Nnamdi Kalu Urges Bristish Government To Intervene In His Case, See Why

Date: 31-03-2016 7:27 am (8 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 31-03-2016 07:27 AM (8 years ago)

The detained  leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra, IPOB, Mr. Nnamdi Kanu, has urged the British Government  to intervene in his case by asking President Muhammadu Buhari to release him from prison. Kanu who is facing treason charge alongside  two other pro-Biafra agitators, Benjamin Madubugwu and David Nwawuisi, approached the British government through his lawyer, Mr. Ifeanyi Ejiofor. Kanu, in a letter dated March 24 and addressed to the British High Commissioner in Abuja, described himself as a victim of travesty of justice and gross human rights violation. He insisted that the President Buhari-led administration  has violently abused his fundamental human rights through his prolonged detention in prison custody. Even though Kanu said he was ready to answer to the charge  against him, he however expressed doubt  in the ability of the Nigerian government to accord him fair trial, saying he has so far been subjected to immense persecution.

British citizen
Stressing that he is a British citizen, Kanu told the UK government that he was wrongly arrested and put in detention. “It is repeating the obvious to state that our client is a full British citizen, by virtue of which position he is entitled to all Rights, Privileges and Protection, guaranteed under the British Laws and conventions.

“We are therefore constrained in the circumstance, to formally notify the British Government via this medium, of our well informed reservations, and apprehension, that our client is undergoing persecution in the charge above referred, and deliberate design by the persecutors to frustrate every effort of the Defense team aimed at giving our client a fair trial”. Kanu, through his lawyer, contended that his detention from October 14, 2015 till January 20, 2016, without any lawful order of court, was not only unlawful, but was in flagrant disobedience of orders of courts of competent jurisdiction which he said directed his unconditional release and discharge.

Dual citizenship
“It is the position of our Law, that dual citizenship is a constitutional right of the citizens of Nigeria, clearly provided for under section 28 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended in 2011. Dual citizenship is not a crime under our Law.

Reservations on President’s comment
“Our reservations on the President’s comment was underpinned by the findings made in the ruling delivered on  February 29, 2016, by Hon. Justice John Tsoho, wherein our client and the two other defendants were denied bail. “Recalled that on December   29, 2015, during the Presidential Media Chat, the President told the whole world that Nnamdi Kanu cannot be granted bail, alleging that he came into the country without a valid travelling passport. “This pronouncement was roundly condemned by both local and international commentators. His pronouncement was viewed as a clear usurpation of the functions and powers of the judiciary. “Though very regrettable and extremely unfortunate, Nnamdi Kanu was refused bail on January 29, 2016. In refusing him and other defendants bail, the court also cited the facts of his possession of dual passports as a flight risk, and as such held that he cannot be granted bail.” Kanu maintained that Justice Tsoho denied him bail “in line with the pronouncement of the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in his media chat telecasted live on December 29, 2015.”

Posted: at 31-03-2016 07:27 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 31-03-2016 07:39 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 31-03-2016 07:39 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 31-03-2016 07:44 AM (8 years ago)
I' m confused?

You are RIGHTLY fighting for IPOB but want to be "rescued" by another foriegn power. It is THIS foriegn power that PUT Nigeria into the DILEMNA it is in today. The British threw people who have different mindsets together and called it NIGERIA and 56 years later we STILL hate each other.
Posted: at 31-03-2016 07:44 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- taung89 at 31-03-2016 07:53 AM (8 years ago)
Since you be British citizen hand don meet you na being talk wettin you get with Nigeria just wake up one day say you be Nnamdi Kanu where how when? i dey wait for una reply like usual d!ckheads
Posted: at 31-03-2016 07:53 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eazyatumeyi at 31-03-2016 08:19 AM (8 years ago)
you never serious, shey you get mouth dey threaten Nigeria.
Posted: at 31-03-2016 08:19 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 31-03-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago)
This guy is confused,,,
Posted: at 31-03-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Haso112 at 31-03-2016 08:32 AM (8 years ago)
Na wa ooo, e never even reach one year and people don start to forget your name.... POSTER SAY NA NNAMDI KALU... LOL .....
Anyway, I'm still waiting for your fellow agitators that threatened to blow up a SHIP occupied by foreigners if they don't leave you, it's been two months now... I told them they were only MAKING NOISE.... ARIWO OJA....
Posted: at 31-03-2016 08:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okuboye at 31-03-2016 08:47 AM (8 years ago)
Ati Oko Wa baleje. why u no go cause trouble for UK. or UK send u message.
Posted: at 31-03-2016 08:47 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 31-03-2016 09:21 AM (8 years ago)
it seem this guy don forget so fast! being a dual British citizen there is law on it.. of wish if this matter has happen to him in any other country EXCEPT Nigeria the British would have power to bail him out.. as far as you are Nigerian citizen first then follow by British they have no power over that!!!  GO ANY READ THE UK CITIZENSHIP ACT WELL
Posted: at 31-03-2016 09:21 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Zaki68 at 31-03-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
I don't know why he wants bail, he is a freedom fighter he should simply say he will remain in prison until his people are free. His people are comparing him with Mandela he should remember that Mandela stayed in Prison for 27years and was even ready to die for the freedom of his people,One of his people will be taking care of his wife and kids until he is free, after all they are known for that!!!!!! it also happened to Nelson Mandela no big deal.
Posted: at 31-03-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- raynebee at 31-03-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
chaiii...na wa ooo
Posted: at 31-03-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- princedafe at 31-03-2016 09:38 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 31-03-2016 09:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 31-03-2016 10:01 AM (8 years ago)
I don't even know wat to say abt dis guys case but I have a question which I know his pple will not answer it honestly but want to insult pple instead. My question is : Wat are their elders, rich pple, political warlords and his pple in power doing abt his case??? After all he is fighting for all of them. They shld at least give a voice. Buhari is not educated to know much abt laws and rights Dats why he has always been defiling all his summons and laws of dis country right from his military days.
Those of u from d east pls wats happening??? Why are ur elders quiet??? I need an answer. Thanks
Posted: at 31-03-2016 10:01 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- raynebee at 31-03-2016 10:11 AM (8 years ago)
why are they still keeping him
Posted: at 31-03-2016 10:11 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Odilihence at 31-03-2016 10:13 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 31-03-2016 10:01 AM
I don't even know wat to say abt dis guys case but I have a question which I know his pple will not answer it honestly but want to insult pple instead. My question is : Wat are their elders, rich pple, political warlords and his pple in power doing abt his case??? After all he is fighting for all of them. They shld at least give a voice. Buhari is not educated to know much abt laws and rights Dats why he has always been defiling all his summons and laws of dis country right from his military days.
Those of u from d east pls wats happening??? Why are ur elders quiet??? I need an answer. Thanks
Posted: at 31-03-2016 10:13 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Odilihence at 31-03-2016 10:17 AM (8 years ago)
any I don't know what this guy is fighting for..I know he will cry at last for help
Posted: at 31-03-2016 10:17 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Haso112 at 31-03-2016 10:24 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Zaki Desmond on 31-03-2016 09:25 AM
I don't know why he wants bail, he is a freedom fighter he should simply say he will remain in prison until his people are free. His people are comparing him with Mandela he should remember that Mandela stayed in Prison for 27years and was even ready to die for the freedom of his people,One of his people will be taking care of his wife and kids until he is free, after all they are known for that!!!!!! it also happened to Nelson Mandela no big deal.

Chai!!! You wicked oooo.... loool... So the guy for emulate NELSON MANDELA full time abi.Huh?.... You no get CHILL at all mahn... loooool
Posted: at 31-03-2016 10:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- quest3 at 31-03-2016 10:27 AM (8 years ago)
I just dey look U

Posted: at 31-03-2016 10:27 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- onomskky at 31-03-2016 10:44 AM (8 years ago)
When you dey run your mouth like say e get diarrhoea you  no know.
Guy just watch your back and take it like Mandela.
Posted: at 31-03-2016 10:44 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngfineface at 31-03-2016 11:05 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 31-03-2016 10:01 AM

Points of correction
1. You don't know all Kalu's people so don't conclude they will all be for him in your write up. I am Ibo but has no business with Biafra. All I want is a united Nigeria, weda Biafra or not
2. He is not fighting for all his people. He is fighting for his believe. Not all Ibo's are for Biafra
3. Only his elders, Political warlords and people that are for Biafra will be for him. Maybe you should be asking those ones
4. Buhari am sure is more educated than you. Not exaggerating. The National War College and the US Army war college are not for nonentities. Go read up his biography.
5. As for what those from the East and their Elders are doing, Elders in my family are too busy to be involved.

I have answered you ma.
Posted: at 31-03-2016 11:05 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer