Father Arrested For Allegedly Selling His Nine-Month-Old Son For 250,000

Date: 26-02-2016 11:57 am (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 26-02-2016 11:57 AM (8 years ago)

A Liberian, Daniel Barnney, is being held by the police for allegedly selling his nine-month-old son Emmanuel to a 43-year-old woman, Ekah Richard, for N250,000.
Barnney, one Pastor Samuel Osavitu and a worker at an orphanage, Alhaji Sunkanmi Adamu, are being quizzed at Festac Police Station over the matter.
Barnney's Nigerian wife Ijeoma Ndoku raised the alarm over his plan to sell their son and flee to Ghana last month....

The police arrested Barnney at Mile 2 on February 12 and recovered the baby from Richard.
Ndoku said she and Barnney have been quarrelling because she did not allow him to take the baby to his aunt, who she never saw.
She debunked Barnney's claims of abandoning the child, accusing him of fleeing with the boy on their way to buy groceries.

"It's a lie! I didn't abandon my baby. He said he wanted to hand the baby over to his aunt. I said it was okay since his aunt was now in Nigeria. I said it will give me opportunity to look for a job and support the family because he has not been taking care of us.
"For over three months, he has been saying he does not have money to take care of me and my baby but he usually had money to buy drinks and cigarettes. He could not even bring out N150 for me to buy pampers for our baby. Even when I wanted to take the baby to the hospital, I usually went and borrowed money; other times, our neighbours will give me money to cater for the baby.
"He used to get drunk and vomit. When I complained, he would bring out iron rod and hit it on my head. I fell down once, tried to go and open the door, but he dragged me back.
"I didn't know his plan was to sell our baby. I said I wanted to see his aunt. He said if the aunt knows that I am around, she wouldn't collect the baby. He asked me if I wanted the baby to die, I said no",
she said.

Ndoku said she learnt of Barnney's plan to sell their son from his boss.

"She (the boss) told me that Daniel was planning to sell my son for N150,000. She said that Daniel said after selling the baby, he would leave for Ghana. I didn't believe her.
"The woman said I should come back around 4pm, so that I would hear the story from some of her assistants. I told Daniel's friend. He doubted the story too, so he followed me.
"It was in his presence that the woman told us everything. She said she became curious and concerned after she noticed Daniel was always with the baby. When she asked, Daniel told her that I abandoned the baby and ran away. She asked for my number, so that she could speak to me, but Daniel refused. That was when she knew Daniel was lying.
"I told her that Daniel told me that the baby was with his aunt. She said that was part of the reason she withheld his salary,"
Ndoku said.

Ndoku said on January 29, Barnney called that he was coming to see his son, adding that when he came, their neighbours were happy and advised her to forgive him.

To effect his plan to take away the baby, she said he tricked her that they were going to buy him things.

She said when she alighted from the motorcycle (Okada) that they took to enter a store, Barnney disappeared with the baby.

Barnney, 32, who admitted to have received N250,000 from Richard through Adamu, said the money was given to him to start a business.

He denied selling the baby, claiming that his wife abandoned the child. He said since he could not cater for the boy alone, he took him to an orphanage.

Richard, who claimed that she adopted the child, said she never knew the adoption process was illegal.  She said she was advised by the pastor to adopt a child so that God can open her womb.

But Osavitu, who denied conspiring with others to steal the baby, said he was only trying to help Richard and safe the child's life.

He said:
"I have known the orphanage guy for almost nine years. He's a good man. He's the manager at the orphanage. I used to go to the orphanage to preach there."

thenation

Posted: at 26-02-2016 11:57 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 26-02-2016 12:08 PM (8 years ago)
up biafra!!!
Posted: at 26-02-2016 12:08 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- zezprincess at 26-02-2016 12:10 PM (8 years ago)
Hahah,see wetin bad condition dey cause.nigeria!!!
Posted: at 26-02-2016 12:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 26-02-2016 12:20 PM (8 years ago)
NobsmallTin o, na so d poverty reach Shocked
Posted: at 26-02-2016 12:20 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 26-02-2016 12:49 PM (8 years ago)
''Poverty is the real killer disease living with humans''
Posted: at 26-02-2016 12:49 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 26-02-2016 01:16 PM (8 years ago)
end time father
Posted: at 26-02-2016 01:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nwaafoigbo at 26-02-2016 02:17 PM (8 years ago)
up yoruba
Posted: at 26-02-2016 02:17 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kison at 26-02-2016 03:53 PM (8 years ago)
NONSENSE,,DEMENTED FATHER,,,NEXT TIME be careful,be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLL...............
Posted: at 26-02-2016 03:53 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 26-02-2016 05:03 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 26-02-2016 05:03 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slimmygal at 26-02-2016 09:35 PM (8 years ago)
d love of money is always d root of evil, wretched low life being.
Posted: at 26-02-2016 09:35 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 26-02-2016 09:41 PM (8 years ago)
Nah poverty and wickedness cause this beast to behave like this,make him smell pepper for jailingo.
Posted: at 26-02-2016 09:41 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 26-02-2016 11:09 PM (8 years ago)
e is not  a father at allll o.
Posted: at 26-02-2016 11:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- imaria at 27-02-2016 02:41 AM (8 years ago)
Wicked father
Posted: at 27-02-2016 02:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 27-02-2016 08:13 AM (8 years ago)
Wicked and senseless father. Are u mad???
Posted: at 27-02-2016 08:13 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 27-02-2016 09:21 AM (8 years ago)
bad father selling his own baby...
becos of money.....well face the law ok....
Posted: at 27-02-2016 09:21 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ujmaria at 27-02-2016 12:22 PM (8 years ago)
Poverty is really a disease
Posted: at 27-02-2016 12:22 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 27-02-2016 12:56 PM (8 years ago)
child selling cartel.
Posted: at 27-02-2016 12:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- princedafe at 27-02-2016 04:00 PM (8 years ago)
Another senseless act
Posted: at 27-02-2016 04:00 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- charisVEC at 5-03-2016 02:06 PM (8 years ago)
Nawaooooo...mony mk men to do stupid tins
Posted: at 5-03-2016 02:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vectorcy at 12-03-2016 10:54 PM (8 years ago)
Mony mony,d root of evil
Posted: at 12-03-2016 10:54 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

2. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

3. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

4. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

5. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

6. Veteran Actor, Zack Orji Heads To UK For Post-Surgery Evaluation (Photos)

7. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

8. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

9. Movie Star, Funke Akindele & Her Twin Kids In Dubai On Short Vacation

10. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

11. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

12. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

13. Saudi Arabia Set To Make Debut In Miss Universe Pageant; To Be Represented By Rumy Alqahtani

14. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

15. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

16. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

17. Armed Robber Rap3s 20-yr-old Jigawa Housewife In Hubby's Presence After Stealing Bags Of Pepper

18. Police Hand Over Wanted Delta Monarch Ogenerukeywe To Military

19. Kano Police Apprehend 22 Suspected Hoodlums, Declare 30 Others Wanted (Photos)

20. Binance Faces $35.4 Million Money Laundering Charges: International Manhunt For Executives

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

6. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

7. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

8. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

9. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives

10. Davido's Daughter, Imade Is Now An Epitome Of Beauty, Netizens React To New Posts About Her