Esenam Nyador : Taxi Driver, A Single Mother With 2 Children Bags A Masters Degree -Photos

Date: 16-04-2016 7:53 am (8 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 16-04-2016 07:53 AM (8 years ago)

The term 'taxi driver' is often associated with men and is not considered a job for a woman. But for Ghanaian born Esenam Nyador, that story is for the gods.
The 38 year old mother of two and university graduate is best known by her clients as Miss Taxi. She is currently rounding up her Master's Degree in Family Resource Management at the College of Basic and Applied Sciences, University of Ghana. According to her,  after she completed her first degree, she tried her best to find a job but couldn't secure one. She told herself that she'd rather become a taxi driver than stress over the frustration of having to seek for a job as a university graduate. Speaking to journalists, she said:

"In 2013, I finished my first degree at the University of Ghana. Rather than do the typical thing and send out hundreds of applications in the hope for a job, I decided to start something by myself. I also had a strong entrepreneurial streak. That, paired with a bold personality, made me eager to try out starting something in a traditionally male-dominated industry. Many of my friends accuse me of being a social deviant [laughs]. I chose taxi driving because this is is a very non-traditional thing to do for a woman in Ghana, and I think of my decision as a gender statement. I didn't mind stepping on a few toes to change the status quo."

This is not the first time Trezzy Blog has profiled a female taxi driver. Recall last month, we published the strory of Asakpa Aghogho Susan. A lovely female Abuja graduate who studied Accountancy but was unable to secure a job after graduating. Rather than remain idle, Susan decided to turn her personal car into taxi to make ends meet.

If these women can beat the odds and thrive in the face of unemployment - what's your excuse?

Posted: at 16-04-2016 07:53 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Donchijoz at 16-04-2016 08:05 AM (8 years ago)
For Aba,many women rides keke na pepe even Okada. So in a situation where government can't assist you in anything, you use what you have to get what you need. Is not a big deal.
Posted: at 16-04-2016 08:05 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sparky12 at 16-04-2016 08:05 AM (8 years ago)
...lyf goes on
Posted: at 16-04-2016 08:05 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 16-04-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago)
THAT IS WHAT YOU GET WHEN YOU ARE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
Posted: at 16-04-2016 08:26 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Buncho at 16-04-2016 08:38 AM (8 years ago)
Ok She Try Nah! Joo Oo
Posted: at 16-04-2016 08:38 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 16-04-2016 08:45 AM (8 years ago)
madam stick with your cab business no job for naija
Posted: at 16-04-2016 08:45 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- morgrawl231 at 16-04-2016 09:38 AM (8 years ago)
She try,,,,
Posted: at 16-04-2016 09:38 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Nottingham at 16-04-2016 12:13 PM (8 years ago)
Struggle continues
Posted: at 16-04-2016 12:13 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- victorstic1 at 16-04-2016 12:45 PM (8 years ago)
SEE HER FACE HOW SHE CON RESEMBLE DYNASTY SO
Posted: at 16-04-2016 12:45 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mia4321 at 16-04-2016 06:00 PM (8 years ago)
congrats!
Posted: at 16-04-2016 06:00 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raynebee at 16-04-2016 08:10 PM (8 years ago)
wow....nice one
Posted: at 16-04-2016 08:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Passion8Soul at 18-04-2016 04:50 AM (8 years ago)
9ce
Posted: at 18-04-2016 04:50 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 19-04-2016 04:25 AM (8 years ago)
Naija women too lazy  to do dat kin job, na big man wit money dem dey look for...
All dem no na to poke....
Posted: at 19-04-2016 04:25 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 19-04-2016 07:37 AM (8 years ago)
Nice one God will bless you abundantly
Posted: at 19-04-2016 07:37 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 19-04-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Umeano Chijioke  link=topic=288529.msg4805262#msg4805262 date=1460790307
For Aba,many women rides keke na pepe even Okada. So in a situation where government can't assist you in anything, you use what you have to get what you need. Is not a big deal.
Better talk
Posted: at 19-04-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 19-04-2016 07:39 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on 16-04-2016 08:45 AM
madam stick with your cab business no job for naija
oga mi na Ghana she dey
Posted: at 19-04-2016 07:39 AM (8 years ago) | Hero