Unemployment Is Crashing Nigerians’ Marriages - DO YOU AGREE?

Date: 04-01-2016 7:19 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 4-01-2016 07:19 AM (8 years ago)

A cross section of Nigerians have decried the alarming rate of break-up of marriages in the society as shown in divorce cases in customary courts.

The stakeholders, who spoke to News Agency of Nigeria, NAN, in separate interviews, expressed sadness over the development, noting that the Nigerian family system was fast degenerating into fragmented society.

Investigation by NAN at two customary courts in Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, revealed that between January 2014 and December 2015, no fewer than 500 divorce suits were filed out of which 468 of the marriages were dissolved.

Speaking on the development, Chief Ademola Odunade, Presiding President of one of the customary courts, identified high rate of unemployment in the country among factors responsible for broken homes.

He explained that most of the divorce cases in the courts were as a result of the inability of the man, the head of the family, to cater for his wife and children.

The judge advised that spouse should always learn to revert to the old practice of using intermediary who could easily mediate when marital crises arose rather than seeking dissolution of their union in court.

Another Ibadan based customary court president and a community leader, Mr Henric Agbaje, said that fading culture of payment of bride price and dowry was responsible for collapse in marriages.

Agbaje explained that though men at that time had many wives because of the nature of their occupation (farming), they still cohabited peacefully and displayed sincerity and tolerance.

The jurist identified disintegration of cultural and family values occasioned by modern trends as among the factors for the high rate of divorce.

In her contribution, Miss Toibat Oladele, a divorcee, noted that investigating one’s spouse thoroughly during courtship was imperative to a successful marriage.

Another divorcee, a banker, who identified herself simply as Morayo, said that her marriage lasted for just 18 months when she quitted.

Some other divorcees who spoke on condition of anonymity identified infidelity, irresponsibility, negligence, distrust and segxwal starvation among the reasons for the break in their marriages.

Mr Mojeed Adeleke, a regular observer of divorce cases at Mapo Customary Courts, said that old spouses who were supposed to be good examples to newly married ones were not doing any better, judging from cases in the courts.

Adeleke frowned at the high rate of divorce cases involving couples in their late 60s and 70s.

He noted that in most cases, the unions had reached four to five decades with their children already grown up and even married. Professor Adeniyi Olatunbosun, the Dean of Faculty of Law, University of Ibadan, said the high rate of marriage dissolutions arose from social problems such as bad economy and intolerable attitudes. He said government should address the challenge of high rate of unemployment in the society to reduce divorce and encourage blissful marriages.

Professor Julius Ademokoya, also of the University of Ibadan, said that cultural, attitudinal and lack of proper understanding of what marriage is all about contributed to the high rate of marriage break up in the society.

Ademokoya, a rehabilitation counsellor, advised would-be couples to always understudy themselves properly and iron out all issues before embarking on the lifelong journey called marriage.

Mr Kolawole Oyerinde, an Ibadan based lawyer, said s that at least five divorce cases were filed daily at the Oyo State High Court.

Another expert, Professor Oka Obono, Director, Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies, CEPACS, University of Ibadan, explained that the context of modern industrial society was largely responsible for setbacks in marriages.

Obono said many marriages crumbled owing to constant mobility occasioned by transfer at work which created disharmony among couples.

The sociologist counseled that couples should imbibe the culture of patience and moral accountability.

Mr Dotun Odebode, an Ibadan based pastor, blamed the rising divorce cases on the refusal of couples to allow God to decide for them through fervent prayers.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 4-01-2016 07:19 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moralemike07 at 4-01-2016 07:30 AM (8 years ago)
Marriages are suppose to last forever just like how it happens in those days. But today, too much civilization has made marriages not to last more than a blackberry battery.
Posted: at 4-01-2016 07:30 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BLACKY77 at 4-01-2016 07:47 AM (8 years ago)
VERY TRUE. FINANCIAL INSTABILITY IS BAD FOR MARRIAGE
Posted: at 4-01-2016 07:47 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- DAMILARE100 at 4-01-2016 08:01 AM (8 years ago)
It plays a role but not in all conditions.
Posted: at 4-01-2016 08:01 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 4-01-2016 08:31 AM (8 years ago)
Unemployment 80% causes divorce&infidelity in marriage,when you can't cater for the family for months,even years,what do you expect from the woman,even if she is working,she needs a helping hand&you the head of the family is the person she is looking up to,but if it is not forthcoming,she will be forced or rather tempted to look for help outside,So govt create works to the youths of this country.
Posted: at 4-01-2016 08:31 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- tyson12 at 4-01-2016 08:42 AM (8 years ago)
Unemployment has nothing to do with marriages,  for better for worst in everything till death show face, women should try and accommodate their husband with or without ,while men should learn not put frustrations on their wives and kids , finish
Posted: at 4-01-2016 08:42 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- tyson12 at 4-01-2016 08:43 AM (8 years ago)
Unemployment has nothing to do with marriages,  for better for worst in everything till death show face, women should try and accommodate their husband with or without ,while men should learn not put frustrations on their wives and kids , finish
Posted: at 4-01-2016 08:43 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Haso112 at 4-01-2016 08:45 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmm the rate at which youths sef dey marry these days na wah.. So I'm never surprised at the high rate of divorces. We too copy oyinbo.
Posted: at 4-01-2016 08:45 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 4-01-2016 10:22 AM (8 years ago)
@tyson12, U JST SAID MY MIND.
Posted: at 4-01-2016 10:22 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 4-01-2016 10:43 AM (8 years ago)
I dnt agree with this
Posted: at 4-01-2016 10:43 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 4-01-2016 10:47 AM (8 years ago)
YES NA , NO MONEY NO MARRIAGE
Posted: at 4-01-2016 10:47 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- christianity at 4-01-2016 01:28 PM (8 years ago)
to some extent
Posted: at 4-01-2016 01:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 4-01-2016 02:38 PM (8 years ago)
 Ok oo
Posted: at 4-01-2016 02:38 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- eric2000 at 4-01-2016 03:41 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: okayson on  4-01-2016 08:43 AM
Unemployment has nothing to do with marriages,  for better for worst in everything till death show face, women should try and accommodate their husband with or without ,while men should learn not put frustrations on their wives and kids , finish
[b]@Tyson..are you sure Yyou live in Nigeria...IN TODAY'S NIGERIA,IF YOU CANT FINANCIALLY SUPPORT YOUR WIFE,SHE EITHER DIVORCE YOU OR SHE WILL SLEEPING WITH OTHER MEN OPENLY...SO CHOOSE ONE...THESE PROSTITUTES THAT ARE CLAIMING TO BE WIVES TODAY ARE ONLY INTERESTED IN MONEY...I KNOW 3 PEOPLE WHOSE WIVES LEFT THEM IN 2015 WITH KIDS AFTER THEY LOST THEIR JOB IN NIGERIA...[/b]
Posted: at 4-01-2016 03:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenosas at 4-01-2016 05:23 PM (8 years ago)
this is a huge problem in our society today and for my our perspective the reasons of marriage crumble are these:- (1) intolerable among the youths   (2) social vices    (3) laziness or idleness  (4) too much children making    ( 5) no fear of God  (6) imitation and unsatisfiable.
Posted: at 4-01-2016 05:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 4-01-2016 05:35 PM (8 years ago)
Na wah oooooo

Posted: at 4-01-2016 05:35 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 4-01-2016 08:45 PM (8 years ago)
The unemployment issue is to an extent,when searching for your spouse,always pray for your bone of bone and flesh of flesh and make sure u both court for some years b4 walking to the alter.
Posted: at 4-01-2016 08:45 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 7-01-2016 09:41 AM (8 years ago)
Not only that but lots of other lingering factors
Posted: at 7-01-2016 09:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mopera at 10-01-2016 08:07 PM (8 years ago)
Unemployment has nothing to do
with marriages,  for better for
worst in everything till death
show face, women should try and
accommodate their husband with
or without ,while men should learn not put frustrations on their wives
and kids , finish @Tyson..are you sure Yyou live in Nigeria...IN TODAY'S
NIGERIA,IF YOU CANT
FINANCIALLY SUPPORT YOUR
WIFE,SHE EITHER DIVORCE
YOU OR SHE WILL SLEEPING
WITH OTHER MEN OPENLY...SO CHOOSE ONE...THESE
PROSTITUTES THAT ARE
CLAIMING TO BE WIVES
TODAY ARE ONLY INTERESTED
IN MONEY...I KNOW 3 PEOPLE
WHOSE WIVES LEFT THEM IN 2015 WITH KIDS AFTER THEY
LOST THEIR JOB IN NIGERIA...[/
Posted: at 10-01-2016 08:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 12-01-2016 03:26 AM (8 years ago)
I really agree with you because if you get job how you wan take survive in this kind of place
Posted: at 12-01-2016 03:26 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

3. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

4. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

5. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

6. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

7. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

8. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

9. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

12. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

13. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

14. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

15. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor