Students in the UK Sponsored by Rivers Govt. Allegedly Face Deportation Due to Non-Payment of Fees

Date: 06-08-2015 4:37 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 6-08-2015 04:37 PM (8 years ago)

A student who is currently studying in the UK under the scholarship scheme of Rivers state sustainable development Agency (RSSDA) sent BN an e-mail, urging us to share this story. According to an article written by one of the students, the Rivers State government has been unable to continue paying their school fees under the RSSDA scholarship scheme, and as a result; they could be facing deportation.
The riversstate.gov website describes RSSDA as:
An agency set up by law under the [former]Governor Chibuike Rotimi Administration in 2008 with the vision of transforming Rivers State rural and urban economies from dependency to self sufficiency. The Agency runs Human Capital Development programmes and Agric/Agro-Allied and Business Development.
These programmes include: Overseas and local scholarship scheme for undergraduate and post-graduate studies in diverse disciplines; and Secondary education scholarships tagged ‘Greater Horizon and Opportunity Programmes’ for exceptionally brilliant pupils from the 23 Local Government Areas of the State; Workmanship and Technical Training programmes,  Hydraform projects; Agricultural projects like the Rivers Songhai Farm, Hatcheries, Cassava farms, Snail Farms, Aquaculture centres, Poultry farms amongst others.

Here is the CNN ireport story one of the students urged us to share:

I have a story about students abandoned by rivers state government that are facing going back home. Please check my timeline and you will see a video I posted today. Watch it and if you need more info let me know. We need to create awareness about this. We are 2nd year students with the university of Huddersfield currently hoping to progress to final year by September or going on placement as some of us have chosen.
It is with deep shock that we realised that the RSSDA (Rivers state sustainable development Agency) under the rivers state government who is our sponsor have not paid our fees for 2 years. The university have made all efforts to get the money from them but they have since attributed the non-payment to the government of rivers state not releasing funds. The university even went to the extent of travelling to Nigeria for the money. We are more than 11 students with the cost of each student fees being 12,500 pounds each. Since all effort have failed to get the money from the agency, the university have come to the resolve of suspending our studies and revoking their sponsorship on our visas, Hence, giving us 60 days to leave the country. The have 10 days to revoke the visa cancellation if the agency gives them a time frame for payment and the 10 days expires this Friday. The agency have deliberately refused replying the university on several emails and refused to also commit to them by giving them time frame for payment. Worst of it all is that the agency have not even acknowledge the situation or even comfort us and take responsibility for whatever damage this might incur. They said and I quote “they don’t even have our flight money back”. We are stranded!!! We have not been paid allowance and rent money for 9 months now which is meant to be 800 pounds a month. Fees owed by the government around England and other part of the world have amounted to about 3 billion naira. We need this video to spread let the whole world see how politics is affecting the future of the country. PLEASE!!!
If you need any other information don’t fail to contact me. Please help create awareness

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&amp;v=t-YzIQgh5Kw" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&amp;v=t-YzIQgh5Kw</a>

Posted: at 6-08-2015 04:37 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PoliticxGuru at 6-08-2015 04:41 PM (8 years ago)
trash
Posted: at 6-08-2015 04:41 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- johnsample at 6-08-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago)
Islam is the cause of all these, Muslims deceived Amaechi to reject his people.. May Buhari Die in office.... Amen
Posted: at 6-08-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 6-08-2015 05:03 PM (8 years ago)
U see nigeria. Govt problem? If he had admitted them in nigeria, it would have been easy. Now he took them abroad to inflate d money so dat he will get his own share and now d student are stranded and he is going abt follow grandpa like house boy dat he is. If grandpa Buhari want to prob! He must start from his APC members.
Posted: at 6-08-2015 05:03 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dis4real at 6-08-2015 05:35 PM (8 years ago)
Sorry bro u dey abroad try
Posted: at 6-08-2015 05:35 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ignis99 at 6-08-2015 05:45 PM (8 years ago)
I take scholarship school abroad abeg go deliver pizza or work at tescos or asda etc na so we take survive am
Posted: at 6-08-2015 05:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OlasubomiD at 6-08-2015 05:47 PM (8 years ago)
Ehya it's well.. All this government people sha. Just chopping money that's what they know..
Posted: at 6-08-2015 05:47 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- bamilok2008 at 6-08-2015 07:04 PM (8 years ago)
12000 pounds no be small money
Posted: at 6-08-2015 07:04 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 6-08-2015 07:05 PM (8 years ago)
they should come home and start again
Posted: at 6-08-2015 07:05 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 6-08-2015 07:59 PM (8 years ago)
ooooooh
Posted: at 6-08-2015 07:59 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 6-08-2015 08:07 PM (8 years ago)
hmmm big problem for them
Posted: at 6-08-2015 08:07 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Lisabi at 6-08-2015 09:14 PM (8 years ago)
Gov. Wike said he has paid them now.
Posted: at 6-08-2015 09:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lisabi at 6-08-2015 09:14 PM (8 years ago)
Gov. Wike said he has paid them now.
Posted: at 6-08-2015 09:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 6-08-2015 09:32 PM (8 years ago)
Naija
Posted: at 6-08-2015 09:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SOGaiya at 6-08-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago)
welcme bak hme
Posted: at 6-08-2015 10:22 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eskay20s at 6-08-2015 11:30 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: John  Sample Rasheed on  6-08-2015 04:54 PM
Islam is the cause of all these, Muslims deceived Amaechi to reject his people.. May Buhari Die in office.... Amen
if you still have parent, before this year runs out they will bury you with their hands and if you have kids,you will bury them with your hands.. WEREY,God will never give you peace for the rest of your life and that of your useless PARENT
Posted: at 6-08-2015 11:30 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 7-08-2015 01:52 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 7-08-2015 01:52 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- qudr812 at 7-08-2015 07:26 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: John  Sample Rasheed on  6-08-2015 04:54 PM
we Muslim we will still maintaining our level. not accusing Jesus and religion. But I thank God that those students and their governor are Christian. But as your as your name john rasheed you'll  be a sample of hypocrite.
Posted: at 7-08-2015 07:26 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Nicksam at 7-08-2015 08:13 AM (8 years ago)
RIVERS GOVERNMENT SHOULD DO SOMETHING
Posted: at 7-08-2015 08:13 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 7-08-2015 10:02 AM (8 years ago)
Dis student shud hustle now...since dey re already there in the system
Posted: at 7-08-2015 10:02 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

4. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

5. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

6. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria