Court Dissolves 17 Years Old Marriage Because Wife Built a House Without Telling Husband

Date: 25-05-2016 6:33 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 25-05-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago)
A Lagos Island Customary Court on Wednesday has dissolved the 17-year-old marriage between a transporter, Haruna Amunikoro, and his wife, Alimotu, after he complained that his wife built a house without informing him

Granting the husband’s request, the court President, Awos Awosola, said that the effort of the court to reconcile the parties failed, as Mr. Amunikoro insisted on divorce.

Mr. Amuniloro, 42, who resides at No. 91/93 Odunfa St., Lagos Island, in his petition, told the court that his wife, a trader, bought a plot of land in Ikorodu and built a bungalow on it without letting him know.

“My wife has also started giving out tricycle and motorcycle to riders and they pay for them on instalment, which is the same business that I do.

“I have warned her severally to stop the business but she would not listen. On two occasions she has stabbed me with a kitchen knife and a scissors.

“My wife is not sincere with me. She hides so many things about herself from me. I cannot cope with her secretive ways any more, please separate us,’’ he pleaded with the court.

Alimotu, who did not deny the allegations, said she started being secretive with her husband because of the sudden change in his behaviour and his infidelity.

She told the court that their marriage which was once blissful took a different turn in 2012 when they rented their own apartment.

“We were staying in my husband’s family house before we rented our own apartment in 2012, since then my husband has been unfaithful to me.

“He brings different kinds of women into our matrimonial home and sleeps with them on our bed.

“Whenever I confronted him, he beats me. On three occasions my husband beat me to a pulp and stripped me naked.

“I joined him in doing the same business because it is a lucrative one, but since I started it, I have had no rest of mind,” she said.

Alimotu, who had consistently prayed the court to reconcile them as she still loved her husband, however, pleaded with the court to dissolve the marriage without further delay.

“Since I have been begging my husband and his family for so long and nothing positive have come of it, please dissolve the marriage so I can go on with my life,’” she said.

After hearing from both sides, the union was dissolved while custody of the first child and only son, Anus, 15, was awarded to the father while that of the two girls, Simiyat, 10 and Aishat, 7, remained with the wife.

The judge also ruled Haruna was to give Alimotu N250,000 compensation within seven days of the judgment with which to start her new life. while also paying the children’s feeding allowances of N10,000 on a monthly basis, and should also be responsible for the children school and hospital bills.

Posted: at 25-05-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- AmiableRoland at 25-05-2016 06:40 PM (7 years ago)
What More Can I Say???" The Last Time I Checked, We Were Once HUMAN BEINGSSS. "
Posted: at 25-05-2016 06:40 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 25-05-2016 07:00 PM (7 years ago)
mumu man, your wife wise pass u be that
Posted: at 25-05-2016 07:00 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- Machealex at 25-05-2016 07:44 PM (7 years ago)
Who come loose now
Posted: at 25-05-2016 07:44 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- evilgenius at 25-05-2016 07:53 PM (7 years ago)
 Grin fake life
borrow spouses
nija 4 real
Posted: at 25-05-2016 07:53 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- CHRISETTE at 25-05-2016 07:56 PM (7 years ago)
I guess people are tired of staying together this days
Posted: at 25-05-2016 07:56 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Mykie010 at 25-05-2016 08:02 PM (7 years ago)
I don't like d judgment, d man was cheated
Posted: at 25-05-2016 08:02 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Anny01 at 25-05-2016 08:23 PM (7 years ago)
Wahala still dey
Posted: at 25-05-2016 08:23 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 25-05-2016 08:40 PM (7 years ago)
Should I marry? yes, no, yes, no, no hmmm just get a lady to born for me then pay her off.... that's better
Posted: at 25-05-2016 08:40 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 25-05-2016 08:43 PM (7 years ago)
the man's unfaithfulness is second to none bringing women to his matrimonial home maradona man. the wife ought not stab her hubby. good judgement sha. the truth is the man should have reconciled with his wife. he is the kind of man that do not wants his wife to be empowered
Posted: at 25-05-2016 08:43 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 25-05-2016 08:54 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Michael on 25-05-2016 08:02 PM
I don't like d judgment, d man was cheated

how because the court awarded 250k for the woman's settlement? and children upkeep? normally its that way. the hubby cannot just throw his wife out to go stay under the bridge sound judgement .
Posted: at 25-05-2016 08:54 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Sparky12 at 25-05-2016 09:01 PM (7 years ago)
Person de ansa anus abi Kiss
Posted: at 25-05-2016 09:01 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 25-05-2016 09:13 PM (7 years ago)
Seriously, this man no get common sense... wetin they there, well woman of nowadays can be so funny at time...
Posted: at 25-05-2016 09:13 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 25-05-2016 09:25 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Collins chigoziri on 25-05-2016 09:01 PM
Person de ansa anus abi Kiss

what a name lol
Posted: at 25-05-2016 09:25 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 25-05-2016 10:46 PM (7 years ago)
That woman dey vex gan
Posted: at 25-05-2016 10:46 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 26-05-2016 01:26 AM (7 years ago)
Both of dem don reach point of no return so make dem go dere separate ways...
Posted: at 26-05-2016 01:26 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kabukabu at 26-05-2016 02:48 AM (7 years ago)
Mr. Judge. You don't know women abi. Single men, you better remain single. My sincere warning
Posted: at 26-05-2016 02:48 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 26-05-2016 03:31 AM (7 years ago)
No b small tinz oo,,,
Posted: at 26-05-2016 03:31 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 26-05-2016 07:49 AM (7 years ago)
Yeye they worry that man
Posted: at 26-05-2016 07:49 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 26-05-2016 09:19 AM (7 years ago)
Their wahala
Posted: at 26-05-2016 09:19 AM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. Family of Late Sound Engineer Have Refused to Exhume His Body From Riverside Despite Donations

2. How Yahaya Bello Moved $720k From Govt Account to a BDC - EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Narrates (VID)

3. Ondo Police Arrests Man Who Said He Saw Fetish Items in Car of 'Yahoo Boy' & Was Lynched by Mob

4. Our Teachers Are Aware - Students of Lead British School Speak About Bully!ing at The School

5. Another Nollywood Legend, Mr Zulu Adigwe Passes On

6. EFCC Uncovers How Emefiele Printed ₦684.5 Million With ₦18.9 Billion

7. I've Paid IT Experts To Pull Down My S3x Tape Off Internet And Mobile Devices -Tiwa Savage Says

8. 'Kidnappers, Terrorists Don’t Deserve Mercy'- Murdered Professor Says In Last Interview

9. Naira Slumps Against Dollar To N1,300 In Official Market

10. Kanye West Reportedly Planning To Launch Porn Studio

11. Alleged N8bn Nigeria Air Fraud: EFCC Arrests Ex-Aviation Minister, Sirika

12. Photos Of Kogi University Lecturer, Sarinus Kano Killed By Suspected Armed Robbers

13. Men No Longer Lose Weight In The Gym - Lady Reveals Reasons In A Video

14. Victim Of Police Shooting Not Our Student – LAUTECH Denies Report

15. Suspended UNN Lecturer Caught Sexual Assaulting His Married Female Student Arrested

16. Actor, Femi Adebayo's Wife Calls Out Online Aunties Who Come To Her DM With 'Dumb Advice'

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office