERN IN THE LAST GENERAL ELECTIONS RATHER THAN ON EQUITY AS STIPULATED BY CONSTITUTION AND HIS OATHS OF OFFICE AS THE PRESIDENT OF NIGERIA''

Nobody is shocked. Most of you running your mouths did not vote in the guy. Instead you celebrated mediocrity instead of change. As if that is not enough, you continue to criticize everything he has been doing and you still expect your people to have ministerial appointment. My message for all of you is that you cannot eat your cake and have it, leave Buhari alone to run his government the way he likes. Afterall,  the outgone alcoholic clown did his own government the way he liked. If you don't like the way Buhari is running his govt, you can go hug transformer or commit suicide or something. 
Posted: at 27-07-2015 01:33 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- jossy4reall at 27-07-2015 05:32 AM (8 years ago)
make we dey watch and see hw dem wan fight dis corruption because so far dia is nothing to show say dem dey fight the corruption.....those people wey efcc arrested wia still let go....some on bail while some go free of charge but no money recorded as amount wey dem recover from dem and none of dem go to jail so far........may be Buhari wan start with pick pocketer in the street before going to the looters

Posted: at 27-07-2015 05:32 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 27-07-2015 07:54 AM (8 years ago)
Watever. Jt start work naim we want. Beside pls comot eye for dis oil abeg u. Its abt time every region start contributing somethg to dis country na haba.
Posted: at 27-07-2015 07:54 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chiemep at 27-07-2015 09:33 AM (8 years ago)
His position is good but he should make sure that it is done with clear intention to save the country n no body should be left out otherwise will make nonesense of the whole issue
Posted: at 27-07-2015 09:33 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- edpete at 27-07-2015 10:06 AM (8 years ago)
Good
Posted: at 27-07-2015 10:06 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- bankadetoun at 27-07-2015 10:07 AM (8 years ago)
Interesting
Posted: at 27-07-2015 10:07 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dis4real at 27-07-2015 10:53 AM (8 years ago)
Ok sir. Tomorrow news will carry it that u never said this. God have mercy
Posted: at 27-07-2015 10:53 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- diezo at 27-07-2015 01:38 PM (8 years ago)
Abeg nobody go fit deceive me, U said u came and met an empty purse yet you've been going on trips upon trips, are these trips on ur expense? U said u are not creating ministers for now so who will be running the affairs of all the vacant offices for now it's unknown, since this man came into power he has been used to talking n talking is he talking out of real feelings for Nigerians or trying to deviate our minds from his real motives if not hands crossed  Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed
Posted: at 27-07-2015 01:38 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oways at 27-07-2015 01:44 PM (8 years ago)
Very good strategy
Posted: at 27-07-2015 01:44 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- warribimboye at 27-07-2015 06:09 PM (8 years ago)
baba go slow abi wetin u call urself,nigeria no be snail,go direct to point,betray d people wey put u dia,cos dem corrupt pass anything,i know say na dem make u dey slow so.at d end u go say na national reconciliation.
Posted: at 27-07-2015 06:09 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 27-07-2015 06:46 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 27-07-2015 06:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 29-07-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago)
good
Posted: at 29-07-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Fashoney at 21-08-2015 07:09 AM (8 years ago)
Blocking all d holes in which people had making themself rich..very good!
Posted: at 21-08-2015 07:09 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

3. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

4. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

5. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

6. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

7. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

8. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

9. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu