Almost 40% Of Nigerians Are Mentally Ill & Lack Medical Care

Date: 31-08-2015 8:08 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 31-08-2015 08:08 PM (8 years ago)

A former power minister, Professor Chinedu Nebo, on Monday said the federal and state governments have not provided medical attention to about 64 million Nigerians who suffer from mental illness.

Nebo spoke during the Second Public Lecture organised by the Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Enugu, in collaboration with the West African College of Nursing.

Speaking on the theme ‘Psychiatric and mental health in Nigeria: challenges and prospects,’ Nebo noted that, according to medical scholars, out of a population of 160 million or thereabouts, “64 million Nigerians suffer from one form or the other of afflictions of mental illness,” which deserved attention.

Nebo, a former Vice Chancellor of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, pointed out that, whereas government had done much in the area of primary health care, nothing had been done to address mental health challenges.

He also noted that Nigerians were not adequately informed about mental health issues.

“Nigerians still grapple with many social challenges, including poverty, high level of unemployment and other social pressures.

“The prevalence of these situations have been escalated by the fact that there is high level of poor knowledge and understanding of the malaise of mental health disorder and the positive treatments required by the growing population of mentally ill patients,” he said.

He identified causes of mental illness to include genetic composition, neurological and psychological experiences and environmental stresses.

He faulted what he described as “the belief that many Nigerians seem to hold that mental disorder is a result of supernatural forces and, therefore, only responds to cure through traditional practices and supernatural incantations.”

Nebo urged Nigerians to give up such beliefs and “face the realities of modern conditions, which in fact, produce the stresses that lead to different levels of mental conditions.”

The former power minister called for adequate funding for research and training of mental health manpower.

Nebo equally canvassed the provision of community based mental health care services, total integration of mental health care into the primary health care system and periodic review of legislation governing the care of the mentally ill.

The Chief Medical Director of the Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Enugu, Dr. Jojo Onwukwe, said the institution has a staff strength of about 1000 workers, including eight consultant specialist psychiatrists, more than 400 psychiatric nurses and 27 resident doctors.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 31-08-2015 08:08 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- victormorgan at 31-08-2015 08:15 PM (8 years ago)
40% too much na, i no believe that one.
Posted: at 31-08-2015 08:15 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- aroroghene at 31-08-2015 08:18 PM (8 years ago)
and the mad ones are mainly men
Posted: at 31-08-2015 08:18 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 31-08-2015 08:19 PM (8 years ago)
dat man b like say him dey craze, how can u say 64million, D man is mentally retarded, make him check himsef first
Posted: at 31-08-2015 08:19 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DJSNIPPER at 31-08-2015 08:30 PM (8 years ago)
There are crazy people everywhere and the level of impunity and lawlessness in Nigeria cuts across all regions
Posted: at 31-08-2015 08:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 31-08-2015 08:32 PM (8 years ago)
OK o
Posted: at 31-08-2015 08:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- paulohking at 31-08-2015 08:33 PM (8 years ago)
OK o
Posted: at 31-08-2015 08:33 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 31-08-2015 08:46 PM (8 years ago)
But the man is right. Mentallt, people are frustrated. Poverty is a form of madness.  Unemployment is a form of madness. Bribery,  corruption and so on are madnes. The only form of madness known to people is when someone is naked into the market place but  its high time we started looking at others with a view of finding solution to them. See as una dey even tire bodi sake of wetin the man talk, dat na madness. Lol. Abeg make una no kill me oo. Na joke I dey
Posted: at 31-08-2015 08:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 31-08-2015 09:09 PM (8 years ago)
lol 40% ke ki lo de!!
Posted: at 31-08-2015 09:09 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- steveoneal at 31-08-2015 09:19 PM (8 years ago)
The man is absolutely right, it is also evident on this forum where people will keep posting comments that are completely irrelevant to the topics posted. thats why i said (beaucoup) madmen re on this forum to  butress the point of this prof.,, we all know their names,
Posted: at 31-08-2015 09:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 31-08-2015 10:23 PM (8 years ago)
Like serious?
Posted: at 31-08-2015 10:23 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dondada4040 at 31-08-2015 10:32 PM (8 years ago)
64% is understatement, at least it should be upto 95% because all the vehicle drivers in Nigeria are mad, madness is not only when someone walks naked on the street. The psychiatric doctors are mad, people stealing money they don't need, lying everyday like APC senior party members and start believing it's actually the truth, people believing that suffering is now a way of life and the government has no obligation to provide them with normal amenities etc, don't know where to end
Posted: at 31-08-2015 10:32 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- chealseafc at 31-08-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago)
this poster is not far from the truth.
Posted: at 31-08-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- babafero at 31-08-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago)
i increase it to 60%
Posted: at 31-08-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- chealseafc at 31-08-2015 10:35 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: steveoneal on 31-08-2015 09:19 PM
The man is absolutely right, it is also evident on this forum where people will keep posting comments that are completely irrelevant to the topics posted. thats why i said (beaucoup) madmen re on this forum to  butress the point of this prof.,, we all know their names,

don't tell me you are referring to wasted generation. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 31-08-2015 10:35 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chealseafc at 31-08-2015 10:41 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: dondada4040 on 31-08-2015 10:32 PM
64% is understatement, at least it should be up-to 95% because all the vehicle drivers in Nigeria are mad, madness is not only when someone walks naked on the street. The psychiatric doctors are mad, people stealing money they don't need, lying everyday like APC senior party members and start believing it's actually the truth, people believing that suffering is now a way of life and the government has no obligation to provide them with normal amenities etc, don't know where to end

you will be surprise with the attitude of those who just newly arrived from Nigeria.
a country where you might be stoned to death for saying the simple truth.
a ZOO where the policemen will ask you to pay mobilization fee if you want your case treated.
animal kingdom where i was made to believe that, up NEPA is a normal way of life.
to mention but few.
Posted: at 31-08-2015 10:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chealseafc at 31-08-2015 10:43 PM (8 years ago)
64% is understatement, at least it should be up-to 95% because all the vehicle drivers in Nigeria are mad, madness is not only when someone walks naked on the street. The psychiatric doctors are mad, people stealing money they don't need, lying everyday like APC senior party members and start believing it's actually the truth, people believing that suffering is now a way of life and the government has no obligation to provide them with normal amenities etc, don't know where to end

you will be surprise with the attitude of those who just newly arrived from Nigeria.
a country where you might be stoned to death for saying the simple truth.
a ZOO where the policemen will ask you to pay mobilization fee if you want your case treated.
animal kingdom where i was made to believe that, up NEPA is a normal way of life.
to mention but few.
Posted: at 31-08-2015 10:43 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 31-08-2015 11:15 PM (8 years ago)
Oga u are right o. If not more than 40% sef.
Posted: at 31-08-2015 11:15 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- patoskill at 31-08-2015 11:37 PM (8 years ago)
na so e go dey bi untill we get good leaders, not somebody like the current one. poverty na illness.
Posted: at 31-08-2015 11:37 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Naijasharon at 31-08-2015 11:37 PM (8 years ago)
40%? Okay this must include those corrupt politicians as well.
Posted: at 31-08-2015 11:37 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5