Keeping track of
everything you eat can help
you lose weight, but it isn't
always as easy to track your
every snack and sip as it is to,
say, clock how long you jogged today. But now, new
gadgets aim to make food
tracking easier and more
precise. One gadget, called DietSensor, claims to be able to scan your food with a beam
of light and tell you its
nutritional content, such as
how much protein, fat and
carbohydrates it contains. It
does this by analyzing how the molecules in the food interact
with the light, according to the
company, which presented the device here at CES. It works like this: The scanner
sends an infrared beam onto
the surface of the food. This
causes the molecules in the
food to vibrate, and produce
an optical signature that is unique for that food, the
company says. But there's a catch — the
scanner only works for
homogeneous food, or food
with one layer. So it would be
able to scan a slice of bread,
cheese or chicken, but not a chicken sandwich. You also
have to manually enter the
portion size. There is a
database for nonhomogenous
foods, which you can use to
manually log food, athough this basically works the same
way as existing food apps, like
MyFitnessPal. [The Best Calorie Counter Apps] Still, the DietSensor app
displays the nutritional content
of the food you scan, and also
provides advice based on your
goals or the conditions you
have, such as diabetes or high cholesterol, the company says. The scanner, which was
developed by a company
called ConsumerPhysics, is
available for preorder at $249.
The DietSensor app will launch
in September. Another new
product doesn't
track your food,
but instead keeps
track of how
much water you drink, with the
goal of keeping
you hydrated. The
smart water
bottle, called HidrateSpark, contains a sensor
that can tell how
much water you
drink, and
connects with an
app on your smartphone. The app also
gives you a
personal goal for
how much water you should
drink, based on an equation
that takes into account your age, height, weight, gender
and even the ambient
temperature and humidity, the
company says. The equation
will also take into account your
activity level if you allow the app to access data from a
wearable device like a fitness
tracker or pedometer. (You
can also input your activity
level manually.) A tube within the water bottle
glows to remind you to drink
more, the company says. The
bottle costs $60, and can be
ordered now, although the
device won't ship until March, the company says. There's also the Smart Diet Scale, which allows you to weigh your food, letting you
more precisely calculate the
calories and nutrients in your
meal than if you just eyeballed
it, the company says. Users
put an item on the scale, like fresh chicken, and then can
either scan a bar code for the
item, which would find the item
automatically, or manually
enter the name of the item in
the app. The app contains nutritional
information for more than
400,000 items with UPC
codes, the company says. The
scale is also sectioned into
quadrants for users to weigh up to four items at once. The
Smart Diet Scale is available
now, and costs $150.

Posted: at 8-01-2016 06:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 10-01-2016 09:23 AM (8 years ago)
OGA POSTER, NA DEIR ENIOLA BADMUS U SUPPOSE DEY TELL ALL DIS STORY
Posted: at 10-01-2016 09:23 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 3-03-2016 11:51 PM (8 years ago)
hehehe yes is good
but for the fat people
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:51 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 14-03-2016 01:00 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmm,naija pple no da check dis knd tins oo
Posted: at 14-03-2016 01:00 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 29-06-2016 09:37 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 29-06-2016 09:37 PM (7 years ago) | Hero