Man Arrested With Cocaine at Abuja Airport Says He Did it To Pay for His mum Burial

Date: 16-12-2015 11:45 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 16-12-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago)

A suspected drug trafficker, Ikechukwu Obiabumuo, arrested with 1.5kgs of cocaine, has confessed to the crime, saying he indulged in it to raise money to pay debts he incurred during his mother’s burial. Ikechukwu, an indigene of Idemili South LGA, Anambra State, was arrested with one Osita Ifeagwu and a 31-year-old South African, Sipho Mitshali, by operatives of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency attached to the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja.
It was learnt that 4.7kg of cocaine was recovered from Ifeagwu, while the South African was caught with 4kg of ephedrine and 8kg of methamphetamine on his way to Johannesburg.
The drugs were estimated at N163m. Obiabumuo said he used to trade in electrical appliances at Alaba market, Lagos, before he took to drug trafficking. He told NDLEA investigators that he was exporting the drug to Switzerland.
He said, “I used to sell electrical appliances at Alaba market in Lagos before I travelled to Czech Republic in search of greener pastures. I incurred some debts during my mother’s burial and I needed money to settle the debts. That was why I got involved in drug trafficking.”
According to reports, Ifeagwu, a father of three, said he smuggled the drug to Nigeria from Dubai in anticipation of raising funds to cater to his ailing daughter.
He said, “I am a businessman living at Okota, Lagos. I am married with three children. My daughter was sick and I had spent so much money on her bills yet there was no sign of improvement. That affected my business and forced me into drug trafficking. I was desperate to save my daughter from death. The drug was given to me at Dubai airport, but on getting to Nigeria, I was arrested.”
NDLEA Commander at the NAIA, Mr. Hamisu Lawan, confirmed the arrest, adding that investigation was ongoing.
The South African was caught smuggling 4kg of ephedrine and 8kg of methamphetamine to Johannesburg through Addis Ababa. Ifeagwu imported 263 pellets of cocaine weighing 4.7kg from Dubai; Obiabumuo was apprehended while attempting to export 1.5kg of cocaine to Switzerland through Frankfurt. The cases are being investigated,” he said.

Posted: at 16-12-2015 11:45 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 16-12-2015 11:59 AM (8 years ago)
More money more problems, why didn't you stand with your electronic business who knows if you could have been bigger now, you decide to go for quick money which has landed you on bad trap.
Posted: at 16-12-2015 11:59 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 16-12-2015 12:05 PM (8 years ago)
diz d result of quick money.
Posted: at 16-12-2015 12:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 16-12-2015 12:09 PM (8 years ago)
Which one be suspected Drug trafficker Again ? Person wey them don catch redhanded no be suspect again.just call him Drug Trafficker.  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 16-12-2015 12:09 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teral at 16-12-2015 12:45 PM (8 years ago)
Up biafra  men  keep  it up
Posted: at 16-12-2015 12:45 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- danuy at 16-12-2015 01:14 PM (8 years ago)
give this people there BIAFRA,  so they can stop spolling NIGERIAN NAME
Posted: at 16-12-2015 01:14 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Blessed75 at 16-12-2015 01:26 PM (8 years ago)
give this people there BIAFRA,  so they can stop spolling NIGERIAN NAME

You and Boko Haram dom already spoil Nigeria name so stop fooling yourself
Posted: at 16-12-2015 01:26 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- factfinding at 16-12-2015 02:32 PM (8 years ago)
Every crime has an excuse to give.
Posted: at 16-12-2015 02:32 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 16-12-2015 02:47 PM (8 years ago)
NA WA OOOOOOOOOOOOO IGBO
Posted: at 16-12-2015 02:47 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- proly at 16-12-2015 04:13 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on 16-12-2015 02:47 PM
NA WA OOOOOOOOOOOOO IGBO
okpo...eghu
Posted: at 16-12-2015 04:13 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 16-12-2015 04:15 PM (8 years ago)
Seriously its not the guy fault. perhaps he has reason for doing it as he said. when trouble comes our ways we all have reason for the trouble. they should leave the man alone. Na 9ja cause ham
Posted: at 16-12-2015 04:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 16-12-2015 05:09 PM (8 years ago)
Excuses excuses excuses. Jt to tarnish d country name. Anybody selling or have shop is alaba is rich cus dat is an international market where business sell very well and living in okota is not cheap. lying on his dead mum. May GOD forgive them.
Posted: at 16-12-2015 05:09 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- botlex at 19-12-2015 02:49 PM (8 years ago)
But drug trafficking isn't the only solution. Time to face the law bro
Posted: at 19-12-2015 02:49 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 22-12-2015 08:35 AM (8 years ago)
This is what nigerian turn this man too, its not easy nw to becm a man in this country. perhaps the man really need money for purpose that is why he did what he did.
Posted: at 22-12-2015 08:35 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- moralemike07 at 3-01-2016 02:21 PM (8 years ago)
Why do you allow yourself to be used by the devil. Now see you level, shown all over the internet for the wrong reason.
Posted: at 3-01-2016 02:21 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 4-01-2016 11:41 PM (8 years ago)
bad market
Posted: at 4-01-2016 11:41 PM (8 years ago) | Hero