Gunmen Assassinate MD of Lekki Free Trade Zone, Tajudeen Disu Over Land Dispute; Ambode Wades In

Date: 12-10-2015 5:24 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 12-10-2015 05:24 PM (8 years ago)
Tragedy on Monday, hit Lagos State, as unknown gun men attacked and shot dead, the Managing Director of Lekki Free Trade Zone, Alhaji Tajudeen Disu.

Disu, who was on inspection of the area in the early hours, was said to have been ambushed by his assailants before he was shot dead at close range, leaving him his pool of blood.

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode (middle) with the Chairman, Lekki Free Zone Development Company, Otunba Olusegun Jawando (2nd left), Engineering Controller, Lekki Free Zone Development Company, Mr. Xig Huang (left), Deputy Managing Director, Mr. Adeyemo Thompson (2nd right) listening to explanations from the late Managing Director, Lekki Worldwide Investments Limited, Mr. Tajudeen Disu (right) during the Governor’’s inspection visit to the Lekki Free Zone, Imobido, Ibeju-Lekki, Lagos, on Wednesday, September 9, 2015.

Reacting to the unfortunate incident, Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, expressed sadness over the loss, even as he appealed to residents of Ibeju Lekki area to give peace a chance by allowing government to carry out projects aimed at bringing development to their communities.

Ambode said, “Under this circumstance, gun shots were used by these villagers within the Lekki Free Trade Zone axis this morning. It saddens my heart and the heart of all of us because this was the person who had been dedicated to the job in the last 10 years, promoting the inflow of investments into Lagos State.

“I have directed the Commissioner of Police to do a thorough job into the killing. I want to appeal to all our people in Ibeju- Lekki to give peace a chance. It is in the interest of all Lagosians that we attract many investors as much as possible to the state, that is what we have been trying to do in the last four months.
“I plead with everybody to remain calm as we get to the root of this unfortunate incident. The only thing that we can appeal to the people is to allow peace to reign, in the free trade zone; that is the only way we can allow more people to be employed in this state.

The governor who expressed conviction that the state was on the right course, added that “I believe strongly on the kind of job opportunities we are bringing into Lagos State.”
Meanwhile, the state Police Commissioner, Mr. Fatai Owoseni, while briefing state House Correspondents disclosed that 10 suspects had been arrested so far, promising that the police would get to the root of the matter as investigation is on-going.

He said, “We have so far arrested 10 suspects and the arrest that were made are those that were directly responsible. We are still in the state of operation. More arrests will be made and we will do a very diligent investigation.

“We will ensure that those people behind the dastardly act are caught. We will go after their sponsors and I can assure you that investigation will be carried out as speedily as possible and diligently prosecuted.”

The MD of Lekki Free Trade Zone Tajudeen Disu was killed this morning October 12th during a Land protest that escalated into a riot in Okunraiye community near Ibeju-Lekki, Lagos.

Eye witnesses say a protest staged by the villagers of the community over what they termed forceful taking over of their land by the Lagos state government for Dangote group, went violent after the deceased invited police officers who shot at them, killing two of the protesters.

The protest became violent, resulting in a gun battle. The deceased was said to have been killed by a stray bullet. The police have taken over the community now and are in search of the killers of Mr Disu.

Posted: at 12-10-2015 05:24 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- greatestdon at 12-10-2015 05:38 PM (8 years ago)
What a gr8 loss. Hmm... RIP
Posted: at 12-10-2015 05:38 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- christianity at 12-10-2015 06:08 PM (8 years ago)
so sad to hear dis,@dis end i wonna xpress my sincere condolence to his entire families for his sudden demise.rip.
Posted: at 12-10-2015 06:08 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 12-10-2015 06:19 PM (8 years ago)
LET THEM QUESTION TINUBU AND OBA OF LAGOS
Posted: at 12-10-2015 06:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 12-10-2015 06:32 PM (8 years ago)
I wish d development d governor is talking abt will touch d life of d pple in ibeju lekki. We are not saying they shld not develop dat area but pls stop selling their lan rich and those rich chemical companies dat will dump toxic there. And if d pple finally give d land to d govt, whr will u relocate them to? Inside d beach surrounding dat land or benin republic. Its unfortunate dat Disu died wit all d policemen he took along to d site.
Posted: at 12-10-2015 06:32 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 12-10-2015 06:35 PM (8 years ago)
Beside they are talking abt Disu dat died. Wat abt d police man who was protecting him dat died along wit two villagers. They are human too na even if they are not rich.
Posted: at 12-10-2015 06:35 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickieponga at 12-10-2015 06:42 PM (8 years ago)
Na wa for obodo naija....
Posted: at 12-10-2015 06:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- allenspike at 12-10-2015 07:44 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 12-10-2015 06:35 PM
Beside they are talking abt Disu dat died. Wat abt d police man who was protecting him dat died along wit two villagers. They are human too na even if they are not rich.
tell them!

Posted: at 12-10-2015 07:44 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sarah555 at 12-10-2015 07:45 PM (8 years ago)
i pity those innocent people that will be arrested and those that died because of this matter. RIP
Posted: at 12-10-2015 07:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lexydon at 12-10-2015 07:48 PM (8 years ago)
Eyah.....  RIP..... hope dey catch d culprit soonest
Posted: at 12-10-2015 07:48 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- allenspike at 12-10-2015 07:51 PM (8 years ago)
You are talking about job opportunities, when you refused to compensate the poor villagers, where do u expect them to go after striping them of their houses?

Posted: at 12-10-2015 07:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 12-10-2015 08:02 PM (8 years ago)
Nawaooooooo killing here and there is becoming too much
Posted: at 12-10-2015 08:02 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 12-10-2015 08:56 PM (8 years ago)
 this my country naija...dnt have good
enforcment to propagate...laws that wil
be very active....just imgine death of NPF member
Posted: at 12-10-2015 08:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 12-10-2015 09:30 PM (8 years ago)
The wicked must not go unpunished
Posted: at 12-10-2015 09:30 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- stella1981 at 12-10-2015 10:48 PM (8 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 12-10-2015 10:48 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- otobuluakala1 at 13-10-2015 01:18 AM (8 years ago)
is only a fool who dont know on how to protect him or herself..yes i agree on anything can happen but try to secure yourself first before any other security in nigeria period chikina
Posted: at 13-10-2015 01:18 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- XTnote at 13-10-2015 03:56 AM (8 years ago)
It's a big shame that Disu will die in such circumstance under the nose of police. May his soul rest in peace
Posted: at 13-10-2015 03:56 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 13-10-2015 07:23 AM (8 years ago)
Can anyone tell us why he was killed? Ppl just enjoy killing ppl anyhow, a man with family gone jst like dat.
Posted: at 13-10-2015 07:23 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 13-10-2015 07:25 AM (8 years ago)
Is it that the man didn't go with security, or he went with a security agents that don't know how to do their job?
Posted: at 13-10-2015 07:25 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 13-10-2015 07:38 AM (8 years ago)
nawa 4 lagos state govt, na onli lekki b d onli place in Lagos dat needz development, watabt other partz of lagos
Posted: at 13-10-2015 07:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu