Controversy trails missing $100,000 aboard Arik flight to Abuja

Date: 12-01-2010 8:34 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 12-01-2010 08:34 AM (14 years ago)
The Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA) Command of the Nigeria Police has commenced full investigations into the allegation of missing $100, 000 stashed alongside another $250, 000 in a hand luggage aboard an Arik Air flight on December 31, 2009 by Salome Garba, a female Regional Manager, in one of the leading third generation commercial banks.

The woman, Saturday Sun learnt, raised an alarm on arrival in Abuja when she claimed $100, 000 was removed out of the $250, 000, which the airline has since described as frighteningly strange.

According to the woman, on arrival in Abuja, she noticed the position of the padlock on her bag had changed and later on saw that $100, 000 has been removed.

According to a source from the airline, the woman had a carry-on baggage, which could not enter the overhead compartment of the aircraft.

“So her bag was taken from her and tagged and then loaded in the belly of the airplane. She took the bag on arrival, which was intact and she left for town. Some hours later, she raised an alarm on the matter and the police have since questioned some of our staff and those of SAHCOL,” the source explained.

Also speaking on the matter, the Commissioner of the Airport MMIA Command, Mr. Danazumi Doma, who confirmed the alarm raised by the woman, said the command is on top of the situation, adding that the outcome of the investigation would determine if there was theft aboard the airplane or not.

However, Garba explained in her statement to the police that she checked in with her luggage and a bag for an Arik flight to Abuja at the General Aviation Terminal (GAT) wing of the Lagos Airport, but she was informed that she could not be allowed to board with the said luggage because it could not enter the overhead lockers since the aircraft is small.

But, she explained that she got to Abuja and realized that $100,000 out of the $250,000 had been removed, which prompted her to report the incident to the police.

Her statement to the police reads: “I am Salome Garba, a banker with UBA and 45 years old. I checked in with my luggage to board flight 271 Arik Air from Lagos GAT en route Abuja, international. I had one piece of carry on luggage and a bag. At the foot of the plane I was informed that the luggage could not be allowed as the plane, being a small one, the over head lockers would not carry it because the plane is small.

“I tried to insist but I was advised to simply padlock the luggage and that they would ensure my luggage got to Abuja safely. I said I would wait near the plane till I saw it put on, but I was refused and told to board and on arrival. I waited to collect my luggage, but I was informed I could not collect it on the tarmac. However, I insisted and waited till I sighted the bag on the ramp before proceeding to the arrival hall to wait for the bag.

“When the bag arrived, I noticed that the position of the padlock had been changed, but was still locked by the handle, which had been broken. As soon as I drove off and checked the bag, I found out that $100, 000 two bundles had been removed from the bag.”

The Airport Police commissioner explained that investigations are on going on the development, with a view to ascertain the veracity of the claims.

Doma said: “We are yet to ascertain the veracity of such claims that is why we have launched an inquiry. We are carrying out investigations to know who was involved, how much and how the whole thing happened. All the people, including Arik staff that were arrested or invited for questioning have been released.”

Posted: at 12-01-2010 08:34 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- black_samurai at 12-01-2010 11:09 PM (14 years ago)
She is supposed to be questioned herself. How come she did not declare the amount she was carrying with her and how did she get that money? If the lock was broken when she took it at the airport, why didn't she raise question immediately only to raise alarm hours after leaving the airport? Whose money is it?

Posted: at 12-01-2010 11:09 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Andes at 12-01-2010 11:22 PM (14 years ago)
Just arrest the woman.
Posted: at 12-01-2010 11:22 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- vantheo at 13-01-2010 08:57 AM (14 years ago)
Lol she's been hustled

Posted: at 13-01-2010 08:57 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Skipo4u at 13-01-2010 09:37 AM (14 years ago)
passing
Posted: at 13-01-2010 09:37 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Agatex at 13-01-2010 12:08 PM (14 years ago)
why was she carrying such a huge amount of money even when she is bank staff dont she know the right thing to do?,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,hiss
Posted: at 13-01-2010 12:08 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- black_samurai at 13-01-2010 01:01 PM (14 years ago)
She's trying to dupe the bank.

Posted: at 13-01-2010 01:01 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- omatu at 13-01-2010 02:38 PM (14 years ago)
Things like that can happen.  I had a locked baggage travelling internally in Nigeria and I lost things inside the bag.  They even tore open my daughters doll and ripped its head off.  I guess they were hoping that money was inside the doll.  If she expected to have her carry on luggage taken away from her in the first place, she would have put the money inside her purse instead.  She is lucky that they left her some money or perhaps they did not see the remaining money.

Posted: at 13-01-2010 02:38 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- atutu_greatest at 13-01-2010 04:03 PM (14 years ago)
WHAT WILL A BANKER BE DOING WITH SUCH AMOUNT OF MONEY.IF I WERE THE ONE THAT SAW THE MONEY I TAKE EVERYTHING.AM SURE SHE WAS HELPING A POLITICIAN STEAL SOME MONEY NO DOUBT.ALL CONS ARE EQUAL.
Posted: at 13-01-2010 04:03 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- aliaaz at 13-01-2010 06:05 PM (14 years ago)
She was lucky i wasn't the person dat saw the money...if not i would have collected both the money and her luggage...cos dis na thief come steal from another thief.

Posted: at 13-01-2010 06:05 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omatu at 13-01-2010 06:23 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: aliaaz on 13-01-2010 06:05 PM
She was lucky i wasn't the person dat saw the money...if not i would have collected both the money and her luggage...cos dis na thief come steal from another thief.

LOL
Posted: at 13-01-2010 06:23 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mumstick at 13-01-2010 09:19 PM (14 years ago)
IS SHE SURE SHE IS A NIGERIAN?!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 13-01-2010 09:19 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- black_samurai at 13-01-2010 09:37 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: mumstick on 13-01-2010 09:19 PM
IS SHE SURE SHE IS A NIGERIAN?!!!!!!!!!!!

What do you mean?

Posted: at 13-01-2010 09:37 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- meczytimber at 14-01-2010 04:17 AM (14 years ago)
very good, a bank staff,  they say
use check or travells check
see this one
okay i get it
she wants to use the money for important thing abi?
good for her,
if na see am i no go give her,
thiefssssssssssssssss

Posted: at 14-01-2010 04:17 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedee at 14-01-2010 08:45 AM (14 years ago)
SHE DON PAY HER DUE. IT'S JUST DAT D COLLECTOR[THIEF] IS VERY CRUEL.
Posted: at 14-01-2010 08:45 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Walubad at 14-01-2010 09:58 AM (14 years ago)
the story sound strange, a bloody thief will never leave anything for the owner, remember the parpetrator must be a common luggage loader if it aqctually happen withing the airport, quarter of a million dollar will absolutely change his life
Posted: at 14-01-2010 09:58 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- yugokings at 14-01-2010 11:24 AM (14 years ago)
who konw where she lost money it may not be in the air port.
it maybe where she take the money form or she meight lost it at her house
Posted: at 14-01-2010 11:24 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- eeoboh at 14-01-2010 11:36 AM (14 years ago)
a banker for that matter? she should know what to do. credit card, ATM, what ever  Huh?
Posted: at 14-01-2010 11:36 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- femybaf at 14-01-2010 12:06 PM (14 years ago)
it sure serves her right cos am sure she must av stolen the money herself or why do you think she has to carry so much cash in transit when she is supposed to know MOST?
Posted: at 14-01-2010 12:06 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- chogzie at 14-01-2010 01:23 PM (14 years ago)
arrest her
Posted: at 14-01-2010 01:23 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac