Don’t Refer To ‘God As He Or She’ The First Ever Female Bishop Declares

Date: 02-11-2015 5:00 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 2-11-2015 05:00 PM (8 years ago)

The first woman to take a Bishop’s seat in the House of Lords has declared that God should not necessarily be seen as a masculine figure. She made this disclosure known Last week while she was about to be inaugurated in the parliament.
“God is not to be seen as male. God is God,” said Rachel Treweek, bishop of Gloucester, adding that God should not be referred to as either ‘He’ or ‘She’, insisting that God is gender-neutral. While acknowledging that many Anglicans would profoundly disagree, Treweek said the Church of England should use both male and female pronouns when referring to God. She personally prefers to say neither “he” nor “she”, but “God”. “Sometimes I lapse, but I try not to,
” the bishop told the Observer.
In the creation narratives, we’re told that God created human beings in God’s likeness, and then it goes on to talk about male and female. If I am made in the image of God, then God is not to be seen as male. God is God.”
“I am not in the business of wanting to offend anyone, but I do want to gently challenge people,” she said, adding that language is “very powerful in shaping people’s views and shaping our culture
”. She has been supported in her comments by Reverend Dr Miranda Threlfall-Holmes, vice-chair of pressure group WATCH (Women And The Church) – which promotes inclusive language in the Church of England.
I’m pleased that Rachel is using her position to make these points,” she said.

“Recently the Church has been concentrating so much on whether we should have women bishops we took our eye off the ball about God. God doesn’t have a gender – God is beyond gender.” As part of the traditional ceremony of introduction, Bishop Treweek will take her place on the red benches after her “writ of summons” is read aloud. She reveals that she sent back the first draft because it referred to her as a “right reverend father in God”. She also rejected “right reverend mother in God,” as it didn’t “sit comfortably” with her, and will be referred to simply as Bishop. “There’s something about the whole connotation of ‘mother’ that has a sense of dependency for me. It’s not how I want to be looked at. I see myself as a leader, as leading from among people” she said.
Creation narratives aside, the Bishop appears to be going directly against the teachings of Jesus Christ Himself, who instructed his disciples to pray to Abba, ‘Father’, and not merely to ‘God’, or indeed to imma, ‘mother’. Therefore the very first line of the Lord’s Prayer, given to the disciples and all his followers as a model upon which prayer is to be built, is “Our Father in Heaven…” In his book on the Lord’s Prayer, author Ronald J. Lavin further points out that use of the word Abba in prayer was very important for Jesus:
Jesus used the Aramaic term Abba [Father] when he was asked by his disciples how to pray. “When you pray, say Abba,” he said. This was the familiar term of affectionate intimacy used by Jesus every time he prayed, with one exception. The one exception is the cry of dereliction from the cross, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” In every prayer but this one, Jesus calls God, ‘Abba’.
Despite showing some ambivalence over applying the term ‘feminist’ to herself (“if it means women wanting to be men – and sometimes that’s a slight feeling of being loud and domineering – then I would reject that”), Bishop Treweek said that the church still has a long way to go on gender equality. “We’re not at a place where men and women are represented in equal numbers across church roles,” she said. “We don’t have large numbers of young women coming forward to be ordained. We have to ask ourselves why that is.” She also criticised the church’s lack of diversity, saying “we’re not where we should be with diversity, particularly with ethnic minorities”. The church, she said, is “the Church of England, and England is made up of people of all colours, genders, different experiences, different social backgrounds.”
Bishop Treweek isn’t the only truculent female Bishop to have hit the headlines recently. As Breitbart London reported earlier this month, the world’s first lesbian bishop, the Bishop of Stockholm, has advised a church in her diocese to remove all crosses from its premises and point the way to Mecca for the benefit of Muslim parishioners.
In her official blog the Bishop argued failing to do so would make the church “stingy towards people of other faiths

Posted: at 2-11-2015 05:00 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mjyabah2 at 2-11-2015 05:13 PM (8 years ago)
So the part of Genesis scripture that says God created man in his own image was a lie according to this fake bishop? And the first man created was Adam. Then, the same Genesis says after God watched Adam so long and observed he was always lonely and needed companion, so he created Eve as companion and help for Adam. What does this fake bishop make of the creation scripture. What church does this stupid bishop go to? End time bishop indeed.
Posted: at 2-11-2015 05:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- musleh247 at 2-11-2015 05:13 PM (8 years ago)
The bible said let us make man in our own image, and man was form n breathed on and he became a living being. If God says let us make man in our own image n likeness and wat dey made was man, dat is to say made wat was like dem.  But woman was made out of d man to be called woman. I think we can refer to GOD as GOD or HIM or HE or HIS
Posted: at 2-11-2015 05:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 2-11-2015 05:23 PM (8 years ago)
We don hear
Posted: at 2-11-2015 05:23 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Bolavivian at 2-11-2015 05:30 PM (8 years ago)
yes God is God and should not be referred to as a he or she
Posted: at 2-11-2015 05:30 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- olowoinlionsden at 2-11-2015 05:46 PM (8 years ago)
Confused Priest. God created man in His own Image should be understood in the sense that God created Animals and other living things,male and female; but when He created man which should be His Own Image, He created him solely. In a period of time, God observed man and noticed he was lonely, and not enjoying the camaraderie of the other Creatures He had created earlier. God the decided to give a Helper yo man to meet his needs, then He created a woman out of the man. The arrival of the woman now turned the Earth into the Hell we now live in, instead the Replica of Heaven God intended it to be.
Posted: at 2-11-2015 05:46 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Spatacuss at 2-11-2015 06:07 PM (8 years ago)
Women with their Desires to take the positions of Man so they could be crown leaders is one of our problems in Churches, Government and Marriage thats why there are lots of divorce cus they want to shear power with Men.
Posted: at 2-11-2015 06:07 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 2-11-2015 06:46 PM (8 years ago)
woman don start again oo... so God na woman abi?
Posted: at 2-11-2015 06:46 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- elchymo at 2-11-2015 07:13 PM (8 years ago)
So all those passages that says "God the father" or when Jesus says "My father in heaven. So father is not male abi? U must be a confused and lost priest. Who ordained you sef?
Posted: at 2-11-2015 07:13 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SOGaiya at 2-11-2015 07:49 PM (8 years ago)
U ar entittled 2ur opinion Bigshop
Posted: at 2-11-2015 07:49 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PaskyWosky at 2-11-2015 09:01 PM (8 years ago)
hehehe, "bigshop" indeed
Posted: at 2-11-2015 09:01 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Carolaer at 2-11-2015 09:19 PM (8 years ago)
God is neither male or female, he is a supreme being. Even at that, the pronoun 'He' is used to refer to him bearing in mind the simple fact that, the man is the head. Mrs. Bishop, na u sabi wetin u dey yaan. Which church do you even attend? Abeg park well
Posted: at 2-11-2015 09:19 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Familyman4 at 2-11-2015 11:17 PM (8 years ago)
1 timothy 2:11=12
Posted: at 2-11-2015 11:17 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- dickieponga at 2-11-2015 11:31 PM (8 years ago)
God made man in his own image...U fool......
Posted: at 2-11-2015 11:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- abcdqwer at 3-11-2015 02:59 AM (8 years ago)
God the Father means male. This people Wan start again to confuse people and from there some will ost their beliefs and back slide.
Posted: at 3-11-2015 02:59 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- mjyabah2 at 3-11-2015 04:36 AM (8 years ago)
Even the primary prayer Jesus taught his disciples is "Our Father (not our mother or our maybe he/she), Who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name, Thy kingdom come, etc". So father that we know in every sense of it is a he not a her. This fake bishop is a lesbo, and she is trying to infiltrate the Christian religion with alternative lifestyle.   
Posted: at 3-11-2015 04:36 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ken1230 at 3-11-2015 06:12 AM (8 years ago)
The white people are now serving Devil.
Posted: at 3-11-2015 06:12 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 3-11-2015 06:35 AM (8 years ago)
I don't want to speak to this bcos my view on this fit make that bishop or people shout"Who be this?"My God is great.
Posted: at 3-11-2015 06:35 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Deprince3 at 3-11-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago)
STUPID ANGLICAN PEOPLE AND THEIR YEYE BRITISH CHURCH, GO TO BIBLE YOU CAN NEVER SEE WHERE GOD SEND SOMETHING AND MENTION SHE  OR WOMAN ,
NONSENSE
Posted: at 3-11-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Deprince3 at 3-11-2015 06:49 AM (8 years ago)
STUPID ANGLICAN PEOPLE AND THEIR YEYE BRITISH CHURCH, GO TO BIBLE YOU CAN NEVER SEE WHERE GOD SEND SOMETHING AND MENTION SHE  OR WOMAN ,
NONSENSE. BISHOP KOO BISHOP NEE
Posted: at 3-11-2015 06:49 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming