NO MARKET: Port One, Get One Free, Sex Workers Beg Customers In Calabar

Date: 30-05-2016 9:01 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 30-05-2016 09:01 PM (7 years ago)

The economic recession has struck the sex market in Paradise City, Calabar, capital of Cross River State, forcing working girls to slash their charges to an all-time low of N400 per insertion and N1, 500 – N2, 000 per night for home service due to diminishing patronage.

An operator of one of the hot red light zones in the city, Madam Becky (not real name), who spoke in Pidgin English, told Niger Delta Voice since February, the girls have been complaining of “bad market.”

“Why you dey ask me all this kind JAMB question sef, u sure say u no be police? Na because you buy me drinks, wetin I fit tell be say Buhari government no favour us at all, if na before, u no go see girl plenty like that for here, except say Ekelebe people dey disturb. We dey settle them well well, but since February, the business don bad well well,” she lamented.

At some of the brothels and spots in Calabar South visited by this reporter, the story was the same. A street walker, Princess, who spoke to our reporter after much haggle, purchase of a bottle of beer and food for her, said: “I finished My WAEC before I joined this runs oo, my father died that same year and my mother is not too strong to take care of all of us.”

“My father’s people accused our mother of our father’s death, so life has indeed being difficult. I actually came to Calabar in November 2015. I am from Orlu in Imo state but I started this business in Owerri before I moved to a joint in Obiagu in Enugu. Then for a change of environment, I decided to come to Calabar , last year, because I heard that there is usually a boom during the Calabar Carnival and I witnessed it, but things started changing around February,” she said.

According to her: “We used to collect a minimum of N500 naira for a round of s*x but it started going down after that Valentine celebration. My customers in a day before used to be between 20 –35 when business was good, but as I am talking to you, my highest in a day is no longer up to 18 or 20 when there is a boom.”

“Upon say I be slim-fit, the only time we have business now is when they pay salaries, during festivities and public holidays,” she asserted. At a spot on Lugard Street, one of the call girls accosted our reporter, saying, “No be N500 again oo, Buhari don make us bring down the price, port one and get one free “ she said.

“If you want home service, just tell me na only 2k I go collect but you go buy be drink and suya ooo with Indomie, but if you want sharp sharp, na N500 I go collect for one round ooo, “ she added.

According to her, “We just dey manage to survive, wetin man pikin go do, people no dey patronize us like before again, de only hope wey we get some time na some of our regular customers and during some weekends and holidays, but we nor get choice than to reduce wetin we dey charge before.” she asserted.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 30-05-2016 09:01 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- okuboye at 30-05-2016 09:08 PM (7 years ago)
Na bonanza!!! nonsense
Posted: at 30-05-2016 09:08 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 30-05-2016 09:11 PM (7 years ago)
Pot one STD get one AIDS free  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 30-05-2016 09:11 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickieponga at 30-05-2016 09:25 PM (7 years ago)
PB4, Na Gogoman hangout be dat..
Posted: at 30-05-2016 09:25 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- yawa_don_gas at 30-05-2016 10:03 PM (7 years ago)
Na why everywhere I take na yawa I dey see
Posted: at 30-05-2016 10:03 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mia4321 at 30-05-2016 10:07 PM (7 years ago)
like seriously?                                                                                                                       
Posted: at 30-05-2016 10:07 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 30-05-2016 10:25 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 30-05-2016 10:25 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- dareper at 30-05-2016 10:45 PM (7 years ago)
Beneno.my very good friend. Don't let this once in a lifetime opportunity pass you by.
Posted: at 30-05-2016 10:45 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- youngrashy at 30-05-2016 11:22 PM (7 years ago)
Is part of change..
Posted: at 30-05-2016 11:22 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 31-05-2016 12:27 AM (7 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 31-05-2016 12:27 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- yawa_don_gas at 31-05-2016 05:21 AM (7 years ago)
Everywhere na yawa dey
Posted: at 31-05-2016 05:21 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 31-05-2016 05:37 AM (7 years ago)
WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO BLAME THIS ON BUHARI... Be careful, be very very careful,CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...AND Y'ALL SHOULD KEEP ON MASTURBATING WITH UR LIFE, U BETTER BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 31-05-2016 05:37 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- mia4321 at 31-05-2016 08:41 AM (7 years ago)
wowwww                                                                                                                       
Posted: at 31-05-2016 08:41 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sparky273 at 31-05-2016 09:46 AM (7 years ago)
I c
Posted: at 31-05-2016 09:46 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- raynebee at 31-05-2016 11:48 AM (7 years ago)
ehhya                                                                             
Posted: at 31-05-2016 11:48 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- yawa_don_gas at 31-05-2016 11:54 AM (7 years ago)
Na so na yawa
Posted: at 31-05-2016 11:54 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- diezo at 31-05-2016 05:36 PM (7 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes REMEMBER PERSON NO WELL ANOTHER PERSON WEY WELL COME DEY TAKE TABLET FOR PERSON WEY NO WELL NA WHO NO COME WELL يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 31-05-2016 05:36 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 31-05-2016 05:40 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: reaper on 30-05-2016 10:45 PM
Beneno.my very good friend. Don't let this once in a lifetime opportunity pass you by.
How much dat girl charge you last time I see you there..?
Just asking coz e be like say I was overcharged..
Posted: at 31-05-2016 05:40 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- raynebee at 31-05-2016 08:08 PM (7 years ago)
like seriously wah is this country turning to ?     
Posted: at 31-05-2016 08:08 PM (7 years ago) | Hero