75-year-old Pensioner Collapsed And Died While Waiting For Screening In Benin (Photos)

Date: 24-02-2016 6:36 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 24-02-2016 06:36 AM (8 years ago)

There was commotion today as a 75-year-old pensioner who is being owed for 9 months by Edo state government, collapsed and died while waiting on queue alongside others for screening.

There was pandemonium and confusion in the premises of Oredo local council secretariat in Benin, the Edo state capital, as a 75-year-old pensioner, Sunday Oboite collapsed and died on Tuesday afternoon, February 23rd, while waiting on a qu‎eue to be screened.

The unfortunate incident occurred at about 1:38pm as other pensioners in‎ the local government council who were invited for screening by authorities because they are being owed nine months arrears, reportedly scampered in confusion.

It was gathered that the frail-looking man was said to have collapsed and fell to the ground. All efforts to revive him made by other male pensioners who mustered up boldness however failed as he ‎gave up the ghost.

75-year-old pensioner, Sunday Oboitewho  collapsed and died

Sunday Erumwunse, the Secretary of ‎Nigerian Union of Pensioners (NUP), Oredo chapter, blamed the death of the pensioner on starvation as a result of delay in the payment of the pension arrears. He called on the government to expedite action to pay the pensioners their money.
One of the pensioners, John Eweka, who spoke to journalists, said: “I believe the man died of hunger. Many of us can no longer afford to eat. They should pay us our money.”

Other pensioners struggling to get screened

He called on the government to ‘assist the family of the late pensioner with the burial expenses.’
Efforts made to get comments from the substantive chairman of Oredo local government council, Ms Sweet Ikpomwosa, failed as she refused to speak to journalists.

Ambulance waiting to convey the corpse of Oboite to the mortuary

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 24-02-2016 06:36 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- charisVEC at 24-02-2016 07:18 AM (8 years ago)
I see..NawaOOoo.RIp...issokay
Posted: at 24-02-2016 07:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 24-02-2016 07:27 AM (8 years ago)
Oshomhole sey you dey see wetin una cause for this man now, how do you expectsomeone to survive after refusing to pay him for nine months haba,too bad i like to say .Baba rest in peace, na so we see Nigerian government reach ooo .

Posted: at 24-02-2016 07:27 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 24-02-2016 08:20 AM (8 years ago)
i just pity our old papa and mama dem....after
serving this state....this how they wil pay them
back abi....God is watching oooh....
Posted: at 24-02-2016 08:20 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 24-02-2016 08:29 AM (8 years ago)
Chaaii,RIP,but government I suggest you stop this queue screening exercise&pay in direct to all those men&women pensioner accounts rather than standing till all day&later some will collapse,this people are no longer youth so their strength could no longer carry them all that longer.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 08:29 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Haso112 at 24-02-2016 08:32 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmm, maybe this will turn out to be a blessing in disguise for the others, they'll attend to them quicker to avoid another occurrence like this... As usual, for my country Naija, na until matter enter RED before e dey get attention....
Posted: at 24-02-2016 08:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 24-02-2016 08:34 AM (8 years ago)
Oshiomole thank u. Dis is a very good way to pay those who serve ur state actively b4 thieves like u came on board. GOD go judge all of una.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 08:34 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 24-02-2016 08:53 AM (8 years ago)
NEXT TIME PAPA PLS be careful,be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLL...... .........
Posted: at 24-02-2016 08:53 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 24-02-2016 09:18 AM (8 years ago)
Naija leaders don't in any way value the life of her citizens,they're just too cold to understand that people are suffering and dying everyday because of their greediness..I will love to see a nigeria where big men are treated like every other citizen in the nearest future.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 09:18 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 24-02-2016 09:18 AM (8 years ago)
R.I.P old man,Naija leaders don't in any way value the life of her citizens,they're just too cold to understand that people are suffering and dying everyday because of their greediness..I will love to see a nigeria where big men are treated like every other citizen in the nearest future.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 09:18 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- lilchuks28 at 24-02-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
Stupid government, you are owing an old man 9 months pension, yet you called him for irrelevant screening....YeYe people.....Que Sera Sera...
Posted: at 24-02-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 24-02-2016 10:38 AM (8 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 24-02-2016 10:38 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- ujmaria at 24-02-2016 11:30 AM (8 years ago)
Dis one na serious wahala, rip sir
Posted: at 24-02-2016 11:30 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 24-02-2016 01:23 PM (8 years ago)
rip to him
Posted: at 24-02-2016 01:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Linconblack at 24-02-2016 04:16 PM (8 years ago)
Naija na bad country with terrible leaders. Here in the usa, pensioners don't have to worry about nonsense screening, the gov't have already their data's stores, all wot u need is just enter your ssn on their website. Me I.no go fit live in naija ooo
Posted: at 24-02-2016 04:16 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- diezo at 24-02-2016 04:28 PM (8 years ago)
SO WETIN BE D BENEFIT OF BECOMING A CIVIL SERVANT AS I DEY HERE SO I DON DISCOURAGE TO WORK FOR GOVT, BUT MAKE DEM NO FORGET SAY PERSON NO WELL ANOTHER PERSON WEY WELL COME DEY TAKE TABLET FOR PERSON WEY NO WELL NA WHO NO COME WELL يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 24-02-2016 04:28 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 24-02-2016 04:45 PM (8 years ago)
see the kind of government we have. to pay its a big deal mind you they collect all their pay including proceeds of corruption without going through physical stress and huddles.
Posted: at 24-02-2016 04:45 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- evilgenius at 24-02-2016 05:54 PM (8 years ago)
NO NEWS, OLD STORY
Posted: at 24-02-2016 05:54 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 24-02-2016 06:11 PM (8 years ago)
 Angry Angry  why can't these govt start processing these pension screenings 60 days before their last day in service Huh?
Posted: at 24-02-2016 06:11 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- imaria at 25-02-2016 12:52 AM (8 years ago)
Rest in peace sir
Posted: at 25-02-2016 12:52 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac