You Can Now Divorce As A Catholic If Your Spouse Is Engaged In Extra Marital Affair Or Abuse You

Date: 09-09-2015 7:47 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 9-09-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago)

Pope Francis on Tuesday radically revised the process by which Catholics may annul their marriages, streamlining steps that many in the church considered too cumbersome and costly.

The move is the latest in a series of reforms by Francis as he seeks to make the church more responsive to the real needs of lay Catholics, especially those who have long felt marginalized by the hierarchy. Without the annulments, Catholics who remarry are not allowed to receive Holy Communion, which many describe as a painful exclusion from the church's chief sacrament.

"This move is in accord with the Pope's oft-repeated image of the Church as a 'field hospital' that goes out to meet people where they are most in need, and then to treat their most serious wounds first -- rather than stay at home and wait for people to come to them," said the Rev. James Bretzke, an expert on papal affairs at Boston College.

The three main changes announced on Tuesday are are:

• Eliminating a second review by a cleric before a marriage can be nullified.

• Giving bishops the ability to fast-track and grant the annulments themselves in certain circumstances -- for example, when spousal abuse or an extramarital affair has occurred.

• The process should be free, except for a nominal fee for administrative costs, and should be completed within 45 days.

The Pope's reforms came Tuesday in the form of two "motu proprio" documents, Latin for "by (the Pope's) own initiative." They become part of Catholic canon law on December 8, the beginning of Francis' declared "Year of Mercy."

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 9-09-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jaykybrain at 9-09-2015 08:00 AM (8 years ago)
Just passing
Posted: at 9-09-2015 08:00 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Machealex at 9-09-2015 08:01 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 9-09-2015 08:01 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Blessed75 at 9-09-2015 08:03 AM (8 years ago)
We dom hear
Posted: at 9-09-2015 08:03 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 9-09-2015 08:17 AM (8 years ago)
Sometimes I dey wonder if truely na dis Man Catholic people take use do there head of D church, dis generation is wasted akreasy
Posted: at 9-09-2015 08:17 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 9-09-2015 08:27 AM (8 years ago)
My Pope, kpacharakwa anyi there. No dey let people talk to catholic people anyhow naa. You have to learn to put things differently and avoid being overly blunt
Posted: at 9-09-2015 08:27 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 9-09-2015 08:30 AM (8 years ago)
hmmmmk
Posted: at 9-09-2015 08:30 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- anthonia406 at 9-09-2015 08:51 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on  9-09-2015 08:27 AM
My Pope, kpacharakwa anyi there. No dey let people talk to catholic people anyhow naa. You have to learn to put things differently and avoid being overly blunt
The pope has not said something strange,bible says the only reason you will divorce your wife is if she commits  adultery,mathew 19 v 9.
Posted: at 9-09-2015 08:51 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- sikilojah at 9-09-2015 08:54 AM (8 years ago)
One day he will tell d Rev Frs to start looking for wife to marry
Posted: at 9-09-2015 08:54 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- china4jessy at 9-09-2015 09:01 AM (8 years ago)

lET HIM BE VERY CAREFUL.  I DON'T LIKE THE HE HANDLES ISSUES SOMETIMES.
Posted: at 9-09-2015 09:01 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maxprimus at 9-09-2015 09:24 AM (8 years ago)
A Pope is an "imago dei"  adage of Christ from Latin world,  I respect him as a Christ representative on earth,  but I equally expect him to be a representative of Christ fully without any prejudice,  Christ spoke against divorce for the fact your spouse still lives,  but Pope Francis is now saying otherwise in order to satisfy the world instead of satisfying Christ who he is representing,  which makes me to wonder if he is really an "imago dei"
Posted: at 9-09-2015 09:24 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- maxprimus at 9-09-2015 09:27 AM (8 years ago)
A Pope is an "imago dei"  image of Christ from Latin world,  I respect him as a Christ representative on earth,  but I equally expect him to be a representative of Christ fully without any prejudice,  Christ spoke against divorce for the fact your spouse still lives,  but Pope Francis is now saying otherwise in order to satisfy the world instead of satisfying Christ whom he is representing,  which makes me to wonder if he is really an "imago dei"
Posted: at 9-09-2015 09:27 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- franklinseyea at 9-09-2015 09:46 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on  9-09-2015 08:27 AM

hmmnnnnnnn I just hope he will hear your side of view
Posted: at 9-09-2015 09:46 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- franklinseyea at 9-09-2015 09:47 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: maxprimus on  9-09-2015 09:27 AM
A Pope is an "imago dei"  image of Christ from Latin world,  I respect him as a Christ representative on earth,  but I equally expect him to be a representative of Christ fully without any prejudice,  Christ spoke against divorce for the fact your spouse still lives,  but Pope Francis is now saying otherwise in order to satisfy the world instead of satisfying Christ whom he is representing,  which makes me to wonder if he is really an "imago dei"

I though as much and am beginning to wonder what is going with this man called pope now adays
Posted: at 9-09-2015 09:47 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- franklinseyea at 9-09-2015 09:48 AM (8 years ago)
Pope abeg read your bible very well and dont mislead people into HELL fire ooooo
Posted: at 9-09-2015 09:48 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bayonel3 at 9-09-2015 10:00 AM (8 years ago)
na dem sabi....

Posted: at 9-09-2015 10:00 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bayonel3 at 9-09-2015 10:40 AM (8 years ago)
what about marrying 2?

Posted: at 9-09-2015 10:40 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sammy1987 at 9-09-2015 10:57 AM (8 years ago)
please poster can we see the video of this post to confirm that what you are telling us is true. because am sure that you are trying to blackmail the pope and the church.
Posted: at 9-09-2015 10:57 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Abgasko at 9-09-2015 11:11 AM (8 years ago)
signs of endtime
Posted: at 9-09-2015 11:11 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- hackynoni111 at 9-09-2015 12:08 PM (8 years ago)
This one serious
Posted: at 9-09-2015 12:08 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7