At 16, This Young Girl Is A Widow - Has 2-month-Old Baby To Cater For

Date: 31-12-2009 8:52 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 31-12-2009 08:52 AM (14 years ago)

DREAMS die fast. That could simply sum up the aspirations and plans that some men of Operation Zanda, the security outfit of Benue State had before death came calling two weeks ago.

One of them called his wife to come over to his base to collect some money so that work could continue on his house which was still under construction. Another one promised his wife that as soon as he came back from the trip, he would buy baby materials for their two-month-old baby. One of them was even not married before his death. Who knows, he might be planning to get married in the new year. Those plans never materialised.

On December 2nd and 3rd, a double tragedy befell the security outfit as some of its officers died on Katsina-Ala/Zaki Biam road and Aliade-Gboko roadin an accident.

Three policemen, two Army officers and an Air-force personnel died in both accidents.

Wives of the deceased officers are mostly housewives. When Saturday Tribune spoke with them, they all expressed worries about the future of their children without their fathers.

Though Governor Suswam of Benue State had called them to a meeting last week Monday in the new-look Government House in order to see what he could do to help them, that was not enough to remove the sad expression written all over their faces.
Paulina Akor, wife of Sergeant Emmanuel Akor, who had put in 35 years of meritorious service with the Nigeria Police, stated that “My major concern now is the training of my six children. None of our children has completed secondary school education and I am a full-time house wife.”

Mrs Akor, who looked confused, recalled how her husband had proved to be a trusted officer of the police. “He was God-fearing and cared for all our needs while he was alive. My husband died in active service,”she said.

Appealing to Governor Suswam, she stated: “It would be my greatest joy if the state government can take over the training of these children because they are all I am living for now. As a full-time housewife, I don’t have the wherewithal to give them good education, but I pray and hope that Benue people would come to our aid.”

For Mrs. Mabel Amodu from Kogi State and her four little children, the world has simply come to an end with the demise of their lovely husband and father.

She disclosed, with tears freely flowing down her cheeks, how her husband agreed to her plan to celebrate the Christmas in her village. “I told him I wanted to go home for Christmas and he promised to give me money for the trip when next he came back. He never came back. He died on Thursday (December 3) while on duty at his station,”she stated.

Fatima, a school certificate holder and widow of Lance Corporal Ishiaku Musa from Jigawa State, remarked that “I want the army to take over the training of our three children to any level. Also, I will want to go to School of Health Technology to go further in my education, but if the army cannot do that for me, they should assist me in establishing a trade so that I can cater for my needs.

“The only man I know, who has been providing all my needs, is no more. When he was alive, he cared so much for me and the children. Only Allah can fill the vacuum he has created for us. I am confused right now. I don’t know what to do,”she said.

Mrs. Helen Kaghkondo, wife of late Corporal Felix Kwaghkondo, was on an errand for her husband in Makurdi when she heard the sad news of her husband’s death.

“He called me on phone and invited me to Makurdi to collect money for the building he was putting up in the village. I am not happy that he died because he was our breadwinner,”Helen told ST

Mrs Gift Naapa, who is 16, said: “He told me that when he came back, he would get all the necessary baby things for our-two-month-old baby when he was leaving. I never knew that was going to be the last time I would see him alive.”

Shuaibu Abdul from Yobe State was, until his death, a trooper with the Nigeria Army. He was yet to marry before the unfortunate incident. His brother, Haruna Saleh, had this to say about him: “He died in active service. He died for Nigeria. His death is a loss to Nigeria.”

As they waited for the arrival of the governor, seated apart from the bereaved were their close relations; the Commander, Operation Zenda; Lt. Col. Warrah Bello Idris; Group Captain Oluwabunmi Akinbayo representing the NAF and other top police officers. The unusual grave silence was only broken when the governor walked in, followed by his top aides including his Special Adviser on Security, Col. Benjamin Aboho.

While listening to the speech of the commander, Lt. Col. Warrah Bello Idris, Gov. Suswam took deep penetrating looks at each of the bereaved wives whose ages range from 16 to 40, exhibiting great concern, especially about the future of the children at a time they needed their fathers’ support and care.

He acknowledged the significant roles the men played through their total commitment to securing the lives and property of residents of the state, noting that most of the late officers were not from the state, thereby assuring the deceased families of the determination of his administration to look into how to provide durable measures that would transform the lives of the children of officers who had died in active service.

He commended the courage and commitment of the late operatives in the discharge of their duties, saying not only the families had suffered the loss but also the state and the nation, while praying for the repose of the souls of the departed.

‘’In the call of duty, they were saddled with the responsibility of protecting us and providing security for us; in doing these, they lost their lives,’’ the governor said.

The late officers were listed as Sergeant Emmanuel Akor, Inspector Joseph Amadu, and Corporal Felix Kwaghkondo; two army troupers, Ishiaku Musa and Shuaibu Abdul; as well as one airforce personnel, Lance Corporal Naapah Daniel.

Two of the deceased had been buried while the bodies of the other four are at the Nigeria Airforce Base Hospital and General Hospital, Katsina-Ala.

Governor Suswam gave each of the wives N200,000 to take care of their burial logistics while promising a more comprehensive package to take care of the families.

Posted: at 31-12-2009 08:52 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PreetyInstinct at 31-12-2009 09:00 AM (14 years ago)
Ok no tyme 2 read stori but who ask her make she preg? ehn?

Posted: at 31-12-2009 09:00 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- esonu at 31-12-2009 09:09 AM (14 years ago)
sorry

Posted: at 31-12-2009 09:09 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- just2sexy at 31-12-2009 01:03 PM (14 years ago)
This nah old news nah.. Why post it now after abt 3wks plus.

Posted: at 31-12-2009 01:03 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Akpan01 at 31-12-2009 01:06 PM (14 years ago)
hmmm its a pity i hope her family go support her

Posted: at 31-12-2009 01:06 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- just2sexy at 31-12-2009 01:08 PM (14 years ago)
Possibly

Posted: at 31-12-2009 01:08 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Akpan01 at 31-12-2009 03:28 PM (14 years ago)
yeh...good

Posted: at 31-12-2009 03:28 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- dirtykid at 31-12-2009 03:42 PM (14 years ago)
too sad ,,, May God direct them better and strengthen them

Posted: at 31-12-2009 03:42 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- blackberryPearl at 31-12-2009 03:43 PM (14 years ago)
first of all, whadafck.........but at the same time i can't say shit cuz one 18 yrs old girl in my honors dorm is married to her army boyfriennd..........
Posted: at 31-12-2009 03:43 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- KleverC at 31-12-2009 06:34 PM (14 years ago)
the girl in the pic doesn't look 16 to me

Posted: at 31-12-2009 06:34 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 1-01-2010 01:26 PM (14 years ago)
chiee, na wa ooo

Posted: at 1-01-2010 01:26 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- adedupcy at 1-01-2010 02:20 PM (14 years ago)
I wish dem d best,God will see u through..
Posted: at 1-01-2010 02:20 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ebemka at 1-01-2010 02:31 PM (14 years ago)
It is wa o!
Anyway, i wish her well.
If she fine, she fit to marry again.
But, if she worwor???
Posted: at 1-01-2010 02:31 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Jonso at 4-09-2011 09:37 AM (12 years ago)
She is too young to be married let alone be a mother. She should go back home to her parents and get a fresh start.
Posted: at 4-09-2011 09:37 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 10-06-2012 11:16 AM (11 years ago)
NAWAHO....@16  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 10-06-2012 11:16 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero