Media Aide to President Buhari, Shehu Garba Explains Why His Boss Travels Frequently

Date: 30-11-2015 10:37 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 30-11-2015 10:37 AM (8 years ago)

Garba Shehu, senior special assistant to the president on media and publicity, says President Muhammadu Buhari does not travel for pleasure. He also said the president travels with his “cook and luggage officer” unlike the former president “who travelled with large delegations”.
Reacting to the criticisms that have trailed the president’s trips abroad, Shehu made reference to how Sani Abacha, former head of state, was “despised for not representing his country abroad”. He said Buhari was embarking on those journeys in the interest of the country, saying unlike his predecessor who was fond of travelling with a large retinue of aides, Buhari has brought down the number to a “bearable minimum”. In the delegations accompanying him abroad, President Buhari has slashed the numbers, bringing them down to a tolerable or the bearable minimum,” Shehu said.
He went to the United Nations General Assembly in September with an unbelievable 32 officials in his delegation. These included his cook, his doctor and luggage officer. “His predecessor in office went to the same meeting with 150 officials and family members the year before. “Wherever they are given government accommodation and feeding, members of President Buhari’s entourage receive reduced allowances, thereby saving the government some money. “All trips have been marked by tight schedules. Meeting after meeting, happening back-to-back morning, afternoon and evening. The president has had to travel overnight for some of these meetings.
Shehu said since he assumed office, the president has visited 13 countries, adding that the trips were not meant for pleasure but to discuss serious issues.
Accusing the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) of trivialising the president’s foreign trips, Shehu  said: “If President Buhari is successful as a leader, the PDP will be history”.
There is no reason to be angry with anyone criticising President Buhari for traveling abroad. In politics, even if President Buhari were to bring with him a suitcase full of cash and a pot gold each time he returned from a trip, someone will criticize him, saying that the journey is wasteful,” Shehu said. �
The PDP will kick, knowing that they got 16 years and did nothing with it. Those who didn’t do much during their term of governance will find it instructive to fault whatever the president is doing. “The visit by any president to another country is the highest act in international relations. It sends out a message that that county is important to the visitor. “It is not like your usual vacation abroad. Official discussions involving political leaders, the military, the diplomats and at times, business people are held at multi- track levels. In foreign policy you stand on a quicksand of events and you slip up if take a rest or lose focus. “Governments also know that their achievements at home will be meaningless if they cannot project them abroad. Who or where are the foreign investors,whose hand you are seeking if you can’t travel to meet them? Will they come if they don’t know about the country? “Now, countries such as France, UK, The U.S are supporting Nigeria with intelligence, weapons and training for our military against Boko Haram and the economic saboteurs in the Delta region. “President Buhari will definitely make Nigeria great,what the PDP fooled us for 16 years. “All heads of countries around the world now take Nigeria seriously. His foreign trips are for business, security of the country and bilateral contacts- contacts that get actualised by follow-ups and the love and support a leader enjoys at home and abroad.
“Today the world is in a warm embrace of President Muhammadu Buhari. “Nigerians should be proud of the attention, love and admiration, importance, respect and investment he is bringing to Nigeria. These trips are not for enjoyment.” *I wonder why people are complaining,most Presidents of the world attend all the meetings he attends,Why is it that only Nigerians are complaining?How will  his sitting down one place get anything done?He has appointed people who will see to those things you people want hurriedly done,lets focus our gaze on this people. Even Germany's BundesKanzlerin Angela Merkel is a frequent traveller! This is my two cents opinion,don't waste your browsing time cussing me out for this please.Disagree to agree in peace.

Posted: at 30-11-2015 10:37 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 30-11-2015 11:15 AM (8 years ago)
@ Shehu,I hear!,Upon all these your bla bla bla bla,still no meaning to what ur saying,you didn't tell us smthing understandable rather you go ahead to criticize jonathan regime,ok,all d money wey una de reduce,de minimize,de -re loot,where are they?all d cutting,minimize,reducing,still nothing to show for it,boko haram still de wage war here&there,militant nko,price of fuel,oooooooo!,Abeg shehu if u don't no wat to say to defend ur oga,beta shut up.
Posted: at 30-11-2015 11:15 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 30-11-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago)
hey all of una na thief!!!!!! simple
Posted: at 30-11-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- morgrawl231 at 30-11-2015 11:57 AM (8 years ago)
We don hear u....
Posted: at 30-11-2015 11:57 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- nwaafoigbo at 30-11-2015 12:11 PM (8 years ago)
ok we don hear.
Posted: at 30-11-2015 12:11 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ayodun1 at 30-11-2015 12:11 PM (8 years ago)
OK...Note" Make him no use 9ja money travel 4 pleasure o.. Because if him try am eh... The God of Nigerians go fight o.

Posted: at 30-11-2015 12:11 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ayodun1 at 30-11-2015 12:13 PM (8 years ago)
I think we've had enough of all dis unlike the last government. What is gone is gone.. Enough of excuses. Make una work and let's see how things goes.

Posted: at 30-11-2015 12:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kwamebuyaya at 30-11-2015 12:35 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: zezprincess on 30-11-2015 11:15 AM
@ Shehu,I hear!,Upon all these your bla bla bla bla,still no meaning to what ur saying,you didn't tell us smthing understandable rather you go ahead to criticize jonathan regime,ok,all d money wey una de reduce,de minimize,de -re loot,where are they?all d cutting,minimize,reducing,still nothing to show for it,boko haram still de wage war here&there,militant nko,price of fuel,oooooooo!,Abeg shehu if u don't no wat to say to defend ur oga,beta shut up.
Thank you my friend for saying the truth. How many investors has he attracted by this frequent travels? Many companies are folding, people are losing their jobs, yet this monkey is trying to convince us that "AJALA TRAVELLER" is making progress. They are just clueless, no blueprint to move the country forward only to blame past government. You asked for people to vote for you so that you can work. what then are you still complaining?
Posted: at 30-11-2015 12:35 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 30-11-2015 12:39 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 30-11-2015 12:39 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 30-11-2015 01:19 PM (8 years ago)
I don't have to read all dis rubbish. Of course u must defend ur boss. And pls leave d past adminstration alone and face dis one dat u pple lied to get power. He has more pressing issue than sightseeing abroad in d name of travelling for us. He shld sometimes send his vice.
Posted: at 30-11-2015 01:19 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 30-11-2015 01:21 PM (8 years ago)
I don't have to read all dis rubbish. Of course u must defend ur boss. And pls leave d past adminstration alone and face dis one dat u pple lied to get power. He has more pressing issue than sightseeing abroad in d name of travelling for us. He shld sometimes send his vice. He shld stay in Nigeria be d president not on air and other countries.
Posted: at 30-11-2015 01:21 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chylind5 at 30-11-2015 02:36 PM (8 years ago)
My company is threatening to sack people by December. Nothing is happening in the zoo. Ajala travel is busy touring the whole world
Posted: at 30-11-2015 02:36 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 30-11-2015 02:47 PM (8 years ago)
I think the APC have turned to a talking party without work.
Posted: at 30-11-2015 02:47 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SweetDaddy1 at 30-11-2015 03:26 PM (8 years ago)
Time for elections propaganda is over, tell us what has changed since you came to power.
Posted: at 30-11-2015 03:26 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 30-11-2015 04:34 PM (8 years ago)
He  has to travel to generate bizness for d country...
Posted: at 30-11-2015 04:34 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 30-11-2015 04:49 PM (8 years ago)
what this man is tlking about, pls just forget about this story.
Posted: at 30-11-2015 04:49 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 30-11-2015 04:55 PM (8 years ago)
Mr man just forget about all this, all we knw is that buhari is too they waka up and dwn. na everyday he they travel, for me i knw buhari just want to mak sure he travel to all country in the world before his term end.
Posted: at 30-11-2015 04:55 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ayodun1 at 30-11-2015 06:05 PM (8 years ago)
What else should we expect him to say ? He can't condemn his boss na.

Posted: at 30-11-2015 06:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 30-11-2015 10:36 PM (8 years ago)
Who wan say him mama food no sweet b4?it just a matter of time everyone will speak with one voice and face all you "Rogues."
Posted: at 30-11-2015 10:36 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Wikigenius at 2-12-2015 12:25 AM (8 years ago)
Ursef knws he travel too much, cos i no knw wu asked u
Posted: at 2-12-2015 12:25 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming