Ogun State Government Warn Residence Against Killer "Ponmo" In The State

Date: 06-11-2015 7:50 am (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 6-11-2015 07:50 AM (8 years ago)
The state government alleged that ‘some unscrupulous businessmen’ attempting to exploit the current scarcity of cattle hide and skin used in preparing the, popularly called ‘ponmo’ have resorted to selling industrial hide and skin, already treated with tanning chemicals to unsuspecting members of the public.

The state Commissioner for Agriculture, Mrs. Ronke Sokefun who addressed a press conference on the sale of the unhealthy and dangerous ‘ponmo’, disclosed that such cattle hides and skin had been treated with tanning chemicals such for the production of leather and unfit for human consumption.

Sokefun, however, said the state Ministry of Agriculture and the National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC) had already commenced investigation into the development and had been on the trail of the importers of the unhealthy ‘ponmo’.

The commissioner also disclosed that the officials of the ministry had been in ‘strategic liaisons’ with the state Ministry of Health and the Environmental Health Departments of the 20 local government areas to confiscate the unhealthy ‘ponmo’ from all markets in the state.

Posted: at 6-11-2015 07:50 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 6-11-2015 07:56 AM (8 years ago)
ponmo don becm killer. i dey pity people wey dey eat that thing.
Posted: at 6-11-2015 07:56 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Troublemenot at 6-11-2015 08:15 AM (8 years ago)
This yoro ppl with kpomo sef i no no weda dey take am swear for them
Posted: at 6-11-2015 08:15 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 6-11-2015 08:22 AM (8 years ago)
i beliv one health organistn hav warn us to stay away frm this ponmo before. and stil dey eat ham
Posted: at 6-11-2015 08:22 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 6-11-2015 08:24 AM (8 years ago)
FG should do something abt this before this turn to another thing. this one go hard pass ebola oo
Posted: at 6-11-2015 08:24 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- temi_1 at 6-11-2015 08:40 AM (8 years ago)
pls take action o
Posted: at 6-11-2015 08:40 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- musleh247 at 6-11-2015 08:44 AM (8 years ago)
This one wey dis kind announcement come so, na be say bad market don show for ponmo marketers.
Posted: at 6-11-2015 08:44 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- musleh247 at 6-11-2015 08:47 AM (8 years ago)
Actually there are most things they do carelessly in Africa. In the issue of this ponmo, in Europe where i know, they don't distribute animals skin for consumption
Posted: at 6-11-2015 08:47 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- musleh247 at 6-11-2015 08:52 AM (8 years ago)
If there is anywhere they sell animals skin for consumption, it has to be treated first before taking it for sales. There's always a vet doctors at their slaughter house, and the animals must spend two to three days in th cold room before taking it to the market.
Posted: at 6-11-2015 08:52 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vivianciv at 6-11-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
I no go chop ponma again:o
Posted: at 6-11-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Kemylad at 6-11-2015 09:59 AM (8 years ago)
What kind of rubbish is that. I go to abattoir to but skinned cow, burnt it in my presence and processed it, washed it and I store it in my fridge for consumption. Now you are telling me not to eat it. This is rubbish. It has no cholesterol that's why I consume it.
Posted: at 6-11-2015 09:59 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- AmazingMarie at 6-11-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago)
imagine our fellow country men, just because they want to make money they resort to killing their brethren.
Posted: at 6-11-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 6-11-2015 10:47 AM (8 years ago)
na lie i go chop am!! una dey mad.. ponmo wey sweet die
Posted: at 6-11-2015 10:47 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- zezprincess at 6-11-2015 10:58 AM (8 years ago)
Musleh,I support u jare
Posted: at 6-11-2015 10:58 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- benny0047 at 6-11-2015 11:46 AM (8 years ago)
I love ponmo O... una just wan use style style dicourage ppl from eating it haba.... shey ny by force to wear leather shoes?
Posted: at 6-11-2015 11:46 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 6-11-2015 02:36 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmm na for delta we first hear of dis chemical ponmo last year. Now dem don carry am reach ogun state. Obviously it is already in lagos now. Na GOD go dey help us.
Posted: at 6-11-2015 02:36 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- AmazingMarie at 6-11-2015 03:44 PM (8 years ago)
those who cant do without ponmo please take heed and leave this delicacy for now.
Posted: at 6-11-2015 03:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 6-11-2015 04:44 PM (8 years ago)
How many ppl have u arrested on dis issue...NONE..
Posted: at 6-11-2015 04:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- benny0047 at 6-11-2015 05:12 PM (8 years ago)
Ponmo is our favourite especially the in the picture above
Posted: at 6-11-2015 05:12 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugarwealth at 6-11-2015 05:42 PM (8 years ago)
But we have been eating this animal skin for a long time now and nothing has happened to us so far. Why is it now it is dangerous to the health?
Posted: at 6-11-2015 05:42 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac