Protests In Ekiti As Monarch Accuses Gov. Fayose Of Destroying Billboard

Date: 12-02-2016 10:14 am (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 12-02-2016 10:14 AM (8 years ago)

Protesters trooped to the streets in the community of Ikere Ekiti on Wednesday following the destruction of a billboard with the picture of the Olukere of Ikere Ekiti, Oba Ganiyu Ayodele Obasoyin allegedly on the orders of the state Governor, Ayodele Fayose.

It was gathered that the Olukere has been in a bitter fight with the Ogoga of Ikere Ekiti, Oba Adejimi Adu who is strongy supported by the governor. It was alleged that Fayose personally tore the Olukere's picture on the billboard. It was gathered that the governor tore the picture on the billboard while he was returning to Ekiti after visiting his Akwa Ibom State counterpart.

The protesters, who gathered at the popular Odo Oja junction at about 6pm on Wednesday, chanted anti-government slogans in condemnation of the action.
In retaliation, angry youths barricaded roads leading to the town and attacked billboards with Ogoga’s picture in Ikere Ekiti.
This caused a major traffic, as Akure, Ita Ogbolu, Iju, Ise, Emure, Ado Ekiti roads were blocked for hours. The protesters continued on Thursday, prompting the police to deploy more men to the community to restore calm.

The Olukere, who addressed reporters in Ado Ekiti on Thursday, expressed surprise at the destruction of the billboard with his picture.
He called on President Muhammadu Buhari to intervene in the matter.

Obasoyin said,
“My life now is at stake. If someone could personally supervise the tearing of my billboard, what would he do if he meets me face to face?”
“It is rather surprising that with the hectic work   the office of the governor requires, he could still go to the street to destroy Oba’s billboard. Fayose and Ogoga have forgotten so soon that the land Ogoga is occupying in Ikere and the authority he is using were given to him by my palace, including his crown.
“Ogoga in history was never a crowned prince anywhere, including in Benin, where he claimed to have come from. I made him who he is and he should not push my people to go to war. They should let Ikere be.
“They wanted to ignite crisis and burn down my town, but I am pleading that they should desist because I am the owner of the land and I won’t allow it to burn. I am a descendant of Oduduwa and one of the founders of Ekitiland. We are going to resist any attempt by Ogoga, who is a stranger in my land, to conspire with Fayose to obliterate my stool.”

But Adelusi said,
“There are some lies when told, you win sympathy. But in other cases, you will look foolish. To say that the governor tore the poster or destroyed the billboard or sent people to destroy the whatever is a lie carried too far.
“Fayose is not from Ikere. He is not interested in who rules Ikere. How can he nurse animosity against the Olukere? That this administration gave recognition to the Ogoga, Fayose was simply following the law, particularly on the Ikere issue.
“None of the past administrations gave recognition to Olukere to rule over Ikereland. Does the Olukere expect Governor Fayose to do otherwise and cause crisis in the ancient town?
“The Olukere was only ventilating his anger when he alleged that the governor destroyed or sent people to destroy his posters. The allegation is unfounded.”

Reporters has it that the governor of Ekiti state, Ayodele Fayose has denied the allegations and dismissed it as unfounded lies. This was revealed through his Chief Press Secretary, Mr. Idowu Adelusi.

Posted: at 12-02-2016 10:14 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 12-02-2016 10:22 AM (8 years ago)
Na the handwork of Apc,hmmmm,trying to destroy fayose government by all means but God no go agree,Oga fayose carry go,The peoples governor.
Posted: at 12-02-2016 10:22 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 12-02-2016 10:30 AM (8 years ago)
best tout Gov. of the year.

how I wish
Posted: at 12-02-2016 10:30 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 12-02-2016 10:49 AM (8 years ago)
MAD MAN!! na so he dey do
Posted: at 12-02-2016 10:49 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- ficull at 12-02-2016 11:14 AM (8 years ago)
I tot he is your precious son whom you 'massively' elected after embracing his stomach infrastructures. Why the protest?
Posted: at 12-02-2016 11:14 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ujmaria at 12-02-2016 11:20 AM (8 years ago)
Poster did u see him tearing it personally, I don't believe dis
Posted: at 12-02-2016 11:20 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rashjr at 12-02-2016 11:25 AM (8 years ago)
E be like say that man dae smoke "ubo"na Amadioha go strike him sha
Posted: at 12-02-2016 11:25 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- lilchuks28 at 12-02-2016 11:29 AM (8 years ago)
Olukere your allegation are baseless..... may be this is another trick from APC to mar the administration of Fayose..
Posted: at 12-02-2016 11:29 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 12-02-2016 11:43 AM (8 years ago)
Fayose,no let those oba use juju kill u oo
Posted: at 12-02-2016 11:43 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Blessed75 at 12-02-2016 11:48 AM (8 years ago)
MAD MAN!! na so he dey do

Bro wetting this man call Fayose do you you're always against him was is because he was a member of the PDP or did he snatch your girlfriend by the way is it must that you will comment on every post i don't know if you're a man or woman
Posted: at 12-02-2016 11:48 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- concentrate at 12-02-2016 12:09 PM (8 years ago)
Fayose dont mind those maggots from apc they cant bring you down.
Posted: at 12-02-2016 12:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 12-02-2016 12:20 PM (8 years ago)
Make una do whatever una like o... Make I dey do my own Biz
Posted: at 12-02-2016 12:20 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- christianity at 12-02-2016 12:35 PM (8 years ago)
wateva
Posted: at 12-02-2016 12:35 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 12-02-2016 01:04 PM (8 years ago)
Make una do whatever una like o... Make I dey do my own Biz
Posted: at 12-02-2016 01:04 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- samybrowne at 12-02-2016 01:54 PM (8 years ago)
most those boards are not wanted so they should be removed accordingly thank you.
Posted: at 12-02-2016 01:54 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mykie010 at 12-02-2016 03:40 PM (8 years ago)
Wetin oba dey with bilboard
Posted: at 12-02-2016 03:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omoboriowo96 at 12-02-2016 04:00 PM (8 years ago)
Ekiti again
Posted: at 12-02-2016 04:00 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Trueyarn at 12-02-2016 04:40 PM (8 years ago)
Nah waoh for our leaders,people wey suppose dey bring the people of the states together come dey do like amateurs,if them check wella,nah enviness dey start all this things. Fayose no put hand for Oba matter cause you meet them there and you go still leave them there.
Posted: at 12-02-2016 04:40 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- steveoneal at 12-02-2016 05:30 PM (8 years ago)
Thug governor
Posted: at 12-02-2016 05:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 12-02-2016 07:41 PM (8 years ago)
Ordinary billboard naim dey cause all dis. Rubbish. So they don't have anything to do than to fight each other and collect salary from govt as if they work.
Posted: at 12-02-2016 07:41 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

7. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer