Lagos Businessman Sues Kanu Nwankwo For N1BN Over Wrongful Prosecution

Date: 10-02-2016 6:01 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 10-02-2016 06:01 PM (8 years ago)
A businessman and a lawyer, Ayoola Gam-Ikon, has urged a Lagos State High Court in Ikeja to order a former Super Eagles captain, Nwankwo Kanu, to pay him N1 billion for what the claimant termed his malicious prosecution by the police.

Gam-Ikon claimed to have on March 5, 2013 been arraigned on 19-count of fraud by the police following a complaint against him by Kanu.

He, however, claimed that the entire charges were struck out on July 30, 2015 by the trial chief magistrate, following the legal advice of the Federal Director of Public Prosecutions, who absolved the claimant of the alleged offences.

But Gam-Ikon, who claimed to have lost valuable time and years of his prime life attending court and facing trial, urged the court to award damages to him against Kanu in the sum of N1 billion.

The claimant urged the court to order Kanu to pay an interest of 22 per cent on the claimed sum from December 15, 2015 till the judgment day and 10 per cent interest on the claimed sum from judgment day till the claimed sum will be fully paid.

“The claimant was devastated by the effect of his arraignment, imprisonment at Ikoyi prison during the perfection of bail and pendency of a criminal charge and has been running from one hospital to the other for medical assistance owing to his debilitating ill health and has only just started showing signs of improvement,” Gam-Ikon claimed in his suit.

The claimant claimed to have known Kanu while he was a banker with the Gulf Bank of Nigeria Plc, where he claimed Kanu had an account and he used to offer him financial management advice.

He, however, claimed to have later entered into hotel business with Kanu after he quit his job as a banker.

He claimed that Kanu and himself incorporated The Hardley Apartments Limited on April 22, 2004 on a shareholding agreement of 70 per cent to Kanu and 30 per cent to the claimant.

According to him, in the course of running the business they saw the need for expansion leading them to obtain a bank loan of N457m to raise the hotel to the five-star status.

He, however, claimed that trouble started between him and Kanu in the course of the loan repayment, culminating in his prosecution.

The case seeking damages from Kanu which was filed on Tuesday has yet to be assigned to any judge.

Posted: at 10-02-2016 06:01 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mopera at 10-02-2016 06:06 PM (8 years ago)
YOU BETTER BECAREFUL KANO, DNT ALLOW USELESS PEOPLE TO TERMINATE YOUR GUD NAME.
Posted: at 10-02-2016 06:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ennyolalekan at 10-02-2016 06:07 PM (8 years ago)
am  waiting to hear from KANU b4 I comment on this...
Posted: at 10-02-2016 06:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Machealex at 10-02-2016 06:09 PM (8 years ago)
Kanu trouble everywhere why now
Posted: at 10-02-2016 06:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 10-02-2016 06:23 PM (8 years ago)
This Kanu na my own personal person.. i trusted this kanu
Posted: at 10-02-2016 06:23 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- dareper at 10-02-2016 06:47 PM (8 years ago)
Sharp guy
Posted: at 10-02-2016 06:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- charisVEC at 10-02-2016 07:14 PM (8 years ago)
I see..issokay
Posted: at 10-02-2016 07:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- concentrate at 10-02-2016 07:38 PM (8 years ago)
I see
Posted: at 10-02-2016 07:38 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 10-02-2016 07:59 PM (8 years ago)
KANU be careful,be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLL... ..........
Posted: at 10-02-2016 07:59 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- malamy at 10-02-2016 08:39 PM (8 years ago)
OK!
Posted: at 10-02-2016 08:39 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 10-02-2016 08:50 PM (8 years ago)
Oya Kanu come to naijapals for hearing.
Posted: at 10-02-2016 08:50 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 10-02-2016 09:17 PM (8 years ago)
Kanu no allow that man chop your money o.
Posted: at 10-02-2016 09:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 10-02-2016 09:25 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmm,all this while wey this man dey yan,I never hear kanu own side of story,wetin happen oga kanu?
Posted: at 10-02-2016 09:25 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 10-02-2016 09:28 PM (8 years ago)
why sue him on trumped up criminal charges hugh KANU Nwankwo you are partners settle this amicably before it gets out of hand
Posted: at 10-02-2016 09:28 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ujmaria at 10-02-2016 09:50 PM (8 years ago)
I don't comment on an incomplete story
Posted: at 10-02-2016 09:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 10-02-2016 09:55 PM (8 years ago)
foolish yoruba should have ask fopr 1 trilion, not only billi billi
Posted: at 10-02-2016 09:55 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 10-02-2016 10:19 PM (8 years ago)
Kanu you need to clear yourself on this allegation before it rubbish you.
Posted: at 10-02-2016 10:19 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 10-02-2016 10:23 PM (8 years ago)
ole.......you chop our guy money....
stupid lawyer....becos nah fooballer and him
get money.....u no even say 100k.....
na 1b....ole.....
Posted: at 10-02-2016 10:23 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 10-02-2016 11:12 PM (8 years ago)
Na hungry dey catch dis one. 1billion as if na 1,000 he dey call. Lazy fool. U yo wait tire.
Posted: at 10-02-2016 11:12 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- princedafe at 11-02-2016 01:18 AM (8 years ago)
Another SENSIBLE man
Posted: at 11-02-2016 01:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac