Two Ghanaians Arrested in Amsterdam for Pounding Fufu in their Flat on the 7th Floor

Date: 26-11-2015 10:38 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 26-11-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago)

Amsterdam would pass as second Kumasi—with several Ghanaians having made the place their first home because of the high standard of living and countless economic opportunities the capital of Netherlands presents. Of course with such great opportunities and order come the laws which make the country attractive; and everyone living in Netherlands, even if from the Amazon forest or Tuobodom must abide by the laws of the land.
But Ghanaians love their fufu and light soup and though the Dutch do not really have a problem with Ghanaians eating their local dishes, the cooking/preparation must all be done within the laws of the land. The people of Netherlands are extensive liberal and that explains why for many years, places like Bijlmer Arena with a huge Ghanaian population, literally and metaphorically constantly filled with the aroma of ‘Prekese’ still has several whites living there. In spite of the liberal mindset and the immeasurable hospitality of the Dutch, they do not joke with their nuisance laws—the reason why Holland is peaceful, clean and orderly.
For two Ghanaians living at Bijlmer Arena in Amsterdam, the Neat Fufu which almost every Ghanaian abroad have to eat in place of the actual pounded fufu Ghanaians enjoy back home is not enough—to be frank, it does not taste and feel like the real fufu. So after many years of struggling to eat Neat Fufu and their Prekese soup, the satisfaction kept depreciating and the hanker for the real pounded fufu kept growing. Therefore, during their recent visit to Ghana, they managed to bring fufu Mortar and Pestle via KLM to Amsterdam—and around 10pm last week after they returned from work, they started their fufu pounding in their flat on the 7th floor. According to police sources, about 15 neighbours who were being disturbed by the heavy pounding kept calling to report the nuisance. Eventually when the police stormed the apartment, the two had finished pounding their fufu and were settled, ready to eat. They were arrested for nuisance—a warning was not enough, because these same couple had already been warned 3 times, 2 for playing loud Amakye Dede songs at night—and the other, for unnecessary car beeping when they drive past their friends. During the arrest, the couple begged the police to allow them to at least finish eating their fufu and Prekese soup, with crabs swimming all over in the soup. But the police refused because they did not have time to wait around. The two will soon appear before a judge with a short prison sentence and fine hanging around their necks.

Posted: at 26-11-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 26-11-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago)
So funny,Abeg make una leave them,Man must waki(eat)though they are causing public&private nuisance,pls judge dis matter accordingly,they need dia local home made dish for them to survive in dis oyibo land,Abeg.
Posted: at 26-11-2015 10:45 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Haso112 at 26-11-2015 10:51 AM (8 years ago)
Hahahahaha this is soooo hilarious
Posted: at 26-11-2015 10:51 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 26-11-2015 11:13 AM (8 years ago)
Hahahahahahaha oyibo make una learn to eat African food. A trial will concieve u. lolssssssssss
Una go purge so tayyyyy make una release those Ghanaians o. Bright Chimezie don sing for una b4 o
Posted: at 26-11-2015 11:13 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sandra78 at 26-11-2015 11:19 AM (8 years ago)
The story about Fufu and Prekese Soup in a foreign land
Posted: at 26-11-2015 11:19 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 26-11-2015 11:22 AM (8 years ago)
is not new to them..holland is like africa...
Posted: at 26-11-2015 11:22 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nwaafoigbo at 26-11-2015 12:14 PM (8 years ago)
here in spain if im playin music in my car police will stop me say them we give me fine
Posted: at 26-11-2015 12:14 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 26-11-2015 12:31 PM (8 years ago)
ha ha ha na wa oooooooo
Posted: at 26-11-2015 12:31 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- jojo8 at 26-11-2015 01:32 PM (8 years ago)
This is just the problem with we the Africans.We should learn on how to respect the laws of the land that we are living.No one is  asking you not to eat your native food,but pounding yams  inside the house where others are living is beyond imagination in Europe. Just the noise alone.At the end of the day,when these whites will
frown at us ,then we quickly say :oh they are racists. This is just most of our defence.Back in Africa, we don't want to respect the laws and here in Europe, same.Then there's something that is wrong with us.
Posted: at 26-11-2015 01:32 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- jojo8 at 26-11-2015 01:33 PM (8 years ago)
This is just the problem with we the Africans.We should learn on how to respect the laws of the land that we are living.No one is  asking you not to eat your native food,but pounding yams  inside the house where others are living is beyond imagination in Europe. Just the noise alone.At the end of the day,when these whites will
frown at us ,then we quickly say :oh they are racists. This is just most of our defence.Back in Africa, we don't want to respect the laws and here in Europe, same.Then there's something that is wrong with us.
Posted: at 26-11-2015 01:33 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oworen25 at 26-11-2015 01:43 PM (8 years ago)
What is wrong with pounding yam must we eat burger and cheesecake?
Posted: at 26-11-2015 01:43 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 26-11-2015 01:57 PM (8 years ago)
U can't take d bush out of some people...
Posted: at 26-11-2015 01:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 26-11-2015 01:59 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: oworen obong on 26-11-2015 01:43 PM
What is wrong with pounding yam must we eat burger and cheesecake?

Notting wrong wit dat as long as u don't disturb ur neighbours wen pounding....
Posted: at 26-11-2015 01:59 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- jojo8 at 26-11-2015 02:59 PM (8 years ago)
Some of made comments without being logic and reasonable. Someone' says what I s wrong pounding in the seventh floor?Why are we scared of saying the truth?We are not in Nigeria or Ghana where  the rules of laws are not obey.Sometimes, we always blame our leaders for all our problems.But see to how we react to certain issues .
Posted: at 26-11-2015 02:59 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 26-11-2015 03:14 PM (8 years ago)
lolz
Posted: at 26-11-2015 03:14 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- AmazingMarie at 26-11-2015 03:16 PM (8 years ago)
shuooo Ghanaians pounding fufu on the 7th floor haba this is serous nuisance to their neigbors
Posted: at 26-11-2015 03:16 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 26-11-2015 03:31 PM (8 years ago)
so hilarious
Posted: at 26-11-2015 03:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Chericoco at 26-11-2015 03:39 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: jojo8 on 26-11-2015 01:32 PM
This is just the problem with we the Africans.We should learn on how to respect the laws of the land that we are living.No one is  asking you not to eat your native food,but pounding yams  inside the house where others are living is beyond imagination in Europe. Just the noise alone.At the end of the day,when these whites will
Best comment. All africans and african American do is playing the race card. How can someone pound fufu from the 7th floor or in a high rise apartment?  I will call the police too. Nonsense.
Posted: at 26-11-2015 03:39 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Chericoco at 26-11-2015 04:07 PM (8 years ago)
Africans can't follow simple laws. When busted they accuse a white man of being racist. Somalians were chased out of a city in Minnesota just because they turned a neighborhood into a dumpster. They accused the city of being racist.
That's why i don't live were africans live. They are too loud especially when talking on the phone.
Posted: at 26-11-2015 04:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- erhubeauty at 26-11-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago)
They were not just pounding fufu on the 7th floor but pounding at 10 pm. Even if its naija such couples needs to be arrested for causing noise pollution at such late hours. I live in Moscow and there are places you can eat real fufu if you want without disturbance. 80% of this racist issue is caused by we Africans. If you don't respect a country rules and regulations then get back to your country which you know its lawless.
Posted: at 26-11-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Family of Late Sound Engineer Have Refused to Exhume His Body From Riverside Despite Donations

2. How Yahaya Bello Moved $720k From Govt Account to a BDC - EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Narrates (VID)

3. Ondo Police Arrests Man Who Said He Saw Fetish Items in Car of 'Yahoo Boy' & Was Lynched by Mob

4. Our Teachers Are Aware - Students of Lead British School Speak About Bully!ing at The School

5. Another Nollywood Legend, Mr Zulu Adigwe Passes On

6. EFCC Uncovers How Emefiele Printed ₦684.5 Million With ₦18.9 Billion

7. I've Paid IT Experts To Pull Down My S3x Tape Off Internet And Mobile Devices -Tiwa Savage Says

8. 'Kidnappers, Terrorists Don’t Deserve Mercy'- Murdered Professor Says In Last Interview

9. Naira Slumps Against Dollar To N1,300 In Official Market

10. Kanye West Reportedly Planning To Launch Porn Studio

11. Alleged N8bn Nigeria Air Fraud: EFCC Arrests Ex-Aviation Minister, Sirika

12. Photos Of Kogi University Lecturer, Sarinus Kano Killed By Suspected Armed Robbers

13. Men No Longer Lose Weight In The Gym - Lady Reveals Reasons In A Video

14. Victim Of Police Shooting Not Our Student – LAUTECH Denies Report

15. Suspended UNN Lecturer Caught Sexual Assaulting His Married Female Student Arrested

16. Actor, Femi Adebayo's Wife Calls Out Online Aunties Who Come To Her DM With 'Dumb Advice'

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office