‘Where Do You Expect Us To Keep Our 20 Million Cows?’ – Cattle Breeders Defend Fulani Men

Date: 08-05-2016 8:35 pm (7 years ago) | Author: ANGELICA DIVINE MUSA
- at 8-05-2016 08:35 PM (7 years ago)
The Miyetti Allah Cattle Breeders Association of Nigeria (MACBAN) has sided with Fulani herdsmen over the lingering violent clashes between them and landowners across the country, wondering where Nigerians expect cattle breeders to keep the over 20 million cows in the country.

They spoke in Abuja on Wednesday, May 4, 2016 during a meeting MACBAN had with the chief of defence staff, CDS, General Gabriel Olonisakin represented by the director of administration at the Defence Headquarters, DHQ, Major General Fatai Ali.
Senator Alkali Jajere, who spoke on behalf of the group, regretted that Nigerians have refused to pay attention to what motivated Fulani herdsmen to migrate to other territories in the country, explaining that herdsmen moved into new territories because members of the Boko Haram sect attacked them in the North-East and other parts of the country and stole millions of cows from them.
Accompanied to the meeting by the Miyetti Allah chairman, Mohammadu Kiruwa and the national secretary Usman Ingelzarma, Jajere maintained that Fulani herdsmen have also suffered from cattle rustlers in Katsina, Zamfara, Kebbi, Kaduna, Nasarawa, Plateau, Benue and parts of Kogi states where millions of cows were taken away from them, wondered
“Our appeal is that you tackle this issue with professionalism, so that no innocent person, no herdsman who has not gone anywhere, would be apprehended or suffer injuries,” he said, adding that the Miyetti Allah had visited all security agencies to warn about the recent upsurge in clashes.
According to him, “When the reserves and forest were gazetted and reserved for cattle breeders, this incident was not there; but the increase in population has now wiped out the entire grazing reserves in this country; 400 and something of them all wiped out. And you have a population of about 20 million cows. Where do you keep them? And every one of us likes to eat meat.
“This is a venture that over 20 million people are engaged in. And nobody cares to know what the causes of this problem are. Presently, you know the case of Boko Haram. They attacked and decapitated the population of Fulani in Adamawa, Borno and Yobe and some parts of Taraba.
Stressing that government and the Miyetti Allah must ensure that the sanctity of life of a farmer, any other citizen or herdsman is protected, Jajere said: “Fulani are killed like rats in the bush, and nobody announces it, but that is not an excuse also to say that anybody in the name of herdsman can go and kill anybody in this country and we allow it to go, that cannot happen.”

Source

Posted: at 8-05-2016 08:35 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kunlegzy at 9-05-2016 07:30 AM (7 years ago)
Old news
Posted: at 9-05-2016 07:30 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Philzylove at 9-05-2016 07:59 AM (7 years ago)
noted
Posted: at 9-05-2016 07:59 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Philzylove at 9-05-2016 07:59 AM (7 years ago)
noted
Posted: at 9-05-2016 07:59 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 9-05-2016 08:34 AM (7 years ago)
is that why they rape and kill both women and children

Posted: at 9-05-2016 08:34 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgan1 at 9-05-2016 08:41 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 9-05-2016 08:41 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dynasty4all at 9-05-2016 08:50 AM (7 years ago)
IDIOTS. FOOLS
Posted: at 9-05-2016 08:50 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- topylondon at 9-05-2016 08:54 AM (7 years ago)
North has the biggest empty land in Nigeria so keep them there.
Posted: at 9-05-2016 08:54 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- CHRISETTE at 9-05-2016 08:56 AM (7 years ago)
Come keep them in my house
Posted: at 9-05-2016 08:56 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- sandra78 at 9-05-2016 09:07 AM (7 years ago)
That is not enough reason for your useless, illiterate, dirty smelling and senseless Fulani brothers to destroy people farmland with their cow   Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 9-05-2016 09:07 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 9-05-2016 09:44 AM (7 years ago)
nor be only naija dey breed cow for the world, why every naija thing dey different'? must you people destroy other people's farm to breed your cow? foolish set of animal in human skin
Posted: at 9-05-2016 09:44 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 9-05-2016 09:57 AM (7 years ago)
Mtcheeeeeeewwwwwwwww they shud go back to their state or take it to katsina
Posted: at 9-05-2016 09:57 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- leodavinci at 9-05-2016 10:00 AM (7 years ago)
Noted.... But your dad has a compound na.. Take them there.....
Posted: at 9-05-2016 10:00 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- PeacetoU at 9-05-2016 10:59 AM (7 years ago)
Because everybody eat meat that is why they should destroy other people's means of livelihood.
Posted: at 9-05-2016 10:59 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 9-05-2016 01:35 PM (7 years ago)
they should build an underground poultry and keep them there
Posted: at 9-05-2016 01:35 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 9-05-2016 02:23 PM (7 years ago)
where would the herdsmen keep their cattle: in your wardrobe. their earlier statement justified the wicked act of the herdsmen.
Posted: at 9-05-2016 02:23 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 9-05-2016 02:25 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Eros Okundaye on  9-05-2016 09:44 AM
nor be only naija dey breed cow for the world, why every naija thing dey different'? must you people destroy other people's farm to breed your cow? foolish set of animal in human skin
exactly o
Posted: at 9-05-2016 02:25 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 9-05-2016 02:27 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Sussan odili on  9-05-2016 08:56 AM
abi o
Posted: at 9-05-2016 02:27 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 9-05-2016 02:29 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Sussan odili on  9-05-2016 08:56 AM
abi o
Posted: at 9-05-2016 02:29 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 9-05-2016 03:33 PM (7 years ago)
D solution is buy ur own land and let ur cows graze on it, why destroy oda people's farm...?
U have d audacity to ask dat question...Wat a cheek..
Posted: at 9-05-2016 03:33 PM (7 years ago) | Hero