BIZARRE! Member Commits Suicide At The Back Of Church Building After Church Vigil

Date: 09-03-2016 6:25 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 9-03-2016 06:25 AM (8 years ago)

The Church of the King of Kings on Taju Bello Street, in the Iju-Ishaga area of Lagos, has been thrown into confusion after a member, identified simply as Taofiq, committed suicide at the back of the church building.

Taofiq, a mechanic, was said to have attended a vigil in the church on Friday, but sneaked out while the prayer was going on. He subsequently went to a valley at the back of the church, where he hanged himself on a tree.

PUNCH Metro learnt that his body was met dangling while his prayer garment was found folded at
the scene of the incident around 5am on Saturday.

The police from the Iju division were said to have gone to the area and took the corpse after the church’s assistant pastor reported the case.

Taofiq, who converted to Christianity sometime last year, started attending the church –a parish of Cherubim and Seraphim– a few months ago.

The church members declined to comment on the incident when PUNCH Metro visited the community on Tuesday.

The members prevented their correspondent from entering the church’s premises when he demanded to speak with their pastor.

One of them, a woman, who felt enraged by the request, said:
“We cannot say anything about what happened. We are not his family members and he (the deceased) was not a church member. Go and meet his people. I don’t want to hear anything; leave our church now!”

Most residents approached by this correspondent also declined comments on the incident.

However, an elderly man, who did not to give his name, said the deceased was a member of the church, adding that he was awoken on the day by the commotion caused by the incident.

He said:
 “He (Taofiq) had attended a vigil with members of the church on Friday to Saturday. It was around 5am that he was found dangling on a tree at the back of the church. I don’t know why he killed himself. But he must have been psychologically disturbed. I saw the garment he wore to the church at the place he committed suicide.”

As the man narrated what he witnessed to Punch, a member of the church stormed his compound and told him to stop.

Another resident, who identified himself as Kareem Ibrahim, said Taofiq’s behaviour became strange about a year ago when he quit his mechanic work.

He said:
 “I just opened shop that day when a friend came to tell me that someone had died at the back of the church. On getting there, it turned out to be Taofik. He was living around here before, but I don’t know where he relocated to. When he converted to Christianity last year, he changed his name to Segun.

“He was a mechanic and was living a normal life until last year when we observed that his behaviour was changed. I learnt he was defrauded of money, but I don’t know the amount. He was a bachelor.”

The spokesperson for the Lagos State Police Command, SP Dolapo Badmos, said investigation was ongoing to ascertain the cause of the incident.

She said:
 “The Assistant Pastor of the King of Kings Church, Mr. Odunike Abiodun, reported to the police that one Taofik committed suicide near the church, where he came for a vigil. Detectives visited the scene of the crime and investigation is ongoing to unravel the cause of the death. His corpse has been deposited in a morgue for autopsy.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 9-03-2016 06:25 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- charisVEC at 9-03-2016 06:44 AM (8 years ago)
I see.Wat a pity..U jus kil ur self,tinking.. that wil solve the problem you ar facing..which is absolutely wrong..where ar u heading to nw?,,wat wil u tell ur Creator on Judgement day?..Rip..-issokay
Posted: at 9-03-2016 06:44 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sssmasterg at 9-03-2016 06:49 AM (8 years ago)
Why na
Posted: at 9-03-2016 06:49 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Machealex at 9-03-2016 06:56 AM (8 years ago)
Not the best solution
Posted: at 9-03-2016 06:56 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 9-03-2016 07:41 AM (8 years ago)
Suicide is not an excuse no matter your problem, only God will judge you.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 07:41 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- samdove28 at 9-03-2016 07:46 AM (8 years ago)
WHAT KIND OF DEATH IS THIS, WHY SUM PEOPLE NO THEY HAVE FAITH IN GOD LIKE THIS AND THEN GO THEY GO CHURCH OO... IMAGINE COMMITING YOUR FREAKING LIFE IN THE CHURCH. GOD NO GO FORGIVE YOU FOR THIS.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 07:46 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raynebee at 9-03-2016 07:50 AM (8 years ago)
nawa ooooo
Posted: at 9-03-2016 07:50 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 9-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago)
You think you have the biggest problem pal.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 9-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago)
Nobsmalltin
Posted: at 9-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slimmygal at 9-03-2016 08:31 AM (8 years ago)
some people av much more problem than dis but they never for once think of commiting suicide. anyway ogbeni taofik, u and ans ur creator.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 08:31 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- amusuyi1 at 9-03-2016 08:48 AM (8 years ago)
You don't need advise any more face your warrant.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 08:48 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- emma4love3 at 9-03-2016 08:49 AM (8 years ago)
killing your self is wrong is not am option to that
God help us oooh
Posted: at 9-03-2016 08:49 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 9-03-2016 09:11 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmm,strange,no comment until after police investigation&autopsy.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 09:11 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 9-03-2016 09:15 AM (8 years ago)
IN UR NEXT LIFE Be careful, be very very careful,CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 9-03-2016 09:15 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- crocatum at 9-03-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
why murder, although it could be difficult, but not suiside.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 9-03-2016 09:38 AM (8 years ago)
Too bad man.

Posted: at 9-03-2016 09:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 9-03-2016 09:39 AM (8 years ago)
Too bad man.

Posted: at 9-03-2016 09:39 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- botlex at 9-03-2016 10:42 AM (8 years ago)
Proper investigation should be done into this matter to ascertain the true cause of death.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 10:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 9-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago)
There most of e something behind that suicide they should investigate
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 9-03-2016 12:07 PM (8 years ago)
make them check am well well foul play
Posted: at 9-03-2016 12:07 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master

1. Disturbing Video Shows Moment Nigerian Man Slaps Girlfriend Over Cake-Cutting At Party

2. VIDEO: Secondary Schoolgirl Stirs Reactions As She Names BBN, Tolanibaj As Her Role Model

3. Man Undergoes Surgery After Breaking His Erect P3nis & Disfiguring His Eggplant From Rolling

4. “Not All Divorces Must Be Toxic” -Singer, Paul Okoye Tackles Critics

5. Police Arrest Two Suspects For Allegedly Killing Mother & Son In Akwa Ibom

6. TERRORISM: Court Grants Osun Gov, Adeleke's Aide Ajagungbade Emir N50m Bail

7. "I Don’t Engage In S3x For Money" – BBN Star, Khloe Says

1. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

2. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Nigerian Gov.t Nears Extradition Of Binance Executive Involved In $35.4M Money Laundering

6. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

7. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

8. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

9. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

10. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks