FG Authorise SON To Jail Dealers Of Sub-Standard Goods For 10yrs With No Option Of Fine

Date: 17-03-2016 7:09 am (8 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 17-03-2016 07:09 AM (8 years ago)

The Federal Government has given authorization to Standard Organisation of Nigeria (SON) to imprison dealers who sell substandard products. They said SON has the authorization to jail defectors for ten years. SON has since started with Tyre dealers. They have given a 24 hours ultimatum to tyre dealers all over the country to destroy every fake tyre in their stock or face 10 years imprisonment without any option of a fine.
Acting Director General of SON, Dr. Paul Angya, gave the ultimatum at a stakeholder’s forum for tyre dealers in Lagos, stating. He said fake tyres have been the leading cause of several deaths in the country based on a recent report by the Road Safety Commission. Adding that out of 8,986 accidents recorded in 2015, 722 were due to tyre bursts, which has led to the death of 446 persons
He said:

“Our new Act 2015 empowered us to jail promoters of sub-standard product up to 10 years and we will not relent to jail any culprit. ‘’We are going to stamp out corruption among the tyre dealers, “we are going to set up a taskforce and we will not sleep until we confirm that accidents in the country are not traced to substandard tyres again.”

“We are ready to eliminate importation of sub-standard products into Nigeria, because of this we have reached out to other government agencies to ensure that we work together and stop smugglers of fake products into the country.

“If you have fake tyre in your shop make sure you disposed them in the next 24 hours, thereafter our team will visit you and we will charge you for murderer. “To eliminate corruption from SON, we are going to introduce e-payment, e-invoice and e-receipt to stamp out corruption from the system,”

He said the organization is also working on improving the standard of products that are sold to consumers.
Adding:

“To ease our work and improve quality of goods and products in Nigeria, we are working to improve expansion of SON facilities across the country so that people in Sokoto will not travel to Maiduguri to text their products”

“What many of our farmers do before they can take their products to abroad is to first take it to Ghana laboratory for text, once the goods pass through text in Ghana the products will send to abroad in the name of Ghana and Ghana government will take the glory.”

Posted: at 17-03-2016 07:09 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 17-03-2016 07:20 AM (8 years ago)
Very good step in right direction..................Nevertheless, corruption needs to be abolished before this could be effectively implemented because those SON members should be trusted in the first place otherwise, people would tip their ways out with them
Posted: at 17-03-2016 07:20 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ficull at 17-03-2016 07:24 AM (8 years ago)
good move, but SON themselves needs sanitization and cleansing. They are HUGELY compromise, along   with  customs, otherwise how does these goods get  to and stay in the market?
Posted: at 17-03-2016 07:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jamepinto at 17-03-2016 07:26 AM (8 years ago)
now good move for the FG to stop  fake tyre
Posted: at 17-03-2016 07:26 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- DAMILARE100 at 17-03-2016 08:14 AM (8 years ago)
SON please intervene!!!
Posted: at 17-03-2016 08:14 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 17-03-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago)
Wat nonsense. Product will be sent to "Ghana"Huh?Huh??? For wat??? Ah naija una don yeye una sef too much haba. Now u so called importer and exporter spoiling d name of d country cus u want to make money, there's news for u. stop it now or face jail ( I will advice they sent them to firing squad). There offence is worst. Meanwhile Mr DG of SON do some cleansing. Ur organisation is highly corrupt. My childhood friend works there and I know how she complain a lot. If these uprightness will happen in my country then I will know dat govt is ready for us.
Posted: at 17-03-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- samdove28 at 17-03-2016 09:20 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 17-03-2016 08:26 AM
Wat nonsense. Product will be sent to "Ghana"Huh?Huh??? For wat??? Ah naija una don yeye una sef too much haba. Now u so called importer and exporter spoiling d name of d country cus u want to make money, there's news for u. stop it now or face jail ( I will advice they sent them to firing squad). There offence is worst. Meanwhile Mr DG of SON do some cleansing. Ur organisation is highly corrupt. My childhood friend works there and I know how she complain a lot. If these uprightness will happen in my country then I will know dat govt is ready for us.
I concur with you.... cleansing frm them we be the first before going out to dealers.
Posted: at 17-03-2016 09:20 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 17-03-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago)
No wahala,.noting dey happen
Posted: at 17-03-2016 09:22 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- samdove28 at 17-03-2016 09:24 AM (8 years ago)
THAT WAS A GREAT MOVE......NIGERIAN MUST DEVELOP FRM THIS, COURPTN THEY WORSE IN THIS COUNTRY DAY BY DAY. ALL THESE ACCIDENT OF A THING THAT HAPPEN IN NIGERIAN NO THEY HAPPEN IN UNITED STATE NW, I LIKE THE MOVE SHA.
Posted: at 17-03-2016 09:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 17-03-2016 10:25 AM (8 years ago)
That is a good movement
Posted: at 17-03-2016 10:25 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 17-03-2016 10:26 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 17-03-2016 08:26 AM

You have said it all
Posted: at 17-03-2016 10:26 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 17-03-2016 10:29 AM (8 years ago)
only in naija
Posted: at 17-03-2016 10:29 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- musleh247 at 17-03-2016 10:36 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: sam dove on 17-03-2016 09:24 AM
THAT WAS A GREAT MOVE......NIGERIAN MUST DEVELOP FRM THIS, COURPTN THEY WORSE IN THIS COUNTRY DAY BY DAY. ALL THESE ACCIDENT OF A THING THAT HAPPEN IN NIGERIAN NO THEY HAPPEN IN UNITED STATE NW, I LIKE THE MOVE SHA.
U sound like " NOVIC "
Posted: at 17-03-2016 10:36 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ujmaria at 17-03-2016 11:45 AM (8 years ago)
Good one
Posted: at 17-03-2016 11:45 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 17-03-2016 02:24 PM (8 years ago)
good decision, bad market for Igbos
Posted: at 17-03-2016 02:24 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 17-03-2016 05:18 PM (8 years ago)
nice one there....
Posted: at 17-03-2016 05:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- imaria at 18-03-2016 12:19 AM (8 years ago)
Good
Posted: at 18-03-2016 12:19 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 18-03-2016 08:02 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: reaper on 17-03-2016 09:22 AM
No wahala,.noting dey happen

We all still dey look
Posted: at 18-03-2016 08:02 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 18-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: sam dove on 17-03-2016 09:24 AM

I believe that things will change
Posted: at 18-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 18-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Timothy Eazy on 17-03-2016 02:24 PM
good decision, bad market for Igbos

Why always the ibo
Posted: at 18-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

2. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

3. UK-Based Socialite And Blogger, Adeyinka Wanted For Murder, Cyber-Stalking By Police

4. This Nigerian Woman’s Unusual Makeup Stirs Mix Reactions on The Streets

5. This is The Only B!tch I Know - Singer Shallipopi Shares Photo of His Main Babe

6. Fubara Did Not Vote For Tinubu – APC Opens More Can Of Worms As Rivers Crisis Deepens

7. Mother Of 5 Convicted For Forging Late Abba Kyari’s Signature

8. Rivers Youths Petitions President Tinubu To Call Wike To Order Now

9. Ex-Rivers Commissioner Blasts Fubara Says He Would’ve Been L-14 Civil Servant If Not For Wike

10. Gunmen Strike Again In Enugu State, Claim Lives Of Four Policemen, FRSC Officials

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

3. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

4. Niger Speaker, Sarkindaji Initiates Mass Marriage For Orphaned Girls Affected By Banditry

5. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki

6. Man Shoots Stepmom Who Tried To Give Him Hug During Graduation Ceremony

7. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

8. Muslim Man Criticised After Sharing Photos Of Him & His Christian Wife Praying In Different Way

9. "Ikpeazu Transferred N10bn Airport Funds Into 32 Different Accounts" — Abia Gov. Alex Otti

10. Naira Returns As World Worst-performing Currency Over The Last Months