THE SECRET TO PERFECT SCRAMBLED EGGS

Date: 02-03-2016 1:18 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Opeyemi Oladipupo
- at 2-03-2016 01:18 PM (8 years ago)
In the world of scrambled eggs, soft-scrambled eggs are the king of the breakfast table. Creamy, comforting and yet
luxurious, you can pile it on a
toast while you’re rushing out of
the door or toss in some cheese, bacon and the works if you have time to spare. It’s
such a fundamentally simple
dish, that an explanation may
seem almost absurd. Anybody
can scramble an egg but making a dreamy scramble is
an art form. It’s the first dish
most amateur cooks learn to
master, and the biggest mistake
most people make while
cooking scrambled eggs is to add the salt after, or perhaps wonder whether to use milk or cream. So we’re here to clear
your queries and give you a
foolproof recipe. It’s time to bid
dry, spongey eggs goodbye. Tips and Tricks 1. Avoid using a cast iron skillet
while scrambling eggs because they turn a greenish shade. This
is due to the sulfur in egg whites
reacting with the iron of the pan. 2. The key to making perfectly
scrambled eggs lies in whisking the eggs thoroughly before cooking them, since whisking incorporates air and gives you
fluffier scrambled eggs. 3. Contrary to popular belief,
salting eggs in advance does
not result in watery or tough
scrambled eggs. Yes, eggs turn
a darker shade of orange and
appear thinner than before after adding salt but after testing and
re-testing, I’ve found that pre-
salting actually helps the eggs
retain their moisture and
tenderness. 4. Confused between milk and
cream? Me too! So I thought it
would be fun to make batches
with cream and milk. I found that the scrambled eggs made
with cream were a little too rich
but the scrambled eggs made
with milk were light and fluffy,
and just rich enough. 5. Turn off the heat before the
eggs are completely cooked
since the heat retained in the
pan continues to cook and firm
up the eggs even after the pan
is removed from heat. And the longer they cook, the drier they
become. 6. The duration for which you
beat the egg mixture is a matter
of preference. So if you like
your scrambled eggs dense,
beat lightly. But if you prefer
lighter fluffier scrambled eggs, beat vigorously. (I vouch for the second one
wholeheartedly). Ingredients 4 eggs
¼ cup milk
Salt and pepper
2 ½ tsp butter Instructions 1. Lightly beat the eggs, and
then beat again with milk and a
pinch salt and pepper in a bowl
until blended. 2. Heat the butter in a large non-
stick skillet over medium heat
until hot, and pour in the egg
mixture. 3. As the eggs begin to set,
gently pull the eggs across the
pan with a spatula, forming large
soft curds. Continue cooking –
pulling, lifting and folding eggs –
until thickened. Note: No visible liquid egg should remain and
you must not stir constantly.
Voila, your scrambled eggs are
ready. Enjoy. If you’ve mastered the ideal
scrambled eggs and want to experiment with flavours, we’re here to help. You should only
add anything additional near the
end, just before the eggs are
done so the add-ins can warm
up or melt without interfering
with the eggs. However, vegetables such as mushrooms should be cooked first, so that
they've already released their
water and are fully cooked
through. You can also add a few
sprigs of fresh soft herbs, red chilli (deseeded and finely chopped) for an Indian tadka. You can also stir a bit of creamy
(dreamy) salad dressing or pasta or salsa into the egg mixture. For added flavour, I
love adding shredded cheese, avocado and salmon.

Posted: at 2-03-2016 01:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Fran6ixfox at 2-03-2016 09:08 PM (8 years ago)
okay
Posted: at 2-03-2016 09:08 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 2-03-2016 11:46 PM (8 years ago)
yes thats why the white people love scrambble eggs...
half done egg...me my egg must fry wella....befor eating abeg.....
Posted: at 2-03-2016 11:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 5-03-2016 10:30 AM (8 years ago)
E don do,,, abi na only egg u won chop?
Posted: at 5-03-2016 10:30 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vectorcy at 14-03-2016 12:55 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmm
Posted: at 14-03-2016 12:55 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 29-06-2016 09:38 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 29-06-2016 09:38 PM (7 years ago) | Hero