Facts On How A Theatre Art And Film Study Student Of UNIPORT, Precious Kelechi Died

Date: 04-09-2015 8:14 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
[1] 2 3 4
- at 4-09-2015 08:14 AM (8 years ago)

More facts have emerged on how a 200-Level Theatre Art and Film Study student of the University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT), Miss Precious Kelechi, died mysteriously on Monday.

Her room-mate, Kainti Dauebimoere Chant’elle, revealed how her close friend slumped in the hostel bathroom and died after the deceased was rejected by the UNIPORT Teaching Hospital (UPTH).

Kainti, a 300-Level Theatre Art and Film Study student and the deceased bedmate, narrated: “Precious and I woke up almost at the same time on Monday at 5m. She left the room to have her bath. A few minutes after, I heard her screaming. I ran to the bathroom to know what was wrong with her, but I saw her on the floor, shivering.

“I rushed back to call other roommates. We got a car at 5:45am to take her to UPTH. When we got to Accident and Emergency section, doctors on duty told us there was no bed space. Our plea to the doctors to admit her fell on deaf ears. Precious was rejected.

“We left for Fountain Hospital in Ozuoba area. The doctor on duty told us to inform her parents and advised we should take her back to the UPTH. When we told the doctor she was rejected at UPTH, he directed us to Ebonyi Hospital, where Precious was also refused admission.”

Kainti said: “Then, we rushed her to military hospital, where she was confirmed dead. We were advised to make statement at the Choba Police station, after which the body was taken to UPTH mortuary. The same UPTH management, which said there was no space to accommodate the distressed students, accepted her corpse in their mortuary.”

Kainti said her friend died because she could not be admitted for medical attention.

When the news hit the campus, the students, led by the president of Students’ Union Government (SUG), Endwell Chuku, abandoned lecture and blocked the popular East-West Highway to protest Precious’ death.

They accused the UPTH management of complicity in the death of the late student, criticising the hospital for rejecting a student of the university.

The UPTH Chief Medical Director (CMD), Prof Aaron Ojule, said there was no space when the victim was brought to the hospital, noting that the hospital could not have willfully rejected the late student.

He said: “We did not reject the late student. We cannot reject anybody, not to talk of the student UNIPORT. But, when the wards are filled, we cannot ask patients to come down from the bed to accept another. We sympathised with the deceased’s family and the university.”

Meanwhile, normalcy has returned to the campus as students returned to classrooms. The union advised the management to reach agreement with the Teaching Hospital to give students in distress a preferential service anytime they go to the hospital.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:14 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Doctmankind at 4-09-2015 08:27 AM (8 years ago)
so, who's to blame, or could this b associated to fate or natural death?
Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:27 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Doctmankind at 4-09-2015 08:29 AM (8 years ago)
so, who's to blame, or could this b associated to fate or natural death?
Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:29 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- PaskyWosky at 4-09-2015 08:31 AM (8 years ago)
very unfortunate
Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:31 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nnekysweet at 4-09-2015 08:34 AM (8 years ago)
 Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:34 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dollypiper at 4-09-2015 08:48 AM (8 years ago)
Nawa ooo
Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:48 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 4-09-2015 08:52 AM (8 years ago)
A hospital having NO BED is not a reason not to give emergency treatment.

Its called an ACCIDENT AND EMERGENCY  department for a reason  - and that is to give emergency treatment!

Even in developed parts of the world (which we delight in copying), you see patients receiving treatment in waiting area's, along hospital corridors and sometimes on the floor.  

Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:52 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ignis99 at 4-09-2015 08:53 AM (8 years ago)
OMG
Posted: at 4-09-2015 08:53 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ChineduBlessing at 4-09-2015 09:13 AM (8 years ago)
This is the type of doctors we have in Nigeria, who have no human sympathy.  The doctor should have, at least, given her first-aid treatment first before referring her to another hospital in order to save her life.
Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:13 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- hackynoni111 at 4-09-2015 09:17 AM (8 years ago)
nigeria are trying
Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- favourugochi at 4-09-2015 09:45 AM (8 years ago)
is not fair, at least the doctor could have given her first aid treatment first
Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:45 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- bayonel3 at 4-09-2015 09:46 AM (8 years ago)
this is utter crap... they could have at least given her first aid on bench...phuck bed space

Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:46 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ngfineface at 4-09-2015 09:48 AM (8 years ago)
Chai! May her soul RIP
Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:48 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 4-09-2015 09:54 AM (8 years ago)
So they can't treat her cus there was no bed?Huh? She can be given firstt aid b4 refering her to any other hospital they kn haba. Wats happening in dis country na.
Posted: at 4-09-2015 09:54 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Fashoney at 4-09-2015 10:05 AM (8 years ago)
Everything's jst becoming worst for our government..instead of tackling issues bordering d citizen,na sack dem dey sack..God na ur hand I dey o! 
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:05 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fashoney at 4-09-2015 10:05 AM (8 years ago)
Everything's jst becoming worst for our government..instead of tackling issues bordering d citizen,na sack dem dey sack..God na ur hand I dey o! 
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:05 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 4-09-2015 10:26 AM (8 years ago)
aaaaaah this is sad..... well RIP
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:26 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- franklinseyea at 4-09-2015 10:35 AM (8 years ago)
Rubbish excuses......No space and drugs cannot be administered ... even first aid.
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:35 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 4-09-2015 10:40 AM (8 years ago)
So sad, rip
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:40 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 4-09-2015 10:41 AM (8 years ago)
na wa oooooooo RIP
Posted: at 4-09-2015 10:41 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
[1] 2 3 4