Oil Won’t Be Sufficient As Nigeria’s Revenue Earner, We Need Agriculture - Buhari

Date: 08-08-2015 6:10 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 8-08-2015 06:10 AM (8 years ago)

Yesterday, President Muhammadu Buhari said that his administration would henceforth take agriculture seriously, saying that crude oil and gas exports would no longer be sufficient as the country’s major revenue earner.

The President stated that his government would cut short the long bureaucratic processes that Nigerian farmers had to go through to get any form of assistance from government, stating that it's time Nigerians took Agriculture seriously.

The President Buhari spoke when he received Dr. Kanayo Nwanze, the Nigerian born President of the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), at the Presidential Villa on Friday.

The President said:
“It’s time to go back to the land. We must face the reality that the petroleum we had depended on for so long will no longer suffice.
We campaigned heavily on agriculture, and we are ready to assist as many as want to go into agricultural ventures,”.
The president said that improvement of the productivity of farmers, dry season farming, and creative ways to combat the shrinking of the Lake Chad will also be given the necessary attention.

“There is so much to be done. We will try and articulate a programme and consult organizations like IFAD for advice,” the President said, adding that foreign exchange will be conserved for machinery and other items needed for production, “instead of using it to import things like toothpicks.”

He told the IFAD President that improvement of the productivity of farmers, dry season farming and creative ways to combat the shrinking of the Lake Chad would also receive his administration’s attention.

Dr. Nwanze congratulated President Buhari on his victory at the general elections and assured him that  IFAD was ready to give all possible assistance to the Federal Government and Nigerian farmers to boost agricultural production in the country.

IFAD is an international organization dedicated to addressing issues of agriculture and poverty alleviation.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 8-08-2015 06:10 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 8-08-2015 07:50 AM (8 years ago)
Let's see wat u will do abt it since d north no longer produce anythg like b4 wen u will piramide of groundnuts and so many fresh crops for exporting. So far GEJ is d only one dat have done well in agriculture. Let's see wat u will do.
Posted: at 8-08-2015 07:50 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- donkagawa at 8-08-2015 08:00 AM (8 years ago)
Lol @ misterjohn, pls stop disgracing urself nd face reality, any country that wants to develop must diversify it's economy, among the richest pple in usa are farmers, nd let me remind you before the discovery of oil, Nigeria source of income was agriculture, go nd do more research on strategies for sustainable development.
Posted: at 8-08-2015 08:00 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- SOGaiya at 8-08-2015 09:32 AM (8 years ago)
Sme cment witout gud knowledge of sustainable development moreover agric can nt b over look
Posted: at 8-08-2015 09:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ritabrenice at 8-08-2015 09:58 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 8-08-2015 09:58 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 8-08-2015 10:50 AM (8 years ago)
True talk
Posted: at 8-08-2015 10:50 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 8-08-2015 11:03 AM (8 years ago)
na today, see una eye go clear when that yeye oil finish!!
Posted: at 8-08-2015 11:03 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- PoliticxGuru at 8-08-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago)
good
Posted: at 8-08-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- diutopep at 8-08-2015 12:21 PM (8 years ago)
We really need to get started!!! Action speak more than voice!!!
Posted: at 8-08-2015 12:21 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 8-08-2015 12:41 PM (8 years ago)
I wept for my beloved country Nigeria after watching the video in the early days of Nigeria when Prime Minister Abubakar Belewa Visited USA July 25Th 1961, What a glorious welcome of a Hero and Great Nation of Nigeria, What happen to the legacy and pride of Nigeria? Just imagine Cameroon and Gabon deporting Nigerias, what a shame of a country were leaders loot treasury of the people to enrich themselves
Posted: at 8-08-2015 12:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tessiko at 8-08-2015 02:24 PM (8 years ago)
ok lets get started. school of agriculture will now get more aspirants from jambites
Posted: at 8-08-2015 02:24 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- beneno at 8-08-2015 04:35 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 8-08-2015 04:35 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Danas1 at 8-08-2015 04:39 PM (8 years ago)
How I wish government will just makes sure that all NYSC corpers doing farming before they receive their service certificate..everybody just want a white collar job who then will farm?
Posted: at 8-08-2015 04:39 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- papadip at 8-08-2015 05:21 PM (8 years ago)
Agreed with the president.
Agriculture was the mainstay of this country up till the oil started booming.
I will blame the army for neglecting this sector for a long time when they were in government. 

Posted: at 8-08-2015 05:21 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 8-08-2015 05:22 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: misterjohn on  8-08-2015 06:29 AM
Yea... cos you want to dash US plenty oil for support
Mr. Buhari will never do that.....you need to check his record when he was the military head of state.
Posted: at 8-08-2015 05:22 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ignis99 at 8-08-2015 08:16 PM (8 years ago)
Alternative agriculture is always raised when they want to embezzle money .Check through our past regimes from Obasanjo till Gej the agriculture fund ends up in their personal farms and their friends.
Posted: at 8-08-2015 08:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- presciousoluchi at 9-08-2015 12:36 AM (8 years ago)
why now that oil will not be enough..........abeg that one is story

Posted: at 9-08-2015 12:36 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac