I Have Had Over 17 Surgeries Due To Endometriosis' Ex Beauty Queen - Nike Oshinowo Reveals

Date: 19-04-2016 7:40 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 19-04-2016 07:40 PM (8 years ago)

Former who spoke at Gala Night of Fun and Fund Raising For Endometriosis, organized by Endometriosis Support Group of Nigeria in Lagos has revealed that she has been suffering from endometriosis (a condition resulting from the appearance of endometrial tissue outside the uterus and causing pelvic pain)

Narrating her ordeal,  the mother of two said, ‘I have lived with endometriosis since the age of 13. I was sent to boarding school in England when I was seven years old. It was during the first few days in secondary school that I began my (menstrual) periods.

‘They called the ambulance and I was hospitalized for 10 days because the pain started and wouldn’t stop. I thought I was going to die, the first two days I was in the infirmary with the matron and she kept saying, ‘O Adenike, we understand that you miss your home, we understand that it is difficult for you, we understand that every girl must go through it but just bear it.’

‘I’m telling the story because it happened in England and, supposedly, the white people, who knew best, yet had no idea what was wrong with me. Every female student they had dealt with, had a normal period and coped with it, so they could not understand why I was dramatizing. They thought I just wanted attention. The pain was so intense I passed out. They called the ambulance and I was hospitalized. The challenge was now to get me to stop bleeding.

‘Living with endometriosis is a challenge. When you see your doctor, your doctor just tries to treat the symptoms and assumes the pain resolves around your menstrual cycle. But this is not so. The pain affects every single aspect of your life.

‘I, as Nike Oshinowo, have never had an examination without my period, I have never travelled without my period. There are so many things I have never done without my period. When I’m very happy, my period comes, When I’m depressed, my period is there. I learned just to cope with it. I love the quote that women wear their pain like stilettos. That’s what I have been doing.

‘Until I turned 40, Nigerians didn’t know I suffered from endometriosis. When I turned 40, I granted an interview and Nigerians understood why I never drank alcohol. You cannot be on medication and take alcohol. It was finally understood why I was so clean cut and into healthy living.

‘The first time I experienced the pain of endometriosis was very traumatic. I thought I was going to die. Really, I have lost count of the number of surgeries that I have had but I sure know that it’s more that 17 times.’

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 19-04-2016 07:40 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 19-04-2016 08:08 PM (8 years ago)
na wa oooooooo
Posted: at 19-04-2016 08:08 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- CHRISETTE at 19-04-2016 08:09 PM (8 years ago)
Oh dear keep up the good work
Posted: at 19-04-2016 08:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- livingstone80 at 19-04-2016 08:14 PM (8 years ago)
THANK GOD IN HEAVEN FOR SAVING YOU!
Posted: at 19-04-2016 08:14 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- schmit at 19-04-2016 08:26 PM (8 years ago)
Yeye
Posted: at 19-04-2016 08:26 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 19-04-2016 08:37 PM (8 years ago)
 BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 19-04-2016 08:37 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 19-04-2016 09:46 PM (8 years ago)
it's well with you the Lord kept you thus far
Posted: at 19-04-2016 09:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 19-04-2016 11:00 PM (8 years ago)
Well done love...Dis should be an inspiration to others...
Posted: at 19-04-2016 11:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Sparky12 at 19-04-2016 11:09 PM (8 years ago)
kk... lyf goes on
Posted: at 19-04-2016 11:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 19-04-2016 11:58 PM (8 years ago)
Still observing,,,
Posted: at 19-04-2016 11:58 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- toshibaelect at 20-04-2016 01:51 AM (8 years ago)
Go for surgery and remove it naw.. Endometrioma ain't a big case as such. Apart from dysmenorrhea,  dysparaunia and infertility... You're good to go.. Next time come to my center and be Careful.. Very Careful.. Very Very Careful.. Extremely CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
Posted: at 20-04-2016 01:51 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Passion8Soul at 20-04-2016 05:27 AM (8 years ago)
It is weL
Posted: at 20-04-2016 05:27 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mak4lady at 20-04-2016 07:28 AM (8 years ago)
Sory oooooo
Posted: at 20-04-2016 07:28 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- giftmurphy at 20-04-2016 10:01 PM (8 years ago)
congrats nike, u are able to live with it Cheesy
Posted: at 20-04-2016 10:01 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 29-04-2016 01:25 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: giftmurphy on 20-04-2016 10:01 PM
congrats nike, u are able to live with it Cheesy
abi o
Posted: at 29-04-2016 01:25 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 29-04-2016 01:26 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Amanda okafor on 20-04-2016 07:28 AM
Sory oooooo
abi
Posted: at 29-04-2016 01:26 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 29-04-2016 01:26 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Aishat Ejura Aikoye on 20-04-2016 05:27 AM
It is weL
Posted: at 29-04-2016 01:26 AM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

2. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

3. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

4. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

5. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

6. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

7. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

8. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

9. Ogun Seals Three Worship Centres Over Noise pollution

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office