Private Hospital Allegedly Chains Woman To Urinal Pipe For More Than A Month Over Unpaid Bills

Date: 20-09-2015 9:20 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 20-09-2015 09:20 PM (8 years ago)

A private hospital, which is based in the Ikotun Egbe area of Lagos, detained Jessica Ugwuoke since August 12, 2015, after the woman and her relatives said they could not afford to pay the bill for her Caesarean section (CS).

Mrs. Ugwuoke was transferred from a maternity clinic to Samaria Hospital, which is located on Kudaki Road near Hostel bus stop in Egbe, Lagos State. The patient’s husband, Tochukwu Ugwuoke, was asked to pay N30,000 for blood transfusion into his wife, reported to have lost a lot of blood during labor. The couple’s baby died.

After the loss of her child, Mrs. Ugwuoke has been detained by the hospital for failure to pay the
hospital’s bills, which came to N285,000. The detained patient told a correspondent of SaharaReporters that the couple was not informed of the cost of the Caesarean section until after the surgery.

According to her, one Dr. Clem ordered that she be denied a hospital bed and refused her further treatment after her surgery because she and her husband could not pay the amount of the bill.
“The day they discharged me from the bed, Dr. Clem asked me to tell my husband to bring his money even if he [my husband] has to steal,” the woman said. “I have been lying down on the passageway,” Mrs. Ugwuoke added.
SaharaReporters learned that the detained patient’s husband, who is currently unemployed, had pleaded with the hospital to release his wife, promising to seek a loan to pay her hospital expenses, but the hospital declined his request.

Mrs. Ugwuoke, who is chained to a urinal pipe to forestall her escape, described her treatment as dehumanizing. She pleaded with the Lagos State government and human rights organizations to intervene to ensure her release.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 20-09-2015 09:20 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 20-09-2015 09:28 PM (8 years ago)
ooooooooh
Posted: at 20-09-2015 09:28 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- steveoneal at 20-09-2015 09:37 PM (8 years ago)
Too bad... even if the hospital isnt a charity home. yet there are some situations, you just dont have option than to be merciful.
Posted: at 20-09-2015 09:37 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 20-09-2015 09:50 PM (8 years ago)
this is just to dehumanizing
Posted: at 20-09-2015 09:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hackynoni111 at 20-09-2015 09:51 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: steveoneal on 20-09-2015 09:37 PM
Too bad... even if the hospital isnt a charity home. yet there are some situations, you just dont have option than to be merciful.

exactly
Posted: at 20-09-2015 09:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tina26 at 20-09-2015 10:01 PM (8 years ago)
this is to show you, how much human life worth in that country... is terrible
Posted: at 20-09-2015 10:01 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Mazuanyaegbu at 20-09-2015 10:08 PM (8 years ago)
Is high time nigerians start defending their rights against these wicked, heartless and unprofessional medical doctors by suing them to court. They exploit out of people's ignorance. How come a doctor would carry out an operation on his patience without pre-informing him/her d cost. And beside, d baby was lost. No human sympaty, no value for human life. Their priority is on money! Money! Money! Is a shame.   
Posted: at 20-09-2015 10:08 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- innocentbola at 20-09-2015 10:09 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: beneno on 20-09-2015 09:28 PM
ooooooooh

Can this be true?
Posted: at 20-09-2015 10:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

You are right
Quote from: Hackangel  link=topic=273509.msg4527530#msg4527530 date=1442782251
this is just to dehumanizing

That is too bad
- innocentbola at 20-09-2015 10:10 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Hackangel  link=topic=273509.msg4527531#msg4527531 date=1442782268
exactly

Hmm so sad
Posted: at 20-09-2015 10:10 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- innocentbola at 20-09-2015 10:10 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: tina26 on 20-09-2015 10:01 PM
this is to show you, how much human life worth in that country... is terrible

This is too bad...
Posted: at 20-09-2015 10:10 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- innocentbola at 20-09-2015 10:11 PM (8 years ago)
This is so sad, but the hospital doesn't have the right to hold her hostage...
Posted: at 20-09-2015 10:11 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 20-09-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago)
That's not the case in Nigeria....
Posted: at 20-09-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 20-09-2015 11:00 PM (8 years ago)
Make dem kuku kill am na..
Not one iota of kindness..Hard bastards...
Posted: at 20-09-2015 11:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- chealseafc at 20-09-2015 11:43 PM (8 years ago)
and if i call Nigeria ZOO,
people will be persecuting me.
Posted: at 20-09-2015 11:43 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- otobuluakala1 at 21-09-2015 12:12 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: chealseafc on 20-09-2015 11:43 PM
and if i call Nigeria ZOO,
people will be persecuting me.
just say your mind.for the fact you making the right point.its called quarter to a failed state. Corruption rate,unemployment after spending years in school,security 0% Cultism 100% free and allowed,Nigerian transformation begins in 2050 if even possible.but the transformation begins with you and me
Posted: at 21-09-2015 12:12 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- etiese at 21-09-2015 12:22 AM (8 years ago)
Well such is life. When you are in the hospital pls know that you have to pay. dont make it look like the hospital is wicked. It cost money to operate her so you people should know that. this has nothing to do with Nigeria it done everywhere
Posted: at 21-09-2015 12:22 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- larrychuckz at 21-09-2015 01:02 AM (8 years ago)
she must have tried to escape
Posted: at 21-09-2015 01:02 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chealseafc at 21-09-2015 01:07 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: otobuluakala1 on 21-09-2015 12:12 AM
just say your mind.for the fact you making the right point.its called quarter to a failed state. Corruption rate,unemployment after spending years in school,security 0% Cultism 100% free and allowed,Nigerian transformation begins in 2050 if even possible.but the transformation begins with you and me

agreed bro,
but who is ready for that transformation?.
a country where almost everyone HATE you for saying the truth.
where tribalism and discrimination becomes the order of the day.
a country where the security agents who are suppose to protect
 you are the very ones humiliating, intimidating and disposing you
 of your own belongings.  
a country where you don't get justice at the law court, just because
you cannot afford to buy it at the the judge in your own favor.
a country where the innocents is been used as a scapegoat.
a country where the law protects the rich and convict the poor.
infact, Nigeria is qualified to be called a JUNGLE.
calling it ZOO is understatement.
Posted: at 21-09-2015 01:07 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

4. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,