Man Who Raped Daughter Till She Lost Her Voice Released Without Prosecution; Mum Cries Out

Date: 26-12-2015 7:34 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 26-12-2015 07:34 AM (8 years ago)

Two months after reports went viral that a 37-year-old mechanic, Thompson, segxwally abused his daughter till she lost her voice, the victim’s mother has raised alarm that the authorities had released the man without prosecution.

Thirty-two-year-old Funmi told Saturday PUNCH that she and her children had been living in fear of what Thompson might do to them for causing his woes.

Thompson was arrested after the bizzare case in October when Funmi alleged that her husband had on many occasions raped their four-year-old daughter, Rebecca, in their home in Igando area of Lagos.

She alleged that apart from having segxwal intercourse with the little girl on several occasions, she had
caught her husband inserting his finger into the private part of the girl more than once, all of which had traumatised Rebecca to the point where she could no longer talk.

For reporting the case, Funmi and her children were allegedly threatened by her husband, forcing her to move out of his house.

Funmi said:
“With all that he did, I thought he would face the law. I thought he would be prosecuted for the abominations he had committed. Now, I look over my shoulder anytime I walk on the street. I always tell my children to be careful too. Who knows what he is planning against us?
I fear for my life and that of my children now. After he was released, he went to the school of my children and attempted to take them from there, but the teacher did not release them to him. I did not even know he was released until they told me he visited the school.”
She said Rebecca is gradually regaining her voice.

Funmi, who alleged that her separated husband was diabolical, had explained that the segxwal abuse of their daughter started when the girl was two years old.

She began:
 “It started in 2013 when I suddenly woke up one night and saw my husband removing the panties of my daughter. It was in the midnight. I wanted to shout but I wanted to see what he was up to. So, I acted like I didn’t see him because the room was relatively dark.
“When he pulled down her panties, he looked around and when he felt convinced that everyone was deep asleep, he stood up and moved to where the girl was and dipped his hand in her private part. I screamed.”
The case was reported to the Lagos State Office of the Public Defender, where a lawyer was assigned to handle the case.
“I was surprised that he has been released. Nobody told me anything,” Funmi said.
She told PUNCH that efforts to get an explanation from the lawyer assigned to her case has been abortive.

Director of the Esther Child Rights Foundation, Esther Ogwu, who reported the case to the OPD, explained that the case might have been destroyed by the police when it was transferred to the Department of Criminal Investigation in the state.

She said:
“I can say with confidence that the problem could not have come from the OPD because they don’t waste time in handling terrible cases like this.
“The police were the ones who released him without prosecution. They even called the woman a liar for reporting that her husband raped his own daughter when she was invited to come and give her statement.
It is unfortunate the woman is no longer safe now. She told us that she now runs from one place to another in fear of her husband. I feel sad when things like these happen in our country and the culprits go scot-free.”

When PUNCH contacted the spokesperson for the OPD, Mr. Adeoba Adeniji-Adele, he said he would need to make findings about the status of the case before giving the agency’s official comment on the case.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 26-12-2015 07:34 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 26-12-2015 08:42 AM (8 years ago)
Oh my country. No law at all. D wicked are freed while d innocent wit out money and juju rot in jail. Too bad
Posted: at 26-12-2015 08:42 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- botlex at 26-12-2015 08:44 AM (8 years ago)
The heart of man is desperately wicked, even the bible talk. Well, I think here's more to this, coz a man in his right senses can't molest his 2 year old daughter.
Posted: at 26-12-2015 08:44 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beautysharp at 26-12-2015 08:49 AM (8 years ago)
Not fair now, human rights activists should pls take up this case
Posted: at 26-12-2015 08:49 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 26-12-2015 09:40 AM (8 years ago)
Justice will surely I mean will sure prevail no matter what.
Posted: at 26-12-2015 09:40 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 26-12-2015 10:16 AM (8 years ago)
mm man know man,
Posted: at 26-12-2015 10:16 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- SweetDaddy1 at 26-12-2015 10:26 AM (8 years ago)
Crying for my Country..... Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 26-12-2015 10:26 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- temidgreat at 26-12-2015 10:43 AM (8 years ago)
why are people so heartless; what did he enjoy sleeping with his daughter,, he should be jailed
Posted: at 26-12-2015 10:43 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Giftous1 at 26-12-2015 02:38 PM (8 years ago)
up naija...only in naija...Just pity the lil girl
Posted: at 26-12-2015 02:38 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SOGaiya at 26-12-2015 03:00 PM (8 years ago)
Imagine a worthless father
Posted: at 26-12-2015 03:00 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 26-12-2015 05:23 PM (8 years ago)
This is madness, why sum men are so heartless like this, that is why i like sharia country's. perhaps they might cut the real man of that useless man. and moreover we dnt gud policemen and gud goverment in this country to handle this kind of case.
Posted: at 26-12-2015 05:23 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- henryco at 27-12-2015 12:10 AM (8 years ago)
WHO  KNOWS  IF  THEY  LATER  FOUND  OUT  THE  WOMAN  WAS  LIEING,    WOMAN  CAN  SAY  ANYTHING  IF  THEY  REALLY  WANT  TO  MESS  YOU  UP,,,
Posted: at 27-12-2015 12:10 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- spekay at 27-12-2015 03:17 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: kingsley  mark on 27-12-2015 12:10 AM
WHO  KNOWS  IF  THEY  LATER  FOUND  OUT  THE  WOMAN  WAS  LIEING,    WOMAN  CAN  SAY  ANYTHING  IF  THEY  REALLY  WANT  TO  MESS  YOU  UP,,,

You are absolutely right my man
No one knows the real story here

Posted: at 27-12-2015 03:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 27-12-2015 05:40 AM (8 years ago)
If this is true and not a blackmail to this man then the police are not doing well in that case but if they have investigated that the man is innocent then this is nothing wrong with that.
Posted: at 27-12-2015 05:40 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Zadok1 at 27-12-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Ojomo Temitope on 26-12-2015 10:43 AM
why are people so heartless; what did he enjoy sleeping with his daughter,, he should be jailed
Yoruba men with strange life Barbarians
Posted: at 27-12-2015 10:11 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zezprincess at 27-12-2015 11:01 AM (8 years ago)
Am confused in whole scene,short of words,thorough investigation need to be carried out before final judgement but let's pray the whole thing is all liars or rather frame-up.
Posted: at 27-12-2015 11:01 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- diezo at 27-12-2015 03:51 PM (8 years ago)
NA SO UNA STILL CARRY GIST COME SAY ONE GUY RAPE ONE GIRL HERE ONLY FOR D GIRL TO COME OUT TALK SAY SHE JUST ONE PUNISH D GUY BECAUSE D GUY LEAK HER Nood PICS WOMEN CAN BE DESPERATE AT TIMES JuST TO GET REVENGE AT SOMETHING SO I FEEL DIS WOMEN JUST WANTED TO GET AT D MAN FOR SOMETHING ELSE SO LETS NOT JUST CONCLUDE HE DID IT COS DIS WORLD IS BECOMING SCARY AS D DAYS GO BY يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 27-12-2015 03:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 29-12-2015 10:53 PM (8 years ago)
wtf!!! nawa fr dis our country oo. where d law dey? and again, dis man fit cum harm d woman nd her children oo.
Posted: at 29-12-2015 10:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mopera at 30-12-2015 06:18 PM (8 years ago)
he heart of man is desperately
wicked, even the bible talk. Well, I
think here's more to this, coz a
man in his right senses can't
molest his 2 year old daughter.
Posted: at 30-12-2015 06:18 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 30-12-2015 10:20 PM (8 years ago)
terrible man who can't distinguish other women but on his daughter. defiling the little girl.
Posted: at 30-12-2015 10:20 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

6. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

7. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

10. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

13. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

14. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

15. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

16. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

17. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

18. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians

19. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

20. Lady, Hajara Yusuf Pours Hot Cooking Oil On Man Over N100 In Adamawa