4 Year Old Dies When Mountain Of Fire University's Fence Collapses In Magboro

Date: 09-10-2015 6:37 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 9-10-2015 06:37 AM (8 years ago)

The fence being constructed by a university owned by the Mountain of Fire and Miracles Ministries ─ Mountain Top University ─ in Ilu Oba, Magboro, in the Obafemi Owode Local Government Area of Ogun State collapsed on Thursday, killing a four-year-old girl.

The deceased, Olamide Adegbesan, was said to have slept on a couch with two of her siblings in their parents’ house when tragedy struck.

The university, which secured its licence early this year, had started work on its permanent site, trying to replace its temporary fence with a permanent one.

Olamide’s father was said to have left the house around 5am for work, but the fence collapsed on his
house shortly after, trapping the deceased, her mother, a six-month-old child and two other children.

Speaking with Punch, the deceased’s mother, Mrs. Ayobami Adegbesan, who had not been informed of the death of Olamide as of the time of the interview, explained that she managed to escape from the rubble of the building, which had been levelled by the fence.

She added that she managed to rescue her six-month-old child, while neighbours rescued other children.

PUNCH Metro, however, gathered that Olamide was brought out from the rubble alive, but died shortly after.

Speaking in Yoruba, the mother said:
“The fence had collapsed sometime in June but the engineer reconstructed it and made it a bit higher. It was raining heavily this morning (Thursday) and my husband had left for work around 5am. Later, I heard a loud sound and I felt everything falling on me.
“At first, I thought I was dreaming. I managed to crawl out of the rubble with my baby. I was practically naked with the baby in my arm. I started crying for help, but people did not hear me because of the rain. I began knocking on doors until a few men came out to help me.
“They were able to help me bring my children out of the rubble, they told me they have rushed the three of them to the hospital but I have yet to see any of them.”
An eyewitness, who joined in the rescue operation, identified simply as Ademola, said that the four-year-old did not make it to the hospital, as she died a few minutes after she was brought out of the rubble.

He said the university’s entrance was a few metres away from the Adegbesan’s house, adding that the drainage channel being constructed around the fence could not hold the flood, which brought the fence down on the family’s house.

The authorities of the institution could not be reached for comment as of press time, Punch reports.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 9-10-2015 06:37 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- proly at 9-10-2015 07:13 AM (8 years ago)
Bad news here and there....may his soul rest in peace
Posted: at 9-10-2015 07:13 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- stella1981 at 9-10-2015 07:43 AM (8 years ago)
RIP the dead one
Posted: at 9-10-2015 07:43 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- emma4love3 at 9-10-2015 07:51 AM (8 years ago)
mmmmm another sad story again...the engineer
is a fake one....suppose to consider the people
on the other side by making sure that the drianage
is bigger...instead of making the fence higher
Posted: at 9-10-2015 07:51 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 9-10-2015 07:56 AM (8 years ago)
besides....the family shuldav observed
the fencing and drainage and raze
alarm...RIP to the kid
Posted: at 9-10-2015 07:56 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 9-10-2015 08:15 AM (8 years ago)
Sad one......RIP
Posted: at 9-10-2015 08:15 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- allenspike at 9-10-2015 10:06 AM (8 years ago)
The fence had collapsed before and was reconstructed, which simply means the engineer in charge is a quack..

Posted: at 9-10-2015 10:06 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 9-10-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago)
So pathetic,R.I.P.
Posted: at 9-10-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 9-10-2015 12:24 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmm na wa o. May d littel gurl soul rest in peace. Amen
Posted: at 9-10-2015 12:24 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oways at 9-10-2015 12:32 PM (8 years ago)
RIP Kid
Posted: at 9-10-2015 12:32 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 9-10-2015 03:06 PM (8 years ago)
o, 4 yrs old small child, RIP
Posted: at 9-10-2015 03:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 9-10-2015 03:09 PM (8 years ago)
diz very touchin, dey shud sue dat mountain of fire Church.
Posted: at 9-10-2015 03:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Princewhite1 at 9-10-2015 06:59 PM (8 years ago)
News news

Posted: at 9-10-2015 06:59 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abubu86 at 9-10-2015 08:36 PM (8 years ago)
So sad. Rest in peace
Posted: at 9-10-2015 08:36 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sarah555 at 9-10-2015 08:38 PM (8 years ago)
Rest in Peace Dear  child
Posted: at 9-10-2015 08:38 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 9-10-2015 08:54 PM (8 years ago)
bad news
Posted: at 9-10-2015 08:54 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SOGaiya at 9-10-2015 09:51 PM (8 years ago)
Everyday has a bad news to tel us
Posted: at 9-10-2015 09:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 9-10-2015 10:01 PM (8 years ago)
Well may her soul rest in peace it's just an accidental death...
Posted: at 9-10-2015 10:01 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- bohlah at 10-10-2015 06:50 AM (8 years ago)
What a sad news. It's just so unfortunate.

Posted: at 10-10-2015 06:50 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bohlah at 10-10-2015 06:52 AM (8 years ago)
I think the Engineer should be held responsible for this If proper investigation has been done as to what caused the collapse.

Posted: at 10-10-2015 06:52 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero