Check Out 7 English Words Nigerians Use Everyday Which Don’t Exist In The Dictionary

Date: 05-02-2016 9:30 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 5-02-2016 09:30 PM (8 years ago)

Here are 7 words Nigerians use every day which don’t exist. These are the kind of words you type into your phone or computer and it draws a red line underneath it.

Please read on and educate yourself.

(1.) GO- SLOW Although the word ‘go-slow’ appears in the dictionary, it is wrongly used by many Nigerians. The word go-slow means a form of industrial action in which work or progress is deliberately delayed or slowed down. It does not mean congested traffic, so it is wrong to use it in that way.

(2.) INSTALMENTALLY There is no such word in the English dictionary, this word exists only in the Nigerian edition dictionary (if such a book exists). The correct thing to say is ‘in installments’

(3.) OPPORTUNED How many times do you say ‘I was not opportuned to come’? The correct variants that exist are ‘opporteune’ or ‘opportunity’. The word ‘opportune’ has no past tense.

(4.) CUNNY “That guy is very cunny”. This is wrong, the word is ‘cunning’, not cunny. If you want to refer to someone who is sly or deceitful, use the word ‘cunning’, ‘cunny’ simply does not exist.

(5.) WAKE-KEEPING I’m sure most people will argue with this, but argue as you may, what you will find in the dictionary is ‘wake- keep’.

6.) SCREENTOUCH PHONE Oyinbo people made these devices and called it ‘touchscreen’, by the time the phones go enter Naija, we rename them ‘screen touch’

(7.) DISVIRGIN No, you did not dis virgin that babe, you deflowered her, you took away her virginity, but you certainly did not disvirgin her, because the word ‘disvirgin’ simply does not exist!

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 5-02-2016 09:30 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 5-02-2016 09:38 PM (8 years ago)
woah.... dat is my daily words ooooo . even toda I was opportuned to use dem ......lol
Posted: at 5-02-2016 09:38 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ennyolalekan at 5-02-2016 09:39 PM (8 years ago)
woah.... dat is my daily words ooooo . even today I was opportuned to use dem ......lol
Posted: at 5-02-2016 09:39 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 5-02-2016 10:04 PM (8 years ago)
Thank you my english teacher for those corrections,I appreciate.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:04 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 5-02-2016 10:06 PM (8 years ago)
OGA POSTER, ANY HW U LIKE TALK AM OO. ALL WE KNOW B SAY NO WAKEKEEPING FR DOSE BOKO BOYZ WEN SOLDIERZ KILL.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 5-02-2016 10:16 PM (8 years ago)
Come poster, we have right to our own English or let me say pigin English too o. Lolssss
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:16 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 5-02-2016 10:25 PM (8 years ago)
They are true but Naija na Naija he dey our blood atleast we are opportuned to instalmentally go slow during wake keeping,  dia is no cunny way of using touchscreen phone u can't disvirgin it u must touch d screen.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:25 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 5-02-2016 10:29 PM (8 years ago)
Poster,all this word wey you mention nah wetin I like and I don dey use to them,so wetin you advise me do now?nah Go-slow you just wan cause for my Screen touch phone with this your Cunny posting on Installmental basis. lafffffffff.....
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:29 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 5-02-2016 10:35 PM (8 years ago)
and so poster!! are you from CAMBRIDGE?
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:35 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- kp45 at 5-02-2016 10:43 PM (8 years ago)
Ok I will convey your post to my nephew and niece or the word "convey" don't exist.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:43 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emma4love3 at 5-02-2016 10:46 PM (8 years ago)
hahahaha....poster u correct finish
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 5-02-2016 10:47 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 5-02-2016 10:48 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:48 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- henryco at 5-02-2016 10:52 PM (8 years ago)
you  are  very  right
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:52 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ololababs at 5-02-2016 10:54 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Timothy Eazy on  5-02-2016 10:25 PM
They are true but Naija na Naija he dey our blood atleast we are opportuned to instalmentally go slow during wake keeping,  dia is no cunny way of using touchscreen phone u can't disvirgin it u must touch d screen.
[/quo2te]

Talent
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:54 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- sagiru at 5-02-2016 11:04 PM (8 years ago)
@poster::::::- I don't know which kind dictionary you are using, but "CUNNY" & DISVIRGING" are there with the full meaning, kindly go back and research before posting please. Thnx
Posted: at 5-02-2016 11:04 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Machealex at 5-02-2016 11:23 PM (8 years ago)
As all dis our Oyibo no dey dictionary. Please Mr poster find a place to fix dem, cus me I no go stop using dem.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 11:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 5-02-2016 11:52 PM (8 years ago)
Nice one bro
Posted: at 5-02-2016 11:52 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 5-02-2016 11:59 PM (8 years ago)
Nice one bro
Posted: at 5-02-2016 11:59 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dollar22 at 6-02-2016 12:40 AM (8 years ago)
This poster cunny die
Posted: at 6-02-2016 12:40 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac