A Diamond Bank Staff Who Stole N309,000 From Customers Arrested by Police

Date: 16-03-2016 11:31 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 16-03-2016 11:31 AM (8 years ago)

A marketer with Diamond Bank Plc, Okota branch, Lagos, who reportedly fled with a sum of N309,000 collected as deposits from traders, has been arrested by the police. The bank had contracted the suspect, Isiaka Abiodun, from Strategic Outsourcing Limited in the Lekki area of the state in 2013. It was learnt that Abiodun had collected the sum from one Mrs. Nneka Eze, a trader in Lekki, and two others, identified only as Ebulu and Chidera. It was gathered that only Eze, whose deposit was N300,000, had approached the bank on the alleged fraud. A Gistmania correspondent was told that the 28-year-old suspect had obtained the sum from the traders sometime in July 2015, but disappeared from the bank in November, when the fraud was discovered. The bank was said to have reported the crime to the company through which Abiodun was employed. It was learnt that the chief security officer of the firm consequently reported the case at the Ajah Police Division. The police said the suspect was later tracked down to his house on March 7, 2016. But in his statement to the police, Abiodun said he used the money to pay the medical bill of his mother who had a stroke. He said he intended to refund the money piecemeal from his salaries, adding that he had repaid N50,000.
He said, “I am a contract worker with the bank and I have been working there for three years. It is true that I collected N309,000 from the bank customers. But I used the money to treat my mother who had a stroke. I travelled in November to attend to her. I have paid N50,000 to the bank. I intend to pay the balance in instalment from my salary.
A police prosecutor, Inspector I. Okeke, brought the suspect before a Tinubu Magistrate’s Court on Monday on one count of stealing. Okeke told the court that the defendant had confessed to the offence, which is punishable under Section 285 (7) of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2011.
The charge read,  “That you, Isiaka Abiodun (28), sometime in July, 2015 at Diamond Bank, Okota branch, Okota, in the Lagos Magisterial District, being a marketer attached to the bank from Strategic Outsourcing Limited, Southern View Estate, Lekki, Lagos, did steal a sum of N309,000 given to you for saving, being property of one Mrs. Nneka Eze, thereby committing an offence punishable under Section 285 (7) of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, Nigeria, 2011.” The accused, however, pleaded not guilty to the count and elected summary trial. He was granted bail by the presiding magistrate, Mr. A. Adefulire, in the sum of N400,000 with two sureties in like sum. The magistrate added that the sureties must tender evidence of tax payments and details of their residential addresses to the court for verification. The case was adjourned till April 20, 2016.

Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:31 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 16-03-2016 11:36 AM (8 years ago)
Money no go fit solve problem wey money go cause for this live......
Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:36 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fran6ixfox at 16-03-2016 11:42 AM (8 years ago)
Now u gonna end up in jail
Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vectorcy at 16-03-2016 12:03 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: DRE on 16-03-2016 11:36 AM
Money no go fit solve problem wey money go cause for this live......
Hmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:03 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 16-03-2016 12:04 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Francis Uchenna on 16-03-2016 11:42 AM
No b smal jail oooo
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:04 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 16-03-2016 12:05 PM (8 years ago)
TIME UP!!
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:05 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- emma4love3 at 16-03-2016 02:21 PM (8 years ago)
good for him time don reach
Posted: at 16-03-2016 02:21 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 16-03-2016 02:54 PM (8 years ago)
its normal
Posted: at 16-03-2016 02:54 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 16-03-2016 04:51 PM (8 years ago)
how much is #309,000 that wants to help ur life, foolish being.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 04:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 16-03-2016 06:06 PM (8 years ago)
Shebi  Dem say bankers dey earn,,,, 100k upwards?
Posted: at 16-03-2016 06:06 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ficull at 16-03-2016 06:30 PM (8 years ago)
one down... many more to go
Posted: at 16-03-2016 06:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 16-03-2016 11:19 PM (8 years ago)
 I REALLY PITY YOU.... THUS YOU HAVE REASON FOR SPENDING THAT MONEX, BUT ITS NOT FOR YOU NW.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 16-03-2016 11:52 PM (8 years ago)
Chaaii,but you took the wrong step,oya see where I land you.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:52 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 17-03-2016 12:40 AM (8 years ago)
Its time
Posted: at 17-03-2016 12:40 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ujmaria at 17-03-2016 07:00 AM (8 years ago)
Good for you, u no wise
Posted: at 17-03-2016 07:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 17-03-2016 02:05 PM (8 years ago)
I saw
Posted: at 17-03-2016 02:05 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- imaria at 17-03-2016 04:11 PM (8 years ago)
Money money money how many times do I call you money be careful with the way you are dealing with people of the world
Posted: at 17-03-2016 04:11 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VIDEO of a Foreign Construction Worker Playing With Most Wanted Bandits at Work Site in Zamfara

2. Regina Daniels Reacts as Co-Wife, Laila Charani Posts Romantic Video with Husband Ned Nwoko

3. Victor Boniface Shares Inspiring Photo After Winning First Title With Bayer Leverkusen

4. Family Seeks to Raise $70k To Bring Home Nigerian Bodybuilder Shot Dead By Wife in US

5. Meet Uzoma Odimara, aka ‘Area Scatter’ Nigeria’s First Publicly-Known Crossdresser

6. Kwara Police Arrest 46 Suspects After Cult Clash

7. VIDEO: Late Sylverter Oromoni’s Father Blows Hot As He Rejects Coroner Judgment

8. Ex US Pres, Donald Trump Risks 4yrs Jail Term as he Appears in Court to Face Criminal Trials

9. Man, Bamidele Adeleke Docked For Stealing N2m Batteries In Ibadan

10. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

11. UPDATE: President Tinubu Declares April 7 As National Police Day

12. Junior Pope: Yul Edochie's Estranged Wife, May Mourns Victims Of Boat Mishap

13. Omokri Hails Dunamis Pastor, Eneche For Apologizing To Woman, Vera Anyim Accused Of Giving Fake

1. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

2. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Nigerian Gov.t Nears Extradition Of Binance Executive Involved In $35.4M Money Laundering

6. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

7. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

10. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks