Lagos Landlords: Collect More Than 3 Months Advance And Go To Jail/n100k Fine.

Date: 21-01-2010 11:45 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 21-01-2010 11:45 AM (14 years ago)
A law that will land many Lagos landlords in jail for three months or pay a fine of N100,000 if they collect more than three-month rent advance is on the way.

The Tenancy Bill, which is slated for public hearing tomorrow, has some sections which some landlords in the state consider very harsh.

One of such is Section 4, subsections 1, 2 and 3 which states that: “It shall be unlawful for a landlord or his agent to demand or receive from a sitting tenant, rent in excess of three months in respect of any premises.

Another stated: “It shall be unlawful for a sitting tenant to offer or pay rent in excess of three months in respect of any premises.”

According to subsection 3 of the same section: “Any person who receives or pays rent in excess of what is prescribed in this section shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable to a fine of N100,000 or three months imprisonment or any other non-custodial disposition.”

Section 5 of the bill further prescribes a N10,000 fine for landlords who fail to issue receipts to their tenants upon payment of the rent. It further states that, “Where a tenant, with the previous consent in writing of the landlord, effect improvements on the premises and the landlord determines the tenancy, such a tenant shall be entitled to claim compensation for the effected improvements on quitting the premises.”

Section 9, subsection 2 and 3 state respectively: “No landlord shall demand or receive any additional fees, charges or rates outside the agreed rent for premises, for services that the tenant has not expressly contracted for.

“No sitting tenant will be liable to pay any agency or other fees outside the contracted rent, unless expressly agreed at the inception of the tenancy.”

The bill further tasked landlords never to take laws into their hands but seek redress in the courts should there be issues between them and their tenants.

However, some landlords in Lagos have expressed displeasure with the bill. They expressed their disappointment with those who proposed the bill.

While some have threatened to go to court over the bill, others claim that the bill, when passed into law, would not work in the state.

The landlords based their argument on the cost of building a house in the state. They claimed further that they source for funds with which they erect their buildings. “How do they want us to get our money back?” one of the landlords asked.

Meanwhile, the Lagos State House of Assembly says it may invite the state Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives to clarify some allegations leveled against it by the Civil Society Club of Nigeria (CSC) recently.

Chairman of the House Committee on Agriculture and Cooperatives, Hon. Babatunde Adewale, who disclosed this said that the committee would ensure a thorough investigation of the case.

Among the allegations was that unscrupulous butchers still operated an illegal loading bay at the Irepolodun Market in Oko-Oba Abattoir, Agege.

Comrade Babatunde Ashafa, the coordinator of the CSC, further alleged that some of the butchers were fond of killing sick cattle at night and selling them to unsuspecting buyers in the morning as fresh meat.

http://thepmnews.com/2010/01/20/lagos-landlords-to-face-3-month-jail-term

Posted: at 21-01-2010 11:45 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- black_samurai at 21-01-2010 01:01 PM (14 years ago)
perfect! First good law that naija ever made. Is it because we won yesterdays match?

Posted: at 21-01-2010 01:01 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- waco at 21-01-2010 04:10 PM (14 years ago)
i love this, make d thing do come make person fit dey save money na,
cos e be like say we dey work to pay landlord in lagos.

Posted: at 21-01-2010 04:10 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- td4realluv at 22-01-2010 02:16 PM (14 years ago)
I pray this works.
Posted: at 22-01-2010 02:16 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- waco at 23-01-2010 02:51 PM (14 years ago)
will it work?

Posted: at 23-01-2010 02:51 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Roachy at 28-01-2010 08:30 PM (14 years ago)
if the witch landlord go gree
Posted: at 28-01-2010 08:30 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- wonders4 at 18-07-2012 12:34 PM (11 years ago)
I`m a victim of this evil landlord at Alapere pls my pals what should i do. i pay one and a half year from April 2011 to August she promise to be sweeping the compound and asked us to pay for the whole year but i was OBSERVING  for good 5 month. know sweeping was done i decided not to pay after consultation with them about the poor services. on the first of June she brought me a quite notice written by her that the husband which is a blind man send to me. meanwhile other bills like Nepabills, water-bills have not be transparent for us to know what we are paying for. When i went back to meet them the man threaten of killing me.
WHERE SHOULD I START FROM I NEED YOUR ADVICE.

Posted: at 18-07-2012 12:34 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie