FOH! See Presidency Response To The #NigeriansAreNotCriminals Interview By Buhari

Date: 09-02-2016 11:12 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 9-02-2016 11:12 PM (8 years ago)
The State House has described as misconstrued, the various interpretations of President Muhammadu Buhari's comments in an interview granted to the UK's Telegraph newspaper on February 5, 2016.

In a statement released in Abuja on Tuesday, February 9, Malam Garba Shehu (Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity) noted that the wave of negative reactions to the President's remarks about the reputation of Nigerians abroad was as a result of an incomplete understanding of President Buhari's point.

"President Buhari was asked about the flood of migrants from Nigeria and the fraudulent applications for asylum put in by people desperate to leave their motherland at any cost, and it was this question that elicited his response," he said, encouraging Nigerians to avail themselves of a full text of the interview, which has now been made available on the Telegraph's website.

Malam Shehu added that it was preposterous for anyone to imagine that the President of Nigeria would describe all the citizens of the country he leads as criminals, when he himself is a Nigerian--obviously not a criminal--and when there are many Nigerians of honest living making their country proud all over the world.

"Unfortunately, there are also Nigerians giving their country a bad image abroad, and it is to those Nigerians that the President referred in his comments," he said, adding that people may play politics and online games with the President's comments, but the fact of the matter remains that Nigeria's reputation abroad has been severely damaged by her own citizens.

"These Nigerians who leave their country to go and make mischief on foreign shores have given the rest of us a bad reputation that we daily struggle to overcome."

Malam Shehu called attention to the many efforts of President Buhari to clean up the image of Nigeria, such as the war on corruption, stating that acknowledging you have a problem is the first step to preferring a solution.

"President Buhari is very aware of the problems the people of Nigeria face both at home and abroad, and he is not shying away from admitting them even as he focuses on solutions to bring them to a permanent end."
Garba Shehu
SSAP(Media and Publicity)
Abuja.09-02-16.

Posted: at 9-02-2016 11:12 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 9-02-2016 11:21 PM (8 years ago)
BUHARI NA WA FOR U!! U BE HEAD OF CRIMINAL BE THAT ABOKI!!!!
Posted: at 9-02-2016 11:21 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- maxzy277 at 9-02-2016 11:35 PM (8 years ago)
God bless Nigeria & Nigerians
Posted: at 9-02-2016 11:35 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 9-02-2016 11:37 PM (8 years ago)
Just admit your mistake my friend, your president don't know how to harmonise English language in other to sound good and non provocative in the minds of the listeners just because his academic background didn't cover that area. Thanks. He should try to be reading from a written script  next time.
Posted: at 9-02-2016 11:37 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- willyking at 9-02-2016 11:40 PM (8 years ago)
This malam shehu sound more confuse than buhari him self
Posted: at 9-02-2016 11:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 9-02-2016 11:48 PM (8 years ago)
God help us all.
Posted: at 9-02-2016 11:48 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dynasty4all at 9-02-2016 11:56 PM (8 years ago)
SO BUHARI DEY SPEAK LIKE PATRICK OBAHIAGBON WEY BE SAY WE NO DEY UNDERSTAND?
Posted: at 9-02-2016 11:56 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 10-02-2016 12:08 AM (8 years ago)
Illiterate how can understood
Posted: at 10-02-2016 12:08 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sonofman25 at 10-02-2016 12:30 AM (8 years ago)
make una free this man jooor!
Usually, this is what happens when people who claim to
speak and write in english don't actually 'understanding'
english or intentionally twist or change meaning to suit their
interest! This is unfair!
I will start by saying what he said is the 'Plain truth', and
what do you expect? People don't like the truth! Come and
see daily increasing numbers of Nigerians seeking asylum, consequently giving Nigeria bad name and image. so
tell me now, who is doing the damage? Is it Buhari telling
them to stop or the asylum seekers doing the damage?
1. He said in his statement 'Some Nigerians' not 'All
Nigerians' - Yes, not all Nigerians in Europe want to stay
back in no man's land...
2. He never mention that Nigerians are 'Criminals' - Selfish
people changed his intentions to that. Haba! which
president in his right sense will call his citizens criminals in
presence of international world?
3. He said 'Accused of' but never said 'Are drug and human
traffickers' .
Candidly, this is no issue and worth no debating.....
Moreover Nigerian's image in international world is already
obvious and glaring to all...
This is no campaign but plain truth....
....#FreePMB.
Posted: at 10-02-2016 12:30 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- yadeolah at 10-02-2016 12:34 AM (8 years ago)
Thank you 4 the clarification, but the real criminals will find it offensive no matter what you say.   Cool
Posted: at 10-02-2016 12:34 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- showskill at 10-02-2016 02:41 AM (8 years ago)
I DIDN'T EXPECT ANY NIGERIAN LEADER HAVE RIGHT TO QUESTION NIGERIANS INDIVIDUALS COMMITTING CRIMES OUT NIGERIA COZ YOU DEVIL LEADERS LEAD US TO THAT STAGE AND YOU OPEN OUR EYES TO CRIMES SO BUHARI AND CO SHLD GO AND BURIAL THERE SELVES ALIVE BASTARD LEADERS IS ADVICE US HOW TO LIFE OUR WITH OUT YOU PEOPLE SHOW GOOD EXAMPLES !!! F..U..C..K YOU ALL EVIL LEADERS !!!!!!!!!!!!!! 
Posted: at 10-02-2016 02:41 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ujmaria at 10-02-2016 02:52 AM (8 years ago)
You guys are confused
Posted: at 10-02-2016 02:52 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- baloayo at 10-02-2016 03:39 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Lawal Adesina-Ayomi on 10-02-2016 12:30 AM
make una free this man jooor!
Usually, this is what happens when people who claim to
speak and write in english don't actually 'understanding'
english or intentionally twist or change meaning to suit their
interest! This is unfair!
I will start by saying what he said is the 'Plain truth', and
what do you expect? People don't like the truth! Come and
see daily increasing numbers of Nigerians seeking asylum, consequently giving Nigeria bad name and image. so
tell me now, who is doing the damage? Is it Buhari telling
them to stop or the asylum seekers doing the damage?
1. He said in his statement 'Some Nigerians' not 'All
Nigerians' - Yes, not all Nigerians in Europe want to stay
back in no man's land...
2. He never mention that Nigerians are 'Criminals' - Selfish
people changed his intentions to that. Haba! which
president in his right sense will call his citizens criminals in
presence of international world?
3. He said 'Accused of' but never said 'Are drug and human
traffickers' .
Candidly, this is no issue and worth no debating.....
Moreover Nigerian's image in international world is already
obvious and glaring to all...
This is no campaign but plain truth....
....#FreePMB.

You are stupid and out of your mind for making all your useless statement. you might be furtunate and have your game tight but do you know how many nigerians are suffering because of Buhari and his greed for money? he has turn nigeria into something else that a common man can not live with what they have, to add to it you gotta pay N50 for transactions carried out and all his useless rules he has brought to nigeria. Godlike Jonathan is bad they say but people lived happily when he ruled and other embassies was not filled up with nigerians seeking to depart from nigeria totally and bear the name of another country.

Its fine as bad thing is good for you may it follow you and your generations. Idiots
Posted: at 10-02-2016 03:39 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- WhaleDog at 10-02-2016 03:45 AM (8 years ago)
It's unarguable that Nigerians are mostly criminals or with intent to be .This is as a result of the society lacking in infrastructure and social provisions.Some Nigerians may see this comment by the president as contemptuous but the reality clarifies it's objective.No and I repeat none is exempt of criminal mindset in Nigeria ,A place where corrupt practices as become a daily norms.Every Nigeria want to drive the wheel or fly in private jet overnight,at place of worship pastor preached wealth ,all because of ferocious poverty in the society ,where there's shortage of infrastructure facilities or social facilities the few that have this facilities in their respective home is seen as oppressive or opportune ,nevertheless those that are deprived of this basic human needs strive at all cost to elevate their standard even when there's no principal platform or source or ability to do so.Therefore ,the majority resolved to stealing ,drugs ,kidnapping ,drug dealing,smuggling and all encompassing in criminal activities .I think government has big role to play in this .Government should invest in its people ,human capital investment .Give the ordinary man hope by provision of common basic daily commodities.Create wealth by paying even little stipend to encourage distorted and destitute in our society.Nigeria will not anticipate for much if they are not seen the surrounding how the riches and filthy rich and the poor are subjected to ridicule ,but because citizen can see how their resources are been siphoned by those in government and their cronies to oppress them ,and of course every human deserve opulence ,nobody is contented with poverty.To eradicate or reduce crime government should size its budget to address the basic need of her citizen.

Posted: at 10-02-2016 03:45 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ennyolalekan at 10-02-2016 04:31 AM (8 years ago)
how I wish
Posted: at 10-02-2016 04:31 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 10-02-2016 04:42 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Williams Vancouver on 10-02-2016 03:45 AM
It's unarguable that Nigerians are mostly criminals or with intent to be .This is as a result of the society lacking in infrastructure and social provisions.Some Nigerians may see this comment by the president as contemptuous but the reality clarifies it's objective.No and I repeat none is exempt of criminal mindset in Nigeria ,A place where corrupt practices as become a daily norms.Every Nigeria want to drive the wheel or fly in private jet overnight,at place of worship pastor preached wealth ,all because of ferocious poverty in the society ,where there's shortage of infrastructure facilities or social facilities the few that have this facilities in their respective home is seen as oppressive or opportune ,nevertheless those that are deprived of this basic human needs strive at all cost to elevate their standard even when there's no principal platform or source or ability to do so.Therefore ,the majority resolved to stealing ,drugs ,kidnapping ,drug dealing,smuggling and all encompassing in criminal activities .I think government has big role to play in this .Government should invest in its people ,human capital investment .Give the ordinary man hope by provision of common basic daily commodities.Create wealth by paying even little stipend to encourage distorted and destitute in our society.Nigeria will not anticipate for much if they are not seen the surrounding how the riches and filthy rich and the poor are subjected to ridicule ,but because citizen can see how their resources are been siphoned by those in government and their cronies to oppress them ,and of course every human deserve opulence ,nobody is contented with poverty.To eradicate or reduce crime government should size its budget to address the basic need of her citizen.

Sensible comment......! Wa Gbayi....
Posted: at 10-02-2016 04:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- favuman at 10-02-2016 05:25 AM (8 years ago)
your president don't know how to harmonise English language in other to sound good and non provocative in the minds of the listeners just because his academic background didn't cover that area.
Posted: at 10-02-2016 05:25 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- emma4love3 at 10-02-2016 05:50 AM (8 years ago)
oooh yea the citizens first befor any other
thing.....if he is not effective other person
working around wil want to sabotage
ur office
Posted: at 10-02-2016 05:50 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- concentrate at 10-02-2016 07:33 AM (8 years ago)
This is what you get when you give a mallam your mandate. it's barely a year since this mallam took power but yet so many confusion when couldnt handle the confusion he created, he decides to run away.
Posted: at 10-02-2016 07:33 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mafimisebi27 at 10-02-2016 08:27 AM (8 years ago)
Go and read the interview very well, GS have not clarify the comments made by his master. "Criminal’ reputation has made Nigerians unwelcome abroad and else where". I think even primary school student can interpret this 'Nigerians' i.e all, every, whole, including himself. I think someone have to go for English class here to get it clear or should we invite William Shakespeare to do it.  This Connote Nigerian are all criminals so we should stay in our land.
Posted: at 10-02-2016 08:27 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie