Stop forcing our girls into marriage - Christians warn

Date: 07-03-2016 12:20 pm (8 years ago) | Author: BENGIST247
- at 7-03-2016 12:20 PM (8 years ago)
Ese Oruru was abducted from her Bayelsa home, moved to Kano and allegedly forced to marry one Yunusa Yellow.

The chairman of the Kano state chapter of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), Bishop Ransom Bello has warned Muslims to desist from the trend of forceful abduction of teenagers and eventual conversion to Islam for marriage purposes.

Speaking on the backdrop of the Ese Oruru’s case, Bello said Christians had witnessed a lot of similar situations in Kano state like that in time past, lamenting that, efforts to return the abductees to their families most times were unsuccessful.

The bishop told Daily Post that the forceful abductions of Christian teenagers by Muslims was due to the fact that Christians were in the minority in the state.

He however warned that if such abductions fail to stop it might result in religious crisis because “there was a limit to which anyone can push a matter of this nature”.

He said:“We want the other religion to understand that what¬ever they don’t want us to do them, they should not do it to us. I don’t think we will like to do that to any Muslim girl.

“We don’t abduct Muslim girls and then, force them into conversion. No! If you marry your wife properly, with all the consents that are needed and your wife decided to be a Christian or Muslim, so be it!

“Nobody is against any young couple getting mar¬ried if they reach the age of marriage, if they are of age; but things should be done properly and, according to all the existing rules of their tradition, culture and faith.”
http://www.bengist247.com/2016/03/stop-forcing-our-girls-into-marriage.html?m=0

Posted: at 7-03-2016 12:20 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 8-03-2016 07:53 AM (8 years ago)
I beg tell dem again,, stop forcing our girls into marriage
Posted: at 8-03-2016 07:53 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- charisVEC at 8-03-2016 08:43 AM (8 years ago)
Na oly to da marry underage gals dem sabi..yeeye pple
Posted: at 8-03-2016 08:43 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 11-03-2016 11:07 AM (8 years ago)
Yes very clear and no time
Posted: at 11-03-2016 11:07 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- evilgenius at 11-03-2016 02:25 PM (8 years ago)
"We want the other religion to understand that what¬ever they don’t want us to do them, they should not do it to us."

SUPPORTED !
Posted: at 11-03-2016 02:25 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming